We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Troy Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Near disaster”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We asked for the "nicest room in the hotel"....and were given a king suite. We were getting married in Troy the next afternoon and wanted plenty of room for getting ready. In the middle of the night, my fiancé was awakened by the sound of water dripping....onto our clothes and suitcases. Water was coming in from the floor above. So, the night before our wedding, at 2am, we had to move to another room. Not exactly a restful night before our important day. Fortunately for us, our wedding clothes were protected by garment bags. The hotel did clean some of my clothes that were soaked, but we weren't given any special consideration or adjustment for moving into a smaller room or the inconvenience and stress over it. Although "accidents do happen", I have to wonder if this wasn't a problem already well known to management, given the water stains on the ceiling. I shudder to think what our experience would have been in a room that wasn't the "nicest."

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Cindy B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the issues with the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    13
    15
    10
See reviews for
43
17
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here for four nights. The room (Single King) was comfortable and clean and well serviced. One or two other reviewers had said their rooms smelled bad, I was concerned about that going in, but the room I had was just fine. The only negative for me was that the window unit airconditioner was a bit loud.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Absolutely disgusting! As soon as you walk into the hotel you have this smell that's gross, even the rooms have the same smell. It’s a very musty and moldy smell. It seems like the walls might be moldy and they are trying to cover it up. I had to buy an air freshener for our stay, which didn’t help at all. The orange juice machine has mold in it! Yuck! The carpet is old and it looks like the original when they first opened. My child got an infection from bathing in the rooms tub. I will be contacting the health department to inspect this place because it should be shut down! I've been in contact with corporate and the GM. I was promised a certain refund, but still haven't received it all. I have called corporate back to let them know about four times now. They claim they can't reach the GM and can't refund me anything in case he already has, so I can't get a double refund. I've asked for the executive office to call me, no go. They are avoiding me and not giving me what I was promised for the terrible experience and injury my child got on their property. I have ER records as proof. I have an email from Stephanie (executive office) stating my refund amount. I've emailed Didi Patel(GM) and he has ignored me. They should be offering me a full refund and a week's full stay to one of their hotels after I have had to take my child to the ER and deal with this shady company. Because they have not kept their promise, I have had to take this up with my credit card company.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear beachbum3015,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I would like to address this with you further but unfortunately, your account settings do not allow us to send you a Private Message. You are welcome to reach out to our Guest Relations Department via email at IHGCare@ihg.com or you may send us a Private Message through TripAdvisor to IHGCare including reference to your TripAdvisor Account Name so we can follow up on your experience.

Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Troy hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff was friendly and that's about it. The carpet appears to be original since the place was opened, it was so dirty looking. The whole place is in need of a serious overhaul, I stayed with a group of people who had various rooms on different floors. This place has a smell in the hallway and upon entering our room there an immediate stench as well, it smelled very musty and moldy, almost as though there was water damage somewhere in the walls. I went out and purchased air freshener in hopes of masking the smell with no luck. The stink was so strong that it could not be covered up. I was in rm.# 314 and the carpet was dirty, I could sense my allergies flaring up because of it. I do not believe that the restrooms were properly cleaned, as the cotton ball I threw in the tub was never removed by housekeeping. The towels or supplies were not restocked, and the only thing I think they did was dump the trash and pull the comforter up to appear as though the bed was made. On the second to last day the sliding door that enters into the lobby broke. This door was the outer door. There are two doors, one from the parking lot in to a foyer kind of thing and then a second one that opens up to the lobby. The outer parking lot door became stuck shut closed and I had to manually pry open the door to get in. As I came in an employee was walking over to the desk and I told him it wasn't working. He said he would fix it. I went up to my room, came down a few minutes later and he said it was working. I went out the first door and got to the broken one and guess what? It was still broken! I just looked at him like huh? He had to come finally see what the problem was at that point. There was another day where I was eating breakfast in the breakfast area and it was almost time to shut everything down, the employee pulled the overflow rack from the juice machine, which left the bottom portion of the machine exposed. There was a huge amount of black mold plaguing the machines insides. It was so disgusting, I refused to eat/drink from there for the rest of my stay. The pool is indoors here, which I can understand considering that it can rain during hot humid days. What I don't understand is why the windows don't open or there is no temperature control in the enclosed area for parents who have to supervise their children in the pool. It is like a sauna in there and very uncomfortable for people who are just supervising. After this experience I won't be returning to a Holiday Inn in the near future. I filed a complaint and am currently awaiting a response.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear rhi c,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Troy, IL. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The customer service was the worst I have ever received at a hotel. The staff were not courteous or helpful. Our room was old and dirty. The carpet looked 20 years old. I thought the kids were going to catch something swimming in the murky pool. Do not waste your money. I thought the beds were decent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameliaw75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Ameliaw75,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are deeply sorry for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the service you received did not live up to your expectations. We also apologize our pool facility was less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

First off if you charge 119 a night make sure all your amenities are functionable.The the air conditioner was very poor.I can't stand paying all this money and being uncomfortable.Hotels in general are getting worse by the day.Dirty,nasty places over charging because of the name on the hotelRugs are rotting my rug in room 126 has big waves in it.This place is sold out today so I'm stuck in this sauna of a room because the proprietor is to cheap to update his air conditioner.I am a truck driver I spend a lot of Money at these places maybe I should stop staying at these dives and save my money.Also I tend to stay away from super eight,days inn ,motel six,ect,ect,so I can avoid a crap hole like this with the owner last name being Patel.That is all god bless America

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkc214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear pkc214,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your in-room Air-Conditioner and any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on our way through the area. It was clean and well kept up. The staff was very nice and we enjoyed our stay. There is a Cracker Barrel across the street we walked to for dinner and that was nice so we didn't have to find a place. Would definitely go back

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TwotimesMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris l, Director of Sales at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are glad to see we were your choice when you stopped in Troy, IL. We strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests and are happy to see that you loved your stay with us. Cracker Barrel being right across the street from us is a great option for all of our guests for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Hope to see you again the next time your traveling our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troy
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Troy
Red Roof Inn Troy
#3 of 5 in Troy
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pontoon Beach
Best Western Plus Pontoon Beach
#1 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
219 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
5.1 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Edwardsville
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Troy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Troy Hotel

Property: Best Western Troy Hotel
Address: 2020 Formosa Rd, Troy, IL 62294-1387 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Troy)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Troy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel offers an exceptional location located off I-55/I-70 at Exit 18 in Troy, Illinois. St. Louis businesses and attractions are just 20 miles southwest of the BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel. Leisure guests appreciate being close to all the fun that St. Louis offers. You can cheer for the Cardinals at Busch Stadium just minutes away. While in Troy, Illinois, hotel guests can visit the Gateway Arch, enjoy the St. Louis Zoo or visit the city's exciting museums, including the Science Center and Botanical Garden. Guests can also visit major Universities, such as SIUE, SLU, Washington University, and SWIC. Since the hotel is so close to St. Louis, corporate guests can easily get to the area's top corporate offices including Anheuser-Busch(R), Boeing, ConocoPhillips and Freightliner(R). Guests can also visit nearby attractions like Villa Marie Winery & Banquet Center, Gateway(R) Conference Center, Gateway Fun Park, Splash City Waterpark, Gateway Motorsports Park. In addition, be sure to take advantage of our free high-speed Internet, a well-equipped 24-hour business center and a 600-square-foot meeting room with accommodations for up to 20 guests. At our BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel, we offer the amenities that make every stay relaxed and comfortable. After a day of meetings, you can relax in the indoor pool or workout in the well-equipped fitness center. The complimentary, full hot breakfast bar lets you start your day off right. And our inviting rooms offer an oasis of comfort with upscale perks. With our dedicated and extraordinary staff, we will make your stay with us a time you will never forget. Book your stay at our BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Troy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Troy Hotel Troy
Holiday Inn Troy
Troy Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing