We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple fun for all!”

Donley's Wild West Town
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Union
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open May-October Wild West Themed Amusement Park, Museum and so much more! All rides and attractions are included in one admission price. Moms, Dads and Grandparents are sure to have fun too! Experience a day of fun as you pan for gold pyrite at the Sweet Phyllis Mine, shooting slingshots at Huck Finn's, and watching a live action Wild West Show. The attached museum is full of artifacts from the Old West, inventions and technology from the great period of the late 1800s. A day at Donley's Wild West Town will create memories that will last a lifetime. We look forward to your visit and can't wait to show you the town.
Glen Ellyn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple fun for all!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our day at Wild West Town. It has lots of different attractions for kids and it's not too large. My son is 7 and had a great time with the archery and panning for gold, among other things. Didn't try the rollercoaster - sounded a bit rough. The staff were so friendly and it's no easy job being out in the heat all day in jeans, cowboy hat and boots. We are at their restaurant. The food and service were great and I felt like it was a good value too. I would highly recommend this park that takes you away from all things electronic and let's your kids use their bodies and their imaginations!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    11
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

No shade! It can get really hot here especially when you are watching the wild west show and you sit on metal bleachers with no shade - not so fun! My two daughters had fun dressing up for the photos and enjoyed the horse ride and other activities.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFruitSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great for young ones”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We visited on a pleasant day in August with our twin 3 1/2 year olds along with some friends who have twin 3 year olds and a 5 year old. The activities were great for the pre-school and early elementary school aged kids. There were several short rides, including a very tame (though bone jarring if you are lucky enough to be the adult to accompany the too-short-to-ride-by-themselves kids) roller coaster, a ground level log flume, pony rides, hand carts, and a train. None of it would be very exciting to those over around 8, but for this age, it was just right. There are several games as well. They are all included with the price of admission. Technically, you are given a limit as you have a punch card for all of them, but between the kids' tickets and the adults' tickets, the kids for all intents and purposes had unlimited rides. The Wild West show is cute and very child appropriate, including a safety talk about guns before hand by the sheriff. The food at the Steakhouse is fine, though nothing to race to Union to grab.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank worldmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“food and fun for the whole family”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed at KOA next door and went to eat at the restaraunt/steakhouse/saloon/ The xowboy ribeye was excellent as was the pork chop. The decor was fabulous. The place is filled with couboy and indian memorabilia and also movie memorabilia. Srop by and enjoy the nostalgia..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sking222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food and park”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Interesting amusement park. Enjoyed with our grandkids. To top it off we ate at the Steakhouse. Food was great and reasonably priced.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank NenaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donley's Wild West Town also viewed

 

Been to Donley's Wild West Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing