We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Nearby Hotels
$78
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anchorage Port Stephens(Corlette)(Great Value!)
$233
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dutchies Motor Lodge(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Central Motel(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nelson Resort(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
$108
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$96
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Aqua(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
$178
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cote D'Azur(Nelson Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,614)
Filter reviews
1,614 results
Traveler rating
572
611
266
92
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
611
266
92
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poolshopping centreamazing poolhuge poolnelson baysteam roomstudio roomtennis courtswrapsbuffet breakfastshort driveacross the roadschool holidaysspa bathrelaxing staygreat for familiesfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
1,321 - 1,326 of 1,614 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We travel a lot and have experienced great resorts and hotels but nothing prepared me for this wonderful experience at the Oaks Pacific Blue Resort at Port Stephens. It exceeded all expectations and we would have stayed longer but unfortanaely the entire resort was booked out for the next two days so we sadly we had to leave.

Located three hours north of Sydney, the resort is located at Salamander Bay just a few minutes away from Nelson Bay.

It has an excellent shopping centre within minutes walk from it with all the major food retailers having a presence.. If you accomodation type is selef contained apartments, buy your food when you arrive.

The resort is unique in a number of ways particularly for the range of accomodation you can get from motel rooms, to apartments with (swim in) to the lagoon from your balcony to beautifully appointed apartments with private spa and balcony overlooking the lagoon. There are wooden luvers on the double glazed windows which project these beautiful light and shadows throughout the day and its creates a relaxing atmosphere. The double glazed windows significantly reduces outside noises so if you want to relax, just close the doors and windows.

The apartments surround the lagoon which is also a swimming pool. It takes 20 minutes to walk around the lagoon, just to give an idea of how big this swimming pool is in size. There are little beach and resort areas to lay back on the decks chairs and there are two large outside spa pools.

The resort has a restuarant but it was not open at the time of our visit. It has a spa care facility, lap pool and steam room as well as tennis courts. The resort is well maintained and worth ever cent we paid to stay and we are looking at dates in the future to return to the resort.

On the negative, it has limited activities for children other than the swimming or tennis.

However, there is a 10 pin bowling alley straight accross the road from the resort. There are lots of beaches and other activities within 20 minutes of the surrounding areas inlcuding go carting racing, camel riding, sand dune riding etc etc.

Overall, well managed resort with excellent apartments and the lagoon pool that makes you feel you are thousands of miles away on a pacific island.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south have more shade during the day from the sun
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our resort and your sty here. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback for we strive always at Oaks Pacific Blue to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable experience with us. Our body corporate is looking at the possibility of installing some play areas around the resort to provide more activities for children at the resort. We look forward to your next visit and hope you enjoy it as much as this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This Resort was the best hotel I have ever been to. The staff were friendly and helpful reception 24/7. The room was excellent and cosy, I had so much fun especially in the lagoon pool. Definitely go back again or live here. Recommend highly

Room Tip: any room is fantastic
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mili T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We do appreciate positive feedback and it is always a pleasure to receive such, as we stirve always to deliver high standards to all our guests. We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed at Blue Pacific a few times previous and continue to enjoy the resort. Four of stayed in an upstairs Dual Key apartment for 5 days, very comfortable & clean. We normally prefer the upstairs rooms, although not directly on the pool they offer better views & a little quieter away from the pool.
Reception was good on arrival and very helpful on a couple of occasions we need their help. Also the Maintenance team were very prompt and helpful sorting out the missing remote control for the DVD player, Craig came and swapped over the players with a minimum of fuss.
Thanks again to the Blue Pacific team for their help in making our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy-Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. It is pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and my staff were helpful and efficient. We look forward to your next visit with us and hope you find it as enjoyable as this one. I will pass you kind feedback on to my staff as we all take great pride in delivering the best customer service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked this resort for one night. On phoning we were not told of any credit card charges. I can understand why there would be a charge for Amex but MasterCard!! come on fellas. Are you that hard up for profits??? Are there many establishments that charge for MasterCard and Visa.

Apart from the above the room was comfortable although we had to get a replacement clock radio and have the table lamp attended to as it had a broken part on it which made it unsafe. Tap on the bathroom sink is loose which we did not bring to their attention. Daylight savings time had not been altered on the radio system and this was attended to.

The resort is is large and the pool fantastic but if management could look at the "little" things it would make the stay far more enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Jimbo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, General Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I would like to apologise that you were not advised of the credit card service fee at the time of booking. This is something I will raise with all of our staff to ensure it does not occur again in the future. Oaks Hotels & Resorts and our owners have previously absorbed this cost, however we are now bringing this in line with industry standards as a consumer cost. Please feel free to enquire about alternate methods of payment should you wish to avoid this fee. I am very pleased to hear that you found the unit comfortable, and we thank you for raising the concerns of maintenance issues in the room and allow us to rectify for you. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks Pacific Blue Resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The good: Great pools and spas, very clean, the rooms are well equiped and the staff are friendly and helpful. The prices were cheap as we booked last minute and they have adequate facilities. Air conditioning, tennis, great parking, very modern and really relaxing. Close to shops, and beaches. Overall an awesome stay.

The not as good: No security boxes (safes in rooms) - cleaners can access everything. Can be pricey if staying a long time or in a "larger" room. During peak holidays and times it may be a bit busy. There is pleanty of pool space but i can see the spa and gym/lap pool getting crowded.

ADVICE: I went to the day spa there (this is NOT part of the Oaks resort) however is on the premises. My massage was not cheap and the girl just talked the entire time. I was not relaxed and did not enjoy this. I recommed going off premises for the massage (the one at Peppers Ancorage is worth the money).

Room Tip: If you are a family choose the bigger room, but if you dont care for a view and rather save money the basic rooms are all you need and are also very good. Personally i would rather have the swimout room, so we can jump straight in.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natad13Saratoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPacificBlue, Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback on your stay with us at Oaks Pacific Blue. And I am pleased to see you enjoyed our facilities and your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for your feedback on the day spa we will pass this on to the day spa managers for their action.
We hope your next visit is as enjoyable as this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews