We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great shows, great venue”

Krannert Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Urbana
Attraction details
Summit, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great shows, great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

beautiful setting, great little cafe and great to talk to the students working as ushers and ticket holders. Make it to wine Thursdays and you are golden!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So much variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Check the online site and see the wide variety of performances offered for your pleasure. A beautiful modernistic building provides a relaxed atmosphere to visit and enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximiliaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Music and more in my own town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Krannert Center for the Performing Arts is a place that i can see so many artists and it is 5 minutes from my house. I have seen YoYo Ma, James Galway, twice, Renee Fleming, Mandy Patinkin and so much more. Sunday Salon Series is a very intimate gathering, sitting on stage with the performer. Every Thursday, I go to Krannert Uncorked, for a wine tasting and free music event. A really great place to check out if you are moving to the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank happywhalewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We've twice seen the University of Illinois Varsity Men's Glee Club in Foellinger Great Hall within Krannert and both times came away extremely impressed with this facility. The acoustics in the Great Hall are outstanding (for comparison I've heard music in the University of Michigan's Hill Auditorium as well as the Sydney Opera House). While I haven't see the other performance spaces in Krannert there is an expansive lobby area. The building was obviously the result of funding and people who knew what they were doing. If you love performing arts I think you'll be very pleased.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank montebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
165 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great venue for great performers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We went to hear the Haifa Symphony Orchestra of Israel play at Kranert. They were playing in the big hall which is built for musical concert. It was a fantastic concert thanks to the talent of the players and conductor but also thanks to the sound quality of the hall.

Krannert went out of their and opened one of the Orchestra's performances to the U of I students for free. To many of them it was the first time hearing such a concert. Krannert is doing a great job of making some of the world's best performers available to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank ECfromTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krannert Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to Krannert Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing