We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go Here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chicago Northwest KOA
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family of 5, including two small children under the age of 5, arrived at KOA Union Friday July 13, 2012. Upon arriving everything looked great. Lots of trees, green grasses, clean building, great play ground, etc. However, our excitement ended there. When we were taken to our camp “site” (lot 99) my family and I became extremely disappointed. All camp sites were lined up in rows, hardly any trees and very little room between campers. Lot 100 was no more than 10 feet away from out camper, their sewer was 8 feet from my children’s window, and their electrical box was 6 feet from our camper. Their sewer was leaking and the smell was awful. The fire pit was 2 feet off the gravel road. There literally was zero room for playing or sitting outside our camper comfortably. We hated it! Within two hours of being at this place we asked for our money back and left a day earlier than planned. We will never stay at this KOA again and most likely will never stay at any KOA’s in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darcibridget83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Owner at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We are sorry that your experience at our campground was not as expected.

For the convenience of our campers, all of our RV sites are pull thru site and most of our guests are very happy with this set up. Unfortunately, with this configuration you cannot avoid that the utilities of your neighbor campers are next to your campsite.

I have checked the sewer hose of our seasonal guests on site 100 and I could not detect any leak or smell.

On another note I realized that you made your booking for two adults only, checked in two adults and not a family of five. I would like to point out that we work hard to accommodate our honest campers and not guest who cheat on us.

Thomas Weber
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have camped for over 20 years and for 6 years at this KOA near Union. We always look forward to at least a weekend here. We are very thankful for the excellent care of the grounds and the rest of the facilities. Even with limited rain there are lots of flowers and very clean camp sites. The staff is very helpful and we look forward to the next time at Chicago Northwest KOA.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thanks you for your review. We are proud that longtime campers are giving us a chance as the new owners of this park and of course I’m very happy when the experience was excellent. We are looking forward to you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in a cabin at the KOA this past Saturday night and we were pleasantly surprised. Several of the previous reviews are unfair so I'll address some of those first. 1) Cloudy water does not indicate unclean water. 2) The pool was very clean. 3) Purchasing the campground's slightly overpriced firewood is very common (Emerald Ash Borer). 4) The music from the Wild West ended around 10pm.

The cabin was very nice and clean. Our unit had a recently installed AC which worked very well during the 90 degree heat. The cabins are well shaded and have a nice porch with swing, which was comfortable even in the heat. My one complaint is that the sites that the cabins sit on, are rather small. Not a big deal, we made it work - especially considering the below average cost for the cabins. The owners are very nice and work hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable stay. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and your help with addressing issues like water and firewood. Our firewood is certified and comes from Wisconsin. I’m also glad that our investment in the cabins, installation of A/C units, worked out for you. I hope that you and your family are visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a very nice time ( Hubby and I ) , we knew this KOA was recently sold so we could disregard prior bad reviews and see what the new owners had to offer...ALOT...Very clean , well trimmed grounds , colorful flowers , clean pool . overall friendly and helpful staff , quiet at night , planned activities for kids and adults , large area for children to play and run , mini golf ( old but still fun for kids) . Spoke to the owner , he has a vision of what he wants this KOA to become and if they continue with what they are doing and follow thru with future plans this will become one of those KOA's where you will have to book well in advance to get a site .No you cant bring your own fire wood but this is something they have no control over and is such a minor issue compared to the good this place has to offer . We will return and bring our Grandkids to share in what this campground has to offer . To those thinking of staying here disregard all bad reviews prior to this year when it was bought by the current owners , Keep in mind there is NO perfect campground but this one has little to complain about...Keep up the good work ! !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you gave us a chance and I'm happy that your stay was a success. I hope you bring the grandkids for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

After reading all the negative reviews, we were worried about staying two nights here. But needed to be close to Chicago to go watch a game at Wrigley Field. The check in staff was friendly and helpful upon check in, our pull thru site was spacious and level, the park was clean, and the kids played mini golf for free while we set up camp. They delivered wood to our site for us. The one bundle of wood we used - lasted over 2 1/2 hours not mere minutes as other have experienced. All the other campers seem happy and friendly. I bet the park is 80% full and we would camp here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redt2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Owner at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

We are very glad that your stay with us was a success. As the new owners of this campground, we work very hard to ensure that everybody can enjoy the park and the kids have a lot of fun. We are happy that you liked our neighbor’s Donley’s Wild West Town and Steakhouse offering too because we work together to enhance the experience of our common guests.

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We were very disappointed. Yes, it is still winter here but they are open. The showers are barely Luke warm and you can not adjust them. All the amenities were not available yet we were charged full price. The Laundry washers are cold water only and barely trickle water into them. Do not use laundry pacs because you will have to run the washer a second time to get all the soap out at $2.00 a load it cost me $6.00 to do 2 loads of wash never mind the dryer, The laundry room closes promptly at 9pm and because I had to run the washer twice the dryers were not done so, I had to leave my laundry in the dryer overnight.
You must use a magnetic card to get into the camp ground and you have to make sure that it dosen't get near your electronics or credit cards. We stayed here to visit Chicago they are the closet KOA to Chicago but it is approximately a half hour drive to the train and then about an hour on the train to get into the City which makes for a very long day.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas W, Owner at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

We are very sorry that your stay at our campground did not meet your expectation. As the new Owners of Chicago Northwest KOA (since April 16, 2012), customer satisfaction is our number one goal. Give us a call and ask for Thomas or Sylvia to discuss your experience. We also encourage you to test our committment and stay again at our campground.

Due to the exceptionally cold weather, we have raised the temperature of our water/energy saving showers to accommodate our guests to 110°F at the shower head.

Our maintenance crew has retest all laundry equipment to make sure it is working properly.
During the shoulder season (4/20 -5/25 and 9/3 – 10/8/12) our rates are 13.5% lower than during the main season.

Thomas & Sylvia
Owner Chicago Northwest KOA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Please read all of the reviews. This place is not real great. Sites are small and there are more rules than you can you imagine. They will not allow you to bring firewood and charge 6.00 for a bundle that lasts minutes. Very strict very militant. Please do your research.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack_A35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicago Northwest KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Northwest KOA

Address: 8404 S Union Rd, Union, IL 60180-9690
Location: United States > Illinois > Union
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Union
Price Range: $31 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new Managment since April 2012. Welcome to the closest KOA to Chicago and O'Hare International Airport. A family campground with planned activities on weekends from Memorial Day thru Labor Day. (Haywagon rides, movies, games, kids crafts, bingos and a lot more)Have fun at Donley's Wild West Town next door, visit the Illinois Railway museum, see Santa's Village Azoosment Park, visit Six Flags Great America, cool off at Magic Waters near Rockford or in our own crystal clear pool in a friendly and quiet country setting, with long, level, shaded pull-through 50 amps RV site, special tent sites, 7 Kamping Kabins and complementary Wi-Fi throughout the park.Take the "Metra" train from nearby Crystal Lake or Woodstock to visit Chicago for sightseeing, festivals, and tours. We are also in a convenient distance to the Woodfield Mall, Prime Outlet Discount Mall, and the Grand Victoria Riverboat Casino. Various local restaurants are within minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chicago Northwest Koa Hotel Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing