We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Up and coming! Don't underestimate this place it's beautiful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Lincoln Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Urbana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Lincoln Hotel
Save
You added Historic Lincoln Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Urbana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Up and coming! Don't underestimate this place it's beautiful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a fluke. I expected a hole in the wall, WOW were we surprised! Clean, the decor was beautiful. Someone is putting a lot of time passion, and money into this outstanding land mark. I recommend experiencing this place before it gets to high end!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Invnoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    5
    12
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

This hotel in absolutely gorgeous! Though it is a little rough around the edges, there is so much that makes up for it. I would not recommend it for people who like the ordinary, though. But if you like the unique and you appreciate antiquity and detail, then it is perfect. My family just happened to be staying there but I kept going over from my dorm just because I couldn't get enough! They have furniture from the early 1800's! I mean this place is rich with history and it is sad that it's being cut down just because is not your usual. It's definitely an experience and I think anyone should try it at least once. : )

  • Liked — The beauty of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbiedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed at this hotel because we were attending a wedding at the hotel. It seemed like it would be convenient. Upon entering our room we noticed that it was a bit on the dirty side. Some of the furniture was ripped and looked incredibly worn. I've stayed in worse hotels and felt that it was only one night so it couldn't be that bad. After returning from the wedding around 1am we pulled down the comforter and found that there were bugs in the bed. Not just one bug, but several bugs. Some of these bugs were still moving. In addition we also noticed that there were bugs in the tub. We also noticed that when we walked in the hallway it smelled like somebody had been smoking pot. We went down the front desk and demanded a refund. There was no way we were staying there so we packed up and left.

All in all the hotel would be a beautiful place if it underwent some serious renovations. Chunks of the ceiling were falling down. We even noticed one lighting fixture that appeared to be held together by super glue. In the area where we waited for the elevator there was an ash tray full of cigarette butts.

Stay away from this hotel if at all possible.

  • Liked — Nothing at all
  • Disliked — The bugs in our bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcwegrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

It is a sad state of affairs. What was once a lovely hotel is now faded, torn, tattered, and just plain old. The rooms still have old metal keys and the drapes/upholstery/bed spreads haven't been changed in 15 years (maybe more). The phone didn't work and the furniture is so battered, it's just sad. The pool is not functioning and none of the restaurants or bars are open. They are said to be "under renovation", but I don't see any work being done. Management should have at least disclosed that the pool and restaurants were unavailable. Try to tell a nine-year old in July that there is no pool!! I will say in their defense that it was clean and the beds were firm. I think at $85/night you can find something more up to date and just as comfortable elsewhere in town. There's nothing really nice about the place, except the memories of what it once was.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Dinginess
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravlInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

The Historic Lincoln was one of several hotels for a conference that I attended. I chose it because of the price and did not expect a luxury stay.
However, even with my low expectations, I was very disappointed for several reasons:
1) Initially, no one answered my reservation request. And that happened to other conference members, too.
2) I was told in advance that there were hairdryers in the rooms, which turned out to be false. You might be lucky and get one from the front desk, but they do not have enough if the hotel is full.
3) There was a problem with the electricity in the room, so that I was scared to use some of the plugs tofor charge my phone.
4) A major problem are the bath products: They were not new. In fact, I had mouth wash that had been used by someone before. The creams all had broken seals, too. And again, this happened to other conference members, too.
5) The advertised internet really only works in the lobby.
6) The staff is not very helpful and unfriendly (with a few exceptions).
7) The breakfast in the library is really not great.
8) The ice machines do not work.
9) The TV has only a very limited number of channels, and not all of them actually work.
10) Room keeping services are rather sloppy. For example, they forget to replace things.
11) The overall impression is rather unclean.
Notice that none of these complaints relate to the old-fashioned decor. Some people complained about that. I did not mind. But the other things I did mind. Even a hotel with a rather cheap price should provide a minimum of service.
I cannot really recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Liked — Nothing particular.
  • Disliked — Really bad service.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Yes, the Lincoln Hotel is a little long in the tooth, but how can you not love it?

It is like no other place on earth. Fabric covered walls and elevators (fabric covered everything) -- swanky canopied beds -- lots of carved wood and stained glass -- suits of armor -- and a back door that opens onto a shopping mall (!) make for a unique experience.

It stinks that the hotel isn't fully booked, but it was nice to have the full attention of the staff. Friendly and helpful, they all went out of their way to make my stay a pleasant one.

This is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

If your preference is for cookie cutter hotel rooms in cookie cutter hotels, I'm sure you an find something that will meet your needs in the C-U area. But if you're willing to accept a few minor glitches for the sake of staying in a unique property, try the Historic Lincoln .. while you still can. .

Yes, the hotel is old. (Built in 1924, last had a major renovation in 1977.) Being old, it isn't quite as glossy as some. A few cracks in the bathroom tiling. The corridors are chilly. The elevator creaks a bit. The doors use real keys rather than key-cards. But the decor is great (half-canopies on the beds, brocade wall paper in the elevator, etc.), the public spaces gorgeous, the stafff friendly and uber-helpful, and everything was spotlessly clean.

Sadly, the hotel has gone bankrupt, and is now in the hands of the bank. Hopefully it will be purchased by someone willing to put a little money into it and fix the deficiencies that DO exist. With a little time and investment, this could be a REALLY great place.

(And what ARE the deficiencies? Overly soft mattresses [they didn't seem old, just soft] and no extra pillows. Rather dim lighting in the rooms. Not enough hot water. Few amenities in the bathrooms. [Just soap and shampoo, and the shampoo is in little sachets rather than bottles.] . Thin towels. Poor tv reception on some channels. Food in the restaurants was never really awful, but rarely got above 'mediocre' either. Black-out curtains that hung to the floor and so covered the heat register. [So you had to choose between having heat and having darkness.] No 'guest-services directory' or map in the room. The indoor pool was nice, but poorly ventilated, so the room was very damp. (No sign of mold or mildew though, so it WAS kept clean.)) Coffee makers in the rooms, but no hairdryer or iron. [Not a problem for me, but some might care.]

If it's still open, DO give this place a chance, with an open mind.

  • Liked — Decor, atmosphere
  • Disliked — Lack of some basic amenities
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
1.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
2.0 mi away
I Hotel & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lincoln Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lincoln Hotel

Property: Historic Lincoln Hotel
Address: 209 South Broadway, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Also Known As:
Historic Lincoln Urbana
Hotel Historic Lincoln
Historic Lincoln Hotel Urbana, IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing