We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Hotel-- Great Location”
Review of Illini Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Illini Union Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Average Hotel-- Great Location”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

You can't get a better location if you are visiting campus. The Union is right on the quad and just a block away from many restaurants and shops. It has a great college feel, and the room was nice, the beds were comfortable and clean.

I would, however, concur with other reviewers on two counts: 1) the hotel maintenance staff needs to clean the air vents in the bathroom which are coated and dripping with an accumulation of dust-- pretty gross, and 2) the hotel needs to train the front desk in some very basic customer service routines. The front desk seems to be staffed mainly by students, who are friendly enough, but could really use some training-- like asking guests who are checking in "what brings you to town?" "can I help you with any directions?" etc. and asking guests who are checking out "how was your stay?" Also, I needed to leave my luggage, including my laptop, at the front desk for a few hours and they have no claim check system-- which made me a little nervous. These are all simple things to fix.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen_EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We appreciate your comments and will work hard to earn your future business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    11
    13
    5
See reviews for
30
14
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

If you want to be right in the thick of it, here's where you want to stay -- on The Quad. The ease of getting to campus town, along with all of the academic buildings, is what makes this the preferred lodging. The rooms are smaller than what you'd expect, however, considering how much time you spend in your room, it's more than adequate. Everything was clean, a Continental breakfast provided on the third floor each morning from 6:30 A.M. until 9:00 A.M., for all registered guests. Parking passes provided upon check-in. Nice place. (I tried uploading some pictures, but Trip Advisor claims that they're too big!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clp2csp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. THey are much appreciated. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Everything was within walking distance or you could ride the bus. This is probably the best place to stay when its college related. Yes, the front desk could be rude especially if its a college age person working. But the older people were more accommodating. Price was actually less than other places.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FongP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for any problems that you encountered. We strive to provide excellent customer service100% of the time. I will research the incident and reinforce our committment to quality service with that employee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I was at a conference at the Univ. of IL and I could not have found a better location! I just had to go downstairs to attend the conference and I could go back to my room to refresh whenever I wanted. The room was nice and clean.
I have two complains/suggestions: first, the bed mattress should have been changed a few years ago. It had bumps and "body prints" typical of an old mattress. The second complain is about the breakfast, which is in a tiny room in which four people cannot stay at the same time. We had to take turns to get in the room and then we had to take our paper trays back to our room. It would not cost much (and it would drastically improve the hotel service) to have a room in which guests can sit at a table with other people to eat breakfast. It might be enough to convert one of the hotel rooms near the "breakfast closet"!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoLimoncello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry that your stay was not completely satisfactory. We did purchase all new bedding in 2009. We quite often recieve compliments on the comfort of our mattresses. Also, the space in the building is primarily dedicated to students and their needs therefore limiting space for what an ideal breakfast location would be.
Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Perfect location for visiting your kids at Uof I. Enjoy your morning coffee overlooking the beautiful historic U of I quad ...in the middle of bustling college life. History meets charm. Parking and breakfast included with comfy beds and soft linens. Charming by any standard!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rupert920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was a little concerned after reading the reviews, but we loved staying at the Union. We had an admitted student visit with our daughter and this hotel could not have been more convenient. This room was absolutely fine with a lovely view of the quad. Parking was perfect and we could leave the car all day even though we checked out in the morning. The room was very clean and they had a nice continental breakfast, but buy your coffee downstairs at Espresso Royale....the coffee was awful. The people at the front desk were not super friendly, but they were perfectly competent and not rude at all. We would stay again for sure!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the quad!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mei2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
champaign, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I'm organizing a conference with an organization on campus - Therefore I have had to be in touch with the staff at this hotel frequently (to make reservations, clarify guest arrangements, etc.) It's probably a class issue, but I-Hotel (the other hotel we're providing for guests) is significantly friendlier. Night and day. The staff on the phone, consistently, regardless of who is on the line, QUESTION the caller ("What's that?" "What?") as though the caller is wrong or needs to clarify something. It's really disappointing--though not particularly surprising--that U of I's flagship hotel has such mediocre, sub-par staff. Sorry if it's too much to ask, but a hotel should have bright, energetic staff ready to help. Alas, the Illini Union hotel staff--at least from the phone (so grain of salt) is consistently confrontational, rude, and somewhat inept. Please make a change managers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illini_Union, Manager at Illini Union Hotel, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hello,
We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience with the Illini Union Hotel. It is our priority to offer great serviceat every interaction, and will make every effort to reinforce this with our staff. We would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to make this right with you. Please give us a call at 217-333-1243 between 9 and 5 Monday through Friday and ask for the hotel manager. We hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
1.3 mi away
I Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illini Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illini Union Hotel

Property: Illini Union Hotel
Address: 1401 W Green St, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2953
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Illini Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within one of the most iconic buildings on the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s campus – the Illini Union – is the newly remodeled Illini Union Hotel. This boutique hotel offers 74 rooms, including two VIP suites, and is the perfect location for anyone looking to make the most of their stay in Champaign-Urbana. In addition to 27 meeting rooms, the Union also offers a plethora of food and entertainment options throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Illini Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illini Union Hotel Urbana, IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing