We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way to expensive for the neglected place it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Paksong
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had to pay 40 USD for a bungalow for 2 persons for 1 night (that is the equivalent to 6 nights in other places with the same quality). The bungalow comes with a terrace,the place wasnt cleaned. Our terrace was hald rottent, pieces of wood falling apart. We had a table that was half rotten too. The place is not cleaned and not well taken care. Internet is not working half of the time ( and really slow), they have a restaurant, but you can wait more than 1 hours just for them to come to you, and 1 more hour to maybe be served.
When we arrived they told us they could take us the next day to paksar in the morning. That night the owner came to speak with us, and i told him i wante to leave early, maybe 7 am. He pushed the depart time until 9 am... We finally agreed, but next morning big surprise, the owner didnt want to take us, he was a grumpy man, not helpful at all. He treats you like he doesnt care.
At the end we had to hitchike from the main road to pakse, and arrived way later than what was planned thanks to the owner.
I wouldn't recommend this place.
The rooms are not so bad, and you have a little fridge. bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wachap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baan_E-Tu, ผู้จัดการ at Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2015

Dear Mr.Wachap,

On behalf of everyone at Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort, firstly we would like to express our deepest regret for the inconvenience caused by this unintentional and rare mistake. We are sorry that you were not satisfied by our services and we assure you that your complaint will be handled in a strict and serious way. We take full responsibility for the error and we guarantee that such incidents will not occur in the future.

As currently , we have a new business owner and we also renovated and overhaul facilities, construction, service and staffs in our resort.We are implementing a number of checks and measures to ensure mistakes like these do not occur again. You deserve the best and we will make sure that you will get it with us.

We value you kindness to choose to stay with us and we would like to retain you as a customer. Therefore, We are happy to invite you to stay with us agian.

As I mentioned earlier that business is now changed hand to a new owner and we had such a big change in our resort, comment from professional traveler like yours is much valuable for us. Therfore, would you please kindly grant us a chance to improve by visiting us again and then rewrite your comment if you feel it's appropiate. please kindly consider and please let us know.


Thank you very much for your kind understanding,
Best Regards,
Baan E-tu Waterfall Resort Team
Sales.baanetu@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 91 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Lao is a beautiful country with a great nature, so if you think that you can order the trip at the hotel like in other counties, you are wrong. In this hotel you are about 35 km from the Pakse town and if you want go for a trip you need a own car or have to order it before from a local travel agency. You have a chance to order it from hotel driver ( local waterfalls, farms etc.) but it is expensive( for us 120$). Hotel is nice as we expected just the all Lao people have a lot of time for everything. Internet connection in hotel was slow but during all time without drops, so can not confirm the other review that it is not working. The room was clean and every day new towels, soap etc. I have to recommend this place for a short stop in south Lao.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Vasek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at the resort for 3 nights and we will never forget what a lovely place this was. The rooms are separate lodges with a spacious balcony. Very clean and the most comfortable mattress. We slept so well. It was delightful to be in such a tranquil environment with the sound of the waterfall not far away and birds in the trees. Khambay, the owner, looked after us so well and showed us many of the remarkable, memorable and interesting sights on the Bolevan Plateau. We could never have learned so much without him.
The short time we stayed lives on in our hearts. A part of us will always be there. I really unique experience.
By the way, the restaurant serves a very generous breakfast and a good choice of meals for lunch and dinner. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: In the cool season bring socks and a jumper as it can be chilly in December and January.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a rundown, neglected place at the end of a potholed dirt-road with entirely incompetent Lao management, terrible food, an unacceptable breakfast and Wifi which is more off than on. It has only one feature going for it (undeserving) and that is the proximity to a small waterfall. Be aware that when you stay here you are stuck with their terrible 'restaurant' since there isn't any way to get back and forth to Pakse after dinner, unless you have your own transportation. One day I got back from a day trip and unlocked the door to my bungalow and somebody else had herself already arranged comfortably in what I thought was my room. My luggage was gone. I needed to walk down the hill to the restaurant and confronted the unorganized crew there and they told me, yes, they moved me further up the hill to a different place. Impossible! Without telling! In this bungalow I found all my stuff on one pile, ready for me to get straightened out. Terrible place, the worst so far on my six month Asia trip..

Room Tip: I wonder why somebody wants to stay at this dump in the first place.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baan_E-Tu, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2015

Dear Mr. Travelerpro,

On behalf of everyone at Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort, firstly we would like to express our deepest regret for the inconvenience caused by this unintentional and rare mistake. We are sorry that you were not satisfied by our services and we assure you that your complaint will be handled in a strict and serious way. We take full responsibility for the error and we guarantee that such incidents will not occur in the future.

As currently , we have a new business owner and we also renovated facilities, construction, service and staffs in our resort.We are implementing a number of checks and measures to ensure mistakes like these do not occur again. You deserve the best and we will make sure that you will get it with us.

We value you kindness to choose to stay with us and we would like to retain you as a customer. Therefore, We are happy to invite you to stay with us agian and ,of coures ,free of charge as a gift to express our apology.If you are interested, please kindly let us know.

As I mentioned earlier that business is now changed hand to a new owner and we had such a big change in our resort, comment from professional traveler like yours is much valuable for us and is very influential for other potential customers. Therfore, would you please kindly grant us a chance to improve by removing your review? please kindly consider and please let us know if you are interested to stay with us again.


Thank you very much for your kind understanding,
Best Regards,
Baan E-tu Waterfall Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very nice rooms (lodges) with plenty of space including a large balcony. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed every minute. The food is good and convenient, the surroundings are beautiful, and the resort directly supports the local community. Most of all, the owner Khambay is an exceptionally helpful man who spent two days with us showing us the various sites around the plateau including many waterfalls, organic gardens, coffee plantations and local villages. His time and companionship will always be remembered and we are very thankful for his kind and helpful assistance. We will definitely be going back there again.

Room Tip: When travelling in the cool season, bring warm clothing as it gets very cold at night on the plateau...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We spend 2 nights here and our room was realy nice and clean. Just 50 meters from our room was a nice waterfall. The food was nice and breakfast was included. On the first day we did a hike over the bolaven plateau with a guide from our resort. We saw a lot of nice scenery. On the second day we booked a tour with the manager of the resort (Mr. Khambay). He led us to nice waterfalls, an ethnic village and an organic farm. During our trip we stopped regularly and he told us a lot of things about Laotian way of life and the nature. We had a great time at E-Tu resort and would definatly recommand this to everyone.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Stephan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very large bungalows. The owner took us around and showed us places that we would never see otherwise. He was really a great help and took us to our next destination.
We had very good vegetable soup, the food was very good and not expensive.
We loved it.
The bright future is in front of them.

Room Tip: all bungalows are nice, just it is better to have the one closer to the reception.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paksong
23.3 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
507 reviews
20.8 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
593 reviews
19.9 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
19.7 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Tad Fane Resort
Tad Fane Resort
#1 of 3 in Paksong
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort

Address: Km. 35, Number 13 Pakse-Paksong, Paksong 1608, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Paksong
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Paksong
Price Range: $29 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort" where waterfalls are at your backyard! After renovation in May 2014, we are now ready for full service with hospitality. Be relax and enjoy in the nature where fauna and flora are carefully preserved. You can hear birds and cricket sing along with the chant of waterfalls that happen to be just in your backyard while fragrance of herb and spice drift through the air from our kitchen "Jong Kum" restaurant that wait to serve you with fine local clean and tasty cuisine under concept "Farm to table" Coffee, one of the main quality products of south Lao , is also ready to served in our cozy open air restaurant or at your balcony. Imagine sipping Lao coffee in the ambient forest of green..breathing fresh air..what more you can ask for!! We encourage you to learn local culture as well! Touring coffee garden, visit organic farm, trekking , elephant bathing watch and visiting temple is available upon your request. Clean and comfortable room is provided for your good night sleep.Wi-Fi and hot water is provided in our resort. Our friendly staffs are more than happy to assist and service you. Come and visit us soon!! We are looking forward to seeing you. -Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Baan E-Tu Waterfall Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing