We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's a reason it's ranked #1” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“There's a reason it's ranked #1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We just needed something close to St. Louis so we could see a few sights and then head out the next morning for another destination. With a Cubs/Cardinals game going on and it being a Saturday night, we ended up out in the suburbs. I noticed that this hotel was ranked #1 on TripAdvisor, so we figured we couldn't really go wrong.

The room was very clean, common areas tidy and clean, and grounds well maintained. Staff was helpful and friendly. Sure, some of the furnishings were a little dated, but that's not going to stop us from enjoying any of our stay.

While I don't have anything glowing to say, I also don't have anything disparaging either. This was a very pleasant hotel, well maintained and staffed with shiny happy people. This was a nice, safe place to stay at an affordable rate.

Room Tip: No room is bad, as the back of the hotel faces a farmer's field, front faces the rear of a bar/r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICK B, Manager at Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    116
    46
    25
    14
See reviews for
137
62
42
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to find this "budge" motel was very clean and nice. The location allowed you to walk to nearby restaurants and was just off the expressway so refueling was nearby as well. The front desk staff and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was hot and cold and plentiful. The rooms were bright and clean. Even though it is an older property, it was well kept. I would recommend it for a night or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICK B, Manager at Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed here last week because I was running a half marathon and was looking for a cheap room in a good location. I wasn't really concerned about how nice the rooms were because I wasn't going to spend a lot of time there. (I have since been informed that they will be remodeling/modernizing soon. What I found was that this motel has a pool, hot tub, free WiFi, and a great free breakfast (hard boiled eggs, cereal, waffles, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, juice, good coffee, etc.). These things add up to an excellent value. The beds were comfortable and the room had both a microwave and refrigerator. I could get past the dated TV because at least they had cable and a decent sized tube. The staff was awesome and agreed to give me a late checkout so I could shower after my race before I drove home.

In summary, I would recommend his hotel and plan to stay there again for my run next year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robaire25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICK B, Manager at Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Point, WI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Troy IL Super 8 served my needs perfectly. The property location worked very well for my needs on this business trip. My room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICK B, Manager at Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Easy to find, very convenient Super 8. Room was clean, adequately furnished. Breakfast was better than expected with truly fresh fruit, good yogurt and strong coffee. Restaurant/bar in adjoining parking lot happy to serve me and pooch late at night on outdoor patio.

Room Tip: Many travelers get up early to hit I-55. Most are noisy so ask for quiet room if you want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_mercies_Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICK B, Manager at Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Super 8 in Troy for a shopping trip for my daughter's 16th birthday. The cost was much more reasonable than other St. Louis area hotels. Overall, this was a very nice hotel for the price - not fancy, but nice. It was very clean and quiet. The hotel is probably a half mile from I-55 with no highway noise, and our room looked out on a small field. The pool was small but clean. The breakfast was nice and included a Belgian waffle maker. It wasn't busy at all on the Sunday evening we stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICK B, Manager at Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

I had to travel home for the homegoing of my grandmother. We traveled from OK to NY by car, just me and my 16 year old daughter. Since I was the only drive I had to stop each night and stayed at several motels/hotels both on the way to my family home and back to my home. Other than my stay at the Hilton in Riverhead NY this was the best place hands down, even among the other Super 8’s!!! I stayed at two other chains as well, a Red Roof Inn and a Budget Inn and they were everything you would expect of a motel, dingy, poorly light, uncomfortable beds, little to no amenities, just good enough to lay your head in between destinations. However, this location was more than I expected, it was a pleasant surprise to say the least. It had a wonderful breakfast buffet, an indoor pool and hot tub, luggage carts, and extremely friendly staff. The rooms were comfortable, came with both a microwave and a small refrigerator and everything was extremely clean and modern. Though it was not the cheapest place I stayed at, the price was comparable. As a matter of fact I paid the exact same price for two other locations that were nowhere near as nice! Kiddo's to this location!!! The only negative thing I could say, and it's no reflection on the facility, was the fact that the highway in which the location is at is under construction. From that viewpoint I really expected yet another typical motel but don't let it's location fool you... stay here if you are in the area!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NICK B, Manager at Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Troy
Red Roof Inn Troy
#3 of 5 in Troy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troy
0.2 mi away
Best Western Troy Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Collinsville
Days Inn Collinsville
#6 of 11 in Collinsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
5.1 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Edwardsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edwardsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area

Property: Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area
Address: 910 Edwardsville Rd, Hwy 162, Troy, IL 62294-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Troy, IL. Our Super 8 offers 61 clean and comfortable rooms. We are conveniently located on I-55/70, 18 miles Northeast of Downtown St. Louis. Home of the St. Louis Cardinals, Rams, Gateway Arch, St Louis Zoo free admission, Budweiser Brewery and the famous Clydesdale. We offer our customers Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and public areas, Superstart Plus Breakfast. Pets allowed with a Fee of 10 Dollars per Night. Interior Corridor/Elevator, Heated Indoor Pool and Whirlpool, Free Business Center. All rooms have Microwave and Refrigerators, Iron/Board, Hair dryers & In room coffee makers. Located next to Cracker Barrel & Taco Bell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Troy
Super Eight Troy
Troy Super Eight
Troy Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing