We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely try it!”
Review of Siam Terrace

Siam Terrace
Ranked #35 of 96 Restaurants in Urbana
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely try it!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

It's a typical Asian restaurant decor wise, long dining room and quite clean and not too fussy. There's almost always a queue here so plan accordingly. Especially weekends!

We had the palm juice (a bit too sweet but a must have!) the potstickers are standard Thai restaurant fare, they were good. The pad Thai was perfectly sweet and spicy as requested and they have a generous portion. We also had the salmon Penang curry which was alright, but the noodles were definitely better.

It's a good restaurant with friendly and quick (considering the crowd) service. Don't go here if you are looking for a quiet dinner for two, it gets pretty loud. But do try it. I'd go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ice0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very slow service, Food is good”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Maybe it was an off night, because family and friends have been here before, but five people are not that many to have food delivered over an hour after ordering and to have to ask repeatedly to have plates removed, refresh water, etc. The bathrooms were understocked also. I found the food quality dropped from previous times I have been there. But mainly I'd mark them low on service, it was very bad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My fave Thai place”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Champaign actually has a healthy collection of competing Thai restaurants. I find Siam Terrace to be fresh and very flavorful, with a good range of spicy from safe to singeing. The location has poor climate control, and service can be slow, if courteous.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JymmH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fithian, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Thai in Urbana”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very good Thai food. Homey setting. Several grades of hotness. Well prepared and served.
Desserts are excellent too. Recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Siam Terrace, Yea!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Mock Duck, Spicy catfish, Pad Thai Won Sen, Eggplant Tempura, Fish Cakes are a few or my favorite things

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Terrace also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to Siam Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing