We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved My Choice to Stay Here...Not far from Arthur Amish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tuscola
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tuscola
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved My Choice to Stay Here...Not far from Arthur Amish”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were taking a weeks trip...Wanted to visit Arthur Illinois and then over to Parke County, Indiana to see the Covered Bridges. This Motel is right on Highway 36 which will take you right there in a hour plus. I had reserved a King Room and requested SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS for a Non/Smoking Room due to severe Asthma.... I also requested a upper floor & AAA Discount. The staff was very kind and accomodating for me. When arriving I did 'review' my special requests and they said YES indeed and if I wasn't happy to call and let them know. The room was very nice, clean and updated. The chair was so nice I wouldn't allow hubby to use the foot rest with his boots on... (keep it clean for the next person). TV channels were just fine and my Kindle Fire HD was up and running on WiFi. I had no problems. It's a bit of a drive to Arthur and Amish Country but I had no problems... just get off at the next exit Off the Interstate and make a big circle for the day. We called Pizza in but there was a Sandwich Shop next door and a Buffet in the Flea Market Building just across the way. There was a shopping center right there as well but I was there for a Visit to Arthur. I have No complaints and did not have any issues with my Severe Asthma. I'll try to load a few photos.. I would definately stay there again and I think you should do the same. BTW there is a Elevator. Sorry I did not test the morning breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyeblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tuscola, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so glad you took the time to review our property through Trip Advisor! We stive to do our best to accomidate all guests to meet their special requests and make sure their stay goes well! I'me very please to hear that your stay went so well while you were passing through the area and we look forward to the chance to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    51
    23
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
26
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Because smoking is allowed in some rooms, you do have a never ending slight smell of smoke, like you just walked out of a smokey bar and the smell lingers. I will bring air freshner next time, the room is very clean otherwise. I stay in hotels at least 4-5 times a year so have an average expectation, if the smoke smell from the air vents were gone, id say this place was excellent. They need to have the vents cleaned and maybe change the filters more often.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uiucmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tuscola, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am very sorry to hear of the smoke smell that you experienced in your room during your stay. We do try to keep the filters and vents as clean aspossible and since your stay we have deep cleaned all vent and filters in the rooms to help rid the rooms of any unpleasant odors. We hope you will give us a try again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Every six months I stay here for a week or more. It is the best hotel among the few choices in Tuscola. The desk staff are always friendly and helpful, and housekeeping is very good. I think it is bit over-priced, but the alternatives in town either aren't appealing or consistent. You might check out the chain hotels in Arcola and Savoy. Both are reasonably close to Tuscola, and I have stayed at both locations. It is a clean hotel which is across the street from a very good outlet shopping mall (sorry, fellas, but your wives could drop a bundle there). Don't miss the Candy Kitchen for lunch and treats in downtown Tuscola. It is just like it was in the 1950's. The best thin crust pizza I've ever had in the U.S. is at Monical's on Route 36 in town. The hotel's breakfast is usually very good: eggs, bacon or sausage, biscuits and gravy, cereals, fat-free or regular milk, muffins, bagles, fruit, fruit juices, yogurt, pancakes, and probably a couple more things I can't remember. It is available until 9:30 which is good for late risers. As anywhere, it can get busy at peak times. There were two girls' soccer teams and their families staying there one day, and breakfast was busy, but watching the kids and their families was very entertaining and amusing. I did catch a tiny whiff of cigarette smoke on the 3rd floor, but nothing in the room or common areas downstairs. I like to stay here for the convenience of being close to where I need to be in Tuscola, but I think I'll check out Savoy and Arcola again next time because of the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremiahred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I don't like to stay at hotels that allow smoking, but we decided to stay here when visiting family in Pesotum. The location was ok and the breakfast was good. However, I could smell smoke. The breakfast area was small. The rooms seemed clean. The price was steeper then I felt it should've been based on the location and the hotel itself. All in all it served it's purpose.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeepinMoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This a clean hotel but there was some kind of end fighting gong on between the staff that if it is not resolved will start to show in the hotel in the long run. Nothing special to eat around so you might want to think about pizza.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWG_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tuscola, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We did experience a change in Management a week before your stay and unfortantely still had some kinks to work out while you were here. We now have a great new staff and hope you will try our property again next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

NIce clean motel, close to shopping, but the breakfast area is so small and crowded. You have kids who don't know what they want, blocking the whole area. So everybody is just standing there waiting for a chance to have some breakfast. If you normally enjoy the Holiday Inn express breakfast, you won't enjoy this one. That is why I give it a poor rating.

Room Tip: Get a room on side away from the highway. less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Warrior
Level Contributor
138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The title pretty much says it all. Stayed here one night passing through town and had a pretty decent stay. The hotel probably only had 10 guests the night I stayed and was nice and quiet, in fact I never heard a peep from anyone.

The room and hotel in general was very clean. My room was a large suite that had a sink outside the bathroom, which is something I don't care for, however I have read other people like the ability to use the sink when someone is taking a shower....I am not one of those people though, I prefer the privacy of a sink in the bathroom. Water pressure in the sink was poor as well.

The beds are really firm and I didn't sleep all that well due to that and the loud AC going on and off all night.

Room also had a smaller flat screen tv with an average selection of channels. Wireless Internet worked well and was pretty quick.

Location is just across the way, within walking distance, to a large factory outlet mall and Amishland. Not a lot of eating options close by, however, next door to the hotel is a place called "The Pantry" that serves some pretty tasty sandwiches.

All in all this is a very solid hotel, what you would expect from a typical HIE, I'll call it 3.25 stars as the lousy bed knocked it down a bit for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlCzervik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuscola
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscola
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites
7.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Arcola
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#2 of 9 in Mattoon
303 reviews
24.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#15 of 25 in Champaign
109 reviews
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tuscola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tuscola

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tuscola
Address: 1201 Tuscola Blvd, I-57 & IL 36, Tuscola, IL 61953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Tuscola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tuscola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tuscola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express in Tuscola, Illinois. We are conveniently located 25 minutes from University of Illinois and Eastern University. We are adjacent to Tanger Outlet Mall and the Red Barn, we are minutes away from Iron Horse Golf Course and downtown Tuscola. Other local attractions include Rockome Gardens and Central Illinois Amish Community. We are only 8 miles from Arcola home of the nationally famous Lawn Rangers and Raggady Ann and Andy Museum. We are located just 20 miles north of Lincoln Log Cabin and 70 miles west of the Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum in Springfield. After working out in our fitness center you can either relax in our indoor pool and hot tub or in one of our newly renovated rooms and watch one of our 60 cable channels on a 32' flat screen television. For your small meetings please inquire about renting our luxury conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tuscola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tuscola Hotel Tuscola
Holiday Inn Tuscola
Tuscola Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing