We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Urbana”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spurlock Museum

Spurlock Museum
Ranked #5 of 33 things to do in Urbana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Spurlock Museum’s five feature galleries house exhibits representing peoples of the following cultures and geographic areas of the world: Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Egypt, and Africa; Ancient Greece and Rome; East Asia, Southeast Asia, and Oceania; Europe; and American Indian Cultures of North and South America.Special exhibits, based in the Campbell Gallery, serve as a springboard for unique programs, tours, and special events.Through our collections and educational programs, we help interpret the diversity of cultures through time and across the globe.
USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A gem in Urbana”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

An incredibly great place in Urbana - with cultural artifacts from different parts of the world. Occasionally they host cultural events of excellent quality. Check out their calendar of events before you go. If there is an 'around the world' event don't let your child (or an inner child in you) miss it. Here you will marvel at the Parthenon frieze, wonder at the collection of native American objects and after the experience leave a different human being!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank vasudhachara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Less interactive than before, but a nice way to spend some FREE time...”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had been visiting here every few months or so. As a free museum it has some nice pieces. There was a passport program activity for kids (probably not as fun for kids less than five), but that was gone last time. It seems to be moving more towards the adult "Here are some cool historical pieces; look but don't touch", which is fine by me. If you're bored in ChampaignUrbana and haven't been here it is worth an hour or so.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Asst. Director of Education at Spurlock Museum, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed the "Children Just Like Me" temporary exhibit (the exhibit with the passports); it was very popular with our family visitors. We host two temporary exhibits per year, so that we can regularly cover topics and areas of the world not discussed in our feature galleries and highlight objects normally in Museum storage. Visit our website calendar of events for information on what is on display on any given date. On the date of this writing (1/3/13) we are featuring a temporary exhibit called "A World of Shoes, which will be up through 2/10/13. Thanks again for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Small, but surprisingly wide array of artifacts and information readily accessible to the public. Takes about two hours to view thoroughly. Special exhibitions: in May 2012 it was carnaval around the world.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank toadkeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
165 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Mummies in the Corn Fields”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I went with a few of my friends as well as my fiance to a few lectures about the mummy in the museum as well as a lecture from a visiting scholar telling about his experience revealing the identity of a child mummified body from the District of Columbia.
Both lectures have been exciting and interesting. The museum staff has been warm and caring.

The same month I have visited the museum. It holds a vast amount of items from different time period from all over the world. The building itself is very easy to navigate and the staff is knowledgeable and friendly.

I would highly recommend taking a half day excursion to the Museum. If you're not from the area, maybe come visit the museum before attending an event at the Kranert Performance Center across the street, to make your cultural experience complete.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ECfromTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spurlock Museum also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to Spurlock Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing