We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Illini Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Illini Union Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very old building, but they have done a nice job keeping rooms updated. Location says it all, but rooms are very nice and reasonably priced (at least for the time of year we went). Another thing to consider is it comes with free parking at the Union - that could be worth it alone. The continental breakfast is low end but there are other places to eat nearby. All in all, if you're visiting the University, you can't go wrong here.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank tjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you so much for the positive comments. I do wish we had more space for an expanded breakfast bar. It's on my wish list.! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Illini Union Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 86 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great location. We had a suite, one room with two double beds and one room with a pull out couch. We were a family of five so this was more than enough space and had two bathrooms. Right in the middle of campus. Walk to restaurants. Be careful that you park in the right place or you will end up with a ticket. I agree that the hotel should spend some time training the front desk staff. They are students, but could use a little coaching on basic hospitality. We arrived a bit early and they didn't seem to know how to handle us. All in all, a very nice stop in Champaign.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank AmyG96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

We at the Illini Union Hotel are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed two nights and greatly enjoyed it. Perfect location, comfortable, spacious and clean room, with a view of the quad.

Room Tip: view of the quadrangle
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enroute55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words. We really appreciate your business and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

You can't get a better location if you are visiting campus. The Union is right on the quad and just a block away from many restaurants and shops. It has a great college feel, and the room was nice, the beds were comfortable and clean.

I would, however, concur with other reviewers on two counts: 1) the hotel maintenance staff needs to clean the air vents in the bathroom which are coated and dripping with an accumulation of dust-- pretty gross, and 2) the hotel needs to train the front desk in some very basic customer service routines. The front desk seems to be staffed mainly by students, who are friendly enough, but could really use some training-- like asking guests who are checking in "what brings you to town?" "can I help you with any directions?" etc. and asking guests who are checking out "how was your stay?" Also, I needed to leave my luggage, including my laptop, at the front desk for a few hours and they have no claim check system-- which made me a little nervous. These are all simple things to fix.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen_EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

We appreciate your comments and will work hard to earn your future business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

If you want to be right in the thick of it, here's where you want to stay -- on The Quad. The ease of getting to campus town, along with all of the academic buildings, is what makes this the preferred lodging. The rooms are smaller than what you'd expect, however, considering how much time you spend in your room, it's more than adequate. Everything was clean, a Continental breakfast provided on the third floor each morning from 6:30 A.M. until 9:00 A.M., for all registered guests. Parking passes provided upon check-in. Nice place. (I tried uploading some pictures, but Trip Advisor claims that they're too big!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clp2csp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. THey are much appreciated. We hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Everything was within walking distance or you could ride the bus. This is probably the best place to stay when its college related. Yes, the front desk could be rude especially if its a college age person working. But the older people were more accommodating. Price was actually less than other places.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FongP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for any problems that you encountered. We strive to provide excellent customer service100% of the time. I will research the incident and reinforce our committment to quality service with that employee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I was at a conference at the Univ. of IL and I could not have found a better location! I just had to go downstairs to attend the conference and I could go back to my room to refresh whenever I wanted. The room was nice and clean.
I have two complains/suggestions: first, the bed mattress should have been changed a few years ago. It had bumps and "body prints" typical of an old mattress. The second complain is about the breakfast, which is in a tiny room in which four people cannot stay at the same time. We had to take turns to get in the room and then we had to take our paper trays back to our room. It would not cost much (and it would drastically improve the hotel service) to have a room in which guests can sit at a table with other people to eat breakfast. It might be enough to convert one of the hotel rooms near the "breakfast closet"!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoLimoncello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry that your stay was not completely satisfactory. We did purchase all new bedding in 2009. We quite often recieve compliments on the comfort of our mattresses. Also, the space in the building is primarily dedicated to students and their needs therefore limiting space for what an ideal breakfast location would be.
Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
1.2 mi away
I Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illini Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illini Union Hotel

Address: 1401 W Green St, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2953
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range: $86 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Illini Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within one of the most iconic buildings on the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s campus – the Illini Union – is the newly remodeled Illini Union Hotel. This boutique hotel offers 74 rooms, including two VIP suites, and is the perfect location for anyone looking to make the most of their stay in Champaign-Urbana. In addition to 27 meeting rooms, the Union also offers a plethora of food and entertainment options throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Illini Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illini Union Hotel Urbana, IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing