We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, inconvenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night while traveling in Illinois. This is a great hotel, immaculately clean. Since it's Comfort Suites, you can expect a high level of quality. The room was comfortable, wifi worked great, excellent breakfast with sausage links and fried potatoes the day I was there. The suite had a refrigerator and microwave.

Two nitpicks. First is that the shower water pressure was inadequate (a common theme of my reviews). The second is the location. There are not a lot of dining choices at this exit off I-74; you have to go two or three exits west to find restaurants of the sit-down (Ryan's was where I ate) or fast-food variety.

Would definitely consider staying here again if I'm ever back in the Champaign-Urbana area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millenniumhwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 392 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

I arrived at the hotel at 4 am after an unexpected family health problem brought me to town. I was a little shakey. I was greeted with such respect and care. I felt immediate relief. I was put in a 2 bed room. It was very clean and comfortable. I had no idea how long I would be staying but they assured me they had me covered until I wanted to leave. A bonus to this hotel was the evening snack. With all of my running around I had forgotten to eat. They had some munchies out that carried me until I got something sufficient. Nice. Throughout our 3 day stay I had the opportunity to work with at least 4 different counter personnel. Everyone was knowledgable, kind and friendly. In a phrase, last week was not my week. It was so nice to be in a safe, clean, and well-staffed hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmil366, General Manager at Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for complimenting our achievements in the 2 areas we strive for perfection the most; Cleanliness and Comfortability. These go hand in hand and are vital to our success. The hotel was planned very well, but thanks to our staff for ensuring we keep everything spotless, organized and comfortable. Thanks for recognizing this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a top notch hotel! The location is great, just off the interstate. It is a newer hotel and it is very comfortable and roomy. The lobby is welcoming and set up for visiting. The breakfast area has more than five tables set up so there is room actually eat in the dining room! The guest rooms themselves are also quite large. We had a king suite that had a very comfortable bed and a large sitting area. The room also had a fridge and microwave. We had great luck with the free wifi as well. The other big plus, which in my mind cannot be underappreciated, is how clean this hotel is. From the lobby, to the hallways, to the breakfast area, to the pool, to the rooms....spotless. I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the Champaign Urbana area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nowah1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We often choose Comfort Suites in our travels. This location is the reason why. The hotel was exactly what we expect from Comfort Suites - comfortable, clean, good service and accommodating to our need to park a vehicle towing a boat.

The location of this hotel is also ideal for getting through Chicago as we travel north. It puts us into Chicago mid day, avoiding rush hour and increasing our chance of getting through to Wisconsin without major traffic issues.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watersedge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My 12, 14 and 17 yr old grandkids live in this area and I don't get to see them often. We decided to stay at The Comfort Suites for some Quality Time. We got just that. The room was great as was the TV channel options. We enjoyed the pool and spa each day. The Hot Breakfast was a real treat for my pocketbook. It gave great selections for my very picky grandson.

Location is near the mall and we were able to go over their to catch a movie.

Everyone of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful! You can bet we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmil366, General Manager at Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for the opportunity to build a lasting friendship, we'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The Comfort Suites in Urbana, Illinois is an excellent place to stay. Our family rented one suite for three weeks and two other suites for shorter periods. Our rooms were quiet and clean, and well-equipped with refrigerator, microwave, sofa, and free Internet. Breakfasts were very good also. Every employee from the general manager to the kitchen and housekeeping staff is genuinely friendly, competent, and helpful. These include Adam, the general manager and his desk assistants, Audra B., Audra P., Alana, and Tiffany. We highly recommend the Comfort Suites, right off of I-74 at the Lincoln Avenue exit in Urbana. It is convenient to the hospitals Carle and Provena, as well as the University of Illinois. You will enjoy your stay at Comfort Suites!

Mr. B., Chicago, IL.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is the nicest Comfort Inn we've ever visited. Very clean, really comfortable beds, nice amenities. Thanks fo Brett for his exceptional service from reservations through checkout.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
573 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Champaign North, IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#5 of 25 in Champaign
641 reviews
1.7 mi away
I Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area

Address: 2001 N Lincoln Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-1026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range: $89 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened Champaign - Urbana All-Suites hotel close to restaurants and shopping. 5 Blocks to University of Illinois Campus. Half mile to Presence Covenant and Carle Hospitals. Lincoln Ave exit at I-74. 24 Hour indoor pool and hot tub. Upgraded suites available. Free Breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Champaign Urbana Hotel Urbana
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing