We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Champaign Urbana – University Area
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Room was very small but very clean and comfortable, with contemporary furniture and design. The shower was great, and the wifi worked very well. On the down side, the walls were a little thin. This is surely the best budget hotel in Urbana/Champaign.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank innominate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    30
    18
    15
See reviews for
32
24
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This is is typical Sleep Inn, which in my book is just fine for an overnight stay, but not a true vacation. Hotel seems to have been remodeled in the past 12 months. Room was clean, breakfast was carb heavy, but it was free. Pool was open. Parking spaces were a bit limited. Close to U of I campus. No reason I wouldn't stay here again for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mskerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I was in town for the Illinois Marathon and needed documents printed and the lobby computer was on the fritz. The manager allowed me to print from the front desk computer and we very helpful. Also they put the breakfast out at 4:30AM so the runners could partake.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PacerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The hotel itself is pretty unremarkable - what you would expect from a national chain motel. But the price was right, and the rooms were clean - all in all, an excellent place to stay in Champaign-Urbana. You really need a car to get around (it's not walking distance from anywhere), but a big advantage this hotel has over other comparably priced ones in the area is that it's not directly on the Interstate. All in all, I had a good night here ...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulhogarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This hotel was remodeled about a year ago, per the check-in clerk. Walking in, the lobby area gives a great impression--everything looked nice and clean. The staff at check-in and check-out were exceptional! Very friendly and helpful--could not ask for better treatment!!! The room was typical in size of any Sleep Inn I've been to. It appeared to be newly dedorated, was clean and everything was in working order. The beds were very hard and the towels were thin (both typical of many hotels in this class category, IMO). The shower had good pressure. The room was extremely quiet--not sure if there were other guests on our floor or not. We asked to be on the 3rd floor because the clerk said there were only a couple smoking rooms at the far end on this floor (this hotel mixes smoking and non-smoking rooms on the floors). We did not smell any cigarette smoke at any time in our room or in the hallway of the 3rd floor. We did smell cigarette smoke in the morning in the lobby by the breakfast area after exiting the elevator. The breakfast area is rather small, but we had no problem finding a seat when we went down for breakfast. The food selection was fair (compared to Hampton or Drury), but my 12-year-old son and I were able find enough that we were satisfied (yogurt, juice, muffins and donuts). We had somewhat negative impression in the elevator; it had a bit of a dusty/dirty smell--like the carpet had not been cleaned for a long time.Overall, we had a good night sleep and found the accommodations comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynzico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Riverside, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I have stayed here a few times in the past. I heard that renovations were complete and I gave them another try. And it has been updated the pool area is warm and pool was great. New front des clerks along with manager, very good. I was impressed with the staff and the updates.. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justbreathe91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Stayed here for U of I homecoming. Got a decent price but the room was just average. TV was older, bedding was older, decor looks like they were starting to renovate as the hallways looked newer than the rooms. Parking was overcrowded when arriving late on a sellout night. Had to make my own parking spot in the driveway. Bed was OK and bathroom was small. However, it got the job done. I prefer the newer Comfort Suites right across the street. Breakfast here is nothing special besides cereal and donuts. Ended up going to gas station next door. Free internet is a plus.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argonauts52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#14 of 25 in Champaign
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Urbana Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#6 of 25 in Champaign
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Urbana/Champaign
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Champaign Urbana – University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Champaign Urbana – University Area

Property: Econo Lodge Champaign Urbana – University Area
Address: 1908 N Lincoln Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-1025 (Formerly Sleep Inn Champaign Urbana - University Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Champaign Urbana – University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Champaign Urbana – University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Urbana
Sleep Inn Urbana
Urbana Sleep Inn
Econo Lodge Champaign Urbana – University Area IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing