We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service ”

Black Dog Smoke & Ale House
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

Tried the burnt ends, smoked Amish turkey and pulled pork. Very tender! Tried the mild Georgia Peach sauce (yummy), Texas sauce (DH liked), Lexington Dip (kinda thin) but tasty, Carolina Vinegar (ditto) and Milo's Mustard sauce which was too hot for me but DH liked. We both had the Twice Baked Potato Casserole (OMG YUM) and Pit Beans. Got there early b/4 the crowd. By the time we left around 5:30pm the place was filling up!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank caroleT2402IC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 131 of 617 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2017

is offered when it is 'supposed to be', on Mondays of course. And, they are as tasty as any one finds in New Orleans.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank kathleenharper709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

Had a pork rib sandwich with fries and a locally brewed IPA on tap. Good stuff! Would go back in a heartbeat if I ever return to Urbana. Fast and friendly service too.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Had a wonderful time with family before a football game at the U of I! Will definitely go back again!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Simpson5762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Went here mid afternoon on a Monday and they ran out of burnt ends already...had to get my burnt ends and went back with husband and daughter just before noon the next Friday. Was so happy to get my burnt ends-brisket combo platter! The burnt ends are really moist and juicy with just the right amount of smokiness. Even after years of having their burnt ends, I think they are worth the trip back (again and again!) :-)

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank honeybee1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Smoke & Ale House also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to Black Dog Smoke & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.