We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Dog Smoke & Ale House

Black Dog Smoke & Ale House
Ranked #1 of 97 Restaurants in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Worth the wait. Sat at the bar and could see all the meals going out. Everything looked good. Bar atmosphere. Will definitely recommend to others.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    112
    37
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“decent food....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I had heard the hype that this was THE place to get BBQ in C-U. I was very disappointed. The food wasn't bad, just not the jaw-dropping treat that I was expecting. I ordered the 3 meat combo with brisket, ribs and burnt ends. The burnt ends were good, but not spectacular. The brisket was a little rubbery but okay. The ribs were not my favorite. I didn't care for the rub used on them. This is personal taste of course. I tried two sauces, the Carolina Red which I didn't care for at all...and the Chipotle which was okay. The sides I had were both pretty good....southwestern potato salad and pit beans. Overall, I have to say that I won't be returning here....there are better choices for bbq in Champaign.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“nothing shy of excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is a must visit if in the area. The burnt ends sandwich is spectacular and combined with one of their many wonderful beers makes for a memorable experience. You will know that this place is a local legend by the people that stop by - everyone from blue collar workers to business elite - speaks volumes. The possible criticism is that the place in somewhat small and the line can be long if you show up at the wrong time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xtalguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer, great setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Being named Urbana's best anything is faint praise, so clearly we'll have to come up with a better title for this restaurant, which is loud, fun, delicious and crowded with hungry rib-lovers and beer-drinkers.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelswithPets60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
466 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I went there with some co-workers at the end of the day. The place is small, but cosy, there was a waiting list which I saw as a good sign for "good food." We went up to the bar to order drinks while we wait, their tab beers were all micro brews, which upped my appreciation of the place. I ordered Left Hand Milk Stout. (Yum!) When we got seated, I saw they had burnt ends on their menu, that pleasantly surprised me, since I only see burnt ends in BBQ in Kansas City. Unfortunately, they just ran out :-(. Plan B was brisket with sweet potato fries. I loved them both. I do recommend this restaurant, it is worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Smoke & Ale House also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Urbana, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to Black Dog Smoke & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing