We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean hotel with fantastic staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently brought a group of 28 people to this hotel on a tour I scheduled. Even though we arrived very late, the front desk had all of us checked-in in about 10 minutes, about twice as fast as any other hotel on the tour. I have to travel extensively for my job and truly appreciate when a hotel takes cleanliness seriously. I did not hear a single complaint from the group.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcdta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    56
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
126
45
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have stayed in many different hotels in the Champaign / Urbana area and this is a very good choice. Please note - this is not walking distance to the University of Illinois. Probably a ten minute drive. Hotel is clean and well managed. Rooms are very comfortable. This is not the cheapest priced hotel but still a good value. The free breakfast is excellent with a ton of choices - from eggs, bagels, yogurt to waffels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelrayMike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmil366, General Manager at Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your recent stay. We appreciatte the high marks you gave our facility, staff and management as compare to other in the area. We never recommend anyone walk to the University as it is 5 blocks away but our Free Shuttle or short 1.2 mile drive makes for a very quick trip. We continue to take great pride in what everyone, including yourself, refers to as a "great breakfast". Thanks again and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pros - Clean from lobby to the rooms and pool area. Breakfast was good, lots of variety and they kept it stocked, plus there was plenty of time allowed. Excercise room and pool area were both 24 hours - (adult swim for the late hours). Staff while we were there were friendly and went out of their way for us several times. We didn't notice any excess noise, but we also bring along a fan when we travel to block it out. Convenient location.
Cons- Didn't recognize my Gold status for Choice Privileges - I even had a 1,000 point bonus card ready to give. No thank you or goody bag as we've received from other Choice hotels. Room was SMALL for supposedly accommodating 5 adults - not sure where you'd put that extra bed - maybe wedged between the pull out and the door? That would be the only place to put it, and that would be a fire hazard. Pricey..too pricey for a college town. Be sure to your reservations frequently for a better price. Cleaning staff didn't change our sheets and we didn't have the card on the bed to not change, yet left towels up to be reused and they took those to wash.
I'd stay again, but will check out other hotels as well. Just didn't have that "wow" factor or anything "special"..you know, no warm cookies to remember, trinket gift in the room, or neat decorating, etc. BUT , clean hotel and felt safe being there, convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUGARMOMMA819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmil366, General Manager at Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for offering feedback regarding your recent stay. The staff & I value your praises, suggestions and opportunities for improvement. While we are very confident in the product and service we provide, we are not perfect. We value your constructive criticism most as it gives us an opportunity to improve and reach towards our goal of perfection. Thank you for praising our cleanliness, breakfast quality, 24 hr ammenities, friendly staff, quiet facility and convenient location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Check in staff was confused with our reservation. Room nice but cleaning crew never got to us till2pm next day and no vacuming done. Relatively clean otherwise. Pool relatively clean. Very loud if your neighbors are yapping or have visitors,be prepared to know all about them. Had to turn up tv. Breakfast eggselent. Good variety.I'd guve it another shot.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After this place, any other hotel will be lucky to get a 3 or a 4 rating... there is absolutely not one fault I could find anywhere. Check-in was friendly and fast. I found a personalize note, manager's business card and a sample of honey from a local farm on the room desk. The room was large and tastefully decorated, the bathroom water efficient in every way. All common areas were clean and spacious. The beds were made for comfort and hard to leave in the morning. Breakfast was a huge step above the everyday hotel freebee. I may go out of my way on my next trip just to stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear equally nice. If you qualify, get the AARP/senior or Military discount... the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times and love this hotel. This time, however, we were being rushed out of our room at 9:15am on a Sunday. There were about 5 housekeeping staff (all very pleasant) waiting in the hallway for us to check out as we were on our way to breakfast. They knocked twice as well. It was a special event weekend at the university, so the hotel was packed, but it was an uncomfortable feeling to us.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Powderhound21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmil366, General Manager at Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
First and foremost, we appreciate you choosing Comfort Suites Champaign - Urbana! We value your business & loyalty. We are looking into the reason housekeeping believed your room was ready to be clean. Your feedback is invaluable and without it, we could not make the necessary improvements. Thanks again and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, IL
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I chose this facility (based on Tripadvisor ratings) for our overnight stay to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. I had direct interaction with 4 hotel employees who were all courteous, very friendly and extremely helpful in planning special touches for our anniversary stay. This facility is immaculate throughout and the entire staff and management want to assure your stay is pleasant. The beds and bedding are extremely comfortable and inviting. Easy access from the intersate is just one more reason to stay at this top rated facility. Thank you staff and management for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara and Dav... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmil366, General Manager at Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for recognizing our dedication cleanliness, it is our top priority. It is great to know you enjoyed our brand new bedding package, we love it too! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#5 of 25 in Champaign
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
2.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area

Property: Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
Address: 2001 N Lincoln Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-1026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened Champaign - Urbana All-Suites hotel close to restaurants and shopping. 5 Blocks to University of Illinois Campus. Half mile to Presence Covenant and Carle Hospitals. Lincoln Ave exit at I-74. 24 Hour indoor pool and hot tub. Upgraded suites available. Free Breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Champaign Urbana Hotel Urbana
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing