We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Campus visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Illini Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Illini Union Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Urbana
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Campus visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Took a tour of the campus. Parked once and done. Everything is within 10 minute walk which gives you a feel of the campus . The room were comfortable, clean, and breakfast was included. Nice view of the quad

Room Tip: I mentioned visiting for a campus tour received 10.00 discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimdrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. It's refreshing to be able to hear the good comments and be able to pass them on the staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    10
    12
    2
See reviews for
24
11
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Check in was easy, lots of food options in the food court, there is a student rec center in the basement where you can bowl or play arcades, and it is in the middle of campus so it is very conveniently located. Not fancy, but served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Springfield_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. We really appreciate your taking the time to comment. It's morale-boosting to be able to pass along to the staff that someone's noticed the good jib they do. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This bare-bones hotel is located inside the student union at UIUC. The reception area is on the side right next to a main entrance to the union, and rooms are located in various blocks in the hotel, particularly in one area of the the 3rd and 4th floors.

The rooms themselves are clean but tired, with fairly spare furnishings. The bed was okay, and the bathroom was adequate but not particularly nice. One plus at this hotel is that wifi works very well, as it's the (very robust) campus-wide network. The hotel provides "breakfast," but it's pretty poor---there are some cereal dispensers located in a room-key accessible room on the 3rd floor, some refrigerated items, and a few other things to choose from. They had some cut-up fruit available in the refrigerator, but it was particularly awful (it was mostly unripe, even the grapes). There are food options available on the bottom floor of the union, but they close quite early.

All in all, it's not really worth staying here, even if you have business on campus. It's easy to get around the local area, so next time I'd pick a nicer place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank a_traveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We attended an admitted-student day event recently. The event registration started at 8:15 am, so after a satisfactory continental breakfast, we were just a quick elevator ride to the main event. Not having to make the drive from the suburbs in the wee morning hours, priceless! It was so convenient staying on campus, plus the added bonus of having a parking spot at the union all day. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom water pressure was weak, and the shampoo & conditioner provided were in a teeny, tiny pouch. I would suggest bringing your own or asking for additional pouches, if there are more than two people in the room. Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on a college visit, and it was the perfect choice.

Check in was smooth and professional -- there is no hassle getting here as you pull up right in front of the building, and parking is close by.

Our room was neat, clean and had a beautiful view overlooking the quad. If you are a business traveler, you might miss having a bar and nice restaurant on site-- however we were there for the campus experience.

It was a blast. A student improv group was playing in the main gathering area downstairs. A block away we had access to a vibrant commercial area with plenty of places to eat and shop.

The hotel itself is upstairs, and we had no issues with sound on the 4th floor. A continental breakfast is provided.. and while not fancy, it was much appreciated.

From the union, we walked to our campus tour site and admissions presentation. One of the best perks of staying here -- we were able to leave our car in the student union lot until 6pm the day we checked out. That left us free to explore campus without worrying about where to park.

One other little perk -- a great selection of cable channels, including one highlighting the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. We saw some terrific short films by students that were very funny.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, which was great. I don't know if the third floor might have noise iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seymour2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a visit to the University of Illinois campus and it was extremely convenient. I was concerned that parking might be an issue as is typical on campus, but I was able to park right outside the entrance to the union. My room was very clean, but the rooms are in need of renovation--the bathrooms particularly showed their age. Don't expect luxury at this hotel, but the service was great and it was a very convenient place to stay for a trip to campus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, General Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for the kind words. If your child chooses Illinois we'll hopefully see you for the next four years! I couldn't agree witrh you more regarding the bathrooms- they top our "to do" list. Enjoy the college selection process!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is located right on the campus so if one has to visit the school-UIUC- it would be perfect. I don't see why anyone would stay here other than that reason. The room was clean and quiet. Small room size, though. Within the hotel, there are small shops and eateries that you can grab quick snacks if you do not feel like going out but they are not sit down quality places. One thing that didn't help us was the wi-if situation. Their public access was broken down so that was a major inconvenience. Overall, it was a good location for us because we were visiting the school but it is just an average hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyung R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Wehope that we can be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
I Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illini Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illini Union Hotel

Property: Illini Union Hotel
Address: 1401 W Green St, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within one of the most iconic buildings on the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s campus – the Illini Union – is the newly remodeled Illini Union Hotel. This boutique hotel offers 74 rooms, including two VIP suites, and is the perfect location for anyone looking to make the most of their stay in Champaign-Urbana. In addition to 27 meeting rooms, the Union also offers a plethora of food and entertainment options throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Illini Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illini Union Hotel Urbana, IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing