We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Community treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krannert Center for the Performing Arts

Krannert Center for the Performing Arts
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Urbana
Attraction details
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Community treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Foellinger great hall at Krannert is simply the finest acoustic environment I have experienced. We catch at least one Varsity Men's Glee Club performance there every year, plus we've heard the King's Singers, some string quartets, and other performances, and we have sat practically everywhere in the place and there is simply not a bad seat in the house. Beautiful, elegant, and convenient (nearby free parking), with an enormous commons area and restaurant. A perfect date night is dinner down the block at Timpone's followed by a concert at Krannert including a coffee in the mezzo at intermission, and maybe a walk around campus afterward.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank zbmcfate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Campus/Community Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

KCPA holds a wide variety of concerts, plays, recitals at very reasonable prices. There is even free parking nearby!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JB217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Krannert is located on the University of Illinois. There are many wonderful concerts and events there. The parking is right next door (parking garage). The events are somewhat expensive but you get what you pay for.

Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How lucky we are to have the KCFPA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Outstanding variety of entertainment/performing arts offered at the Krannert Center for Performing Arts.

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had the privilege of attending a tour of the Krannert Center on a recent visit to UIUC. The attention to detail in the theatre and lobby was magnificent. We also attended a musical that evening and were very impressed with the talent of the college students. From set design and costumes to lighting and theatrics. It was a wonderful production! We will be back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krannert Center for the Performing Arts also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
 
Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to Krannert Center for the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing