We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in Both Urbana and Champaign Locations”

Black Dog Smoke & Ale House
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Reviewed January 11, 2017

Really delicious food, cooked by professionals and presented with a smile. The original location in Urbana was (and still is) a local attraction and a highly rated favorite.

Yet, the impressive thing is being able to repeat\transfer such success to the Champaign location, with more spacious seating and easy, plentiful parking.

Highly recommended for both locations.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CmdZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 157 of 617 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

Love this place! We stopped for lunch and were seated immediately. Great service and delicious BBQ, vegetarian options too. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank redhead8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

We were driving across IL when asked if I could find somewhere to eat. We didn't want to go far off the interstate, so when I googled restaurants, Black Dog Smoke House came up. The food was Fantastic.....even better BBQ than in Memphis. I highly recommend the Burnt Ends appetizer and the Texas Caviar.....it was delicious. We ordered the tacos and a BBQ sandwich....both were excellent. Next time we drive through IL....we are stopping to enjoy lunch again...Thank you Black Dog

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MIOldLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016

WOW! Best BBQ place in the area! Many options for meats, sauces, etc. Regular and sweet potato fries, which they are famous for, Onion rings, salads, drinks and alcoholic drinks. No reservations accepted but be warned: this place is so popular that the line can be out the door; however, it is well worth the wait! We ate here to celebrate my son's graduation with a Master's Degree from UIUC! :D We love to eat here and you will, too!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

Food was ok, service was good, not being American hard to compare against similar establishments. I wouldn't go back. If in the UK you would say it's an old man pub.

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank Inspiredstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Smoke & Ale House also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to Black Dog Smoke & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.