We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Troy Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very nice HI Express”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on our way through the area. It was clean and well kept up. The staff was very nice and we enjoyed our stay. There is a Cracker Barrel across the street we walked to for dinner and that was nice so we didn't have to find a place. Would definitely go back

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TwotimesMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris l, Director of Sales at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are glad to see we were your choice when you stopped in Troy, IL. We strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests and are happy to see that you loved your stay with us. Cracker Barrel being right across the street from us is a great option for all of our guests for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Hope to see you again the next time your traveling our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    14
    16
    10
See reviews for
49
17
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had my parents, me, and my nephews at the hotel. We thought we would never survive the trip for 2 nights. But the front desk was so helpful and cooperative getting things for us, it made our stay 100 times better. Nice room, remodeled last week. Great stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrystone97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didi p, General Manager at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are always looking for ways to improve our great hotel. It was fabulous to see that the front desk agents helped make your stay with us one you loved. Traveling with family does have it's challanges and we are pleased to see the staff here were able to make things just a little bit easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

While traveling cross country and after driving 15 hrs and just coming through St. Louis i'd had enough for the day and saw a sign for this hotel. Check in was smooth and friendly and the room was ample and clean. The breakfast was just ok, it was lacking some items that other HI express have.

My only concern and this is because my elderly mother was with me, is that no attention was being paid to the ice forming in the parking lot near the entrance to the hotel. The night clerk could have spread some salt to take care of that problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nybill38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear nybill38,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am pleased to know that you had a smooth check-in and you find our room clean. On the other hand, please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. I appreciate your comments as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Again, thank you for your feedback and patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The check-in was great - so friendly! The room was clean, and nice but showing wear - time to redo! A refrigerator and microwave were nice additions. The shower was the best - handy grab bars and great shower head! A standard Holiday Inn breakfast was served.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannymaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Check in was just outstanding with Jamey working the front desk. Jamey was very outgoing and made check in very smooth. There was really no work area in the room just a very small table and two are chairs. One of the chairs was broken and Jamey gave us a armless chair to replace it. Founf the Breakfast buffet to be very short on food. Another guest came to the breakfast bar around 8:45 and the bar was out of hard boiled eggs, hot egges and other items. She asked the hostess if she would be putting out some more food. She brought out some hard boiled aggs but that was it. She informed the guest that she had done all the cooking for the day. I think a trip to Cracker Barrel across the street is the best bet. I was then even surprised to have housekeeping knocking at our door at 9:05am to ask if we had left yet. Checkout time is noon why check at 9am. I have worked as an AGM in hotels and we always checked the rooms that we did not know if the guest had left after the check out time not before. When I was in the hall I noticed that there was 2 people going into the rooms to clean them. One was a woman in uniform and the other not in any type of uniform. What bothered me about this was the one without a uniform had a very big shoulder bag with her. What is to say that she might put something in her bag from a stayover room. Check out in the morning was also outstanding. We can not give enough credit to the front desk staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mocpgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear mocpgc,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the front desk staff. On the other hand, let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Due to our past luck with Holiday Inn's, my husband and I decided to stop and get some much needed rest and were happy to find a room vacancy. Even though this particular Holiday Inn is a little dated, that doesn't warrant an excuse for dirty carpets in hallways. I would not say it was the best Holiday Inn we have stayed; it was on the borderline of average. This hotel is worth saving and staff should use more efforts to clean. In my opinion, which this is what a commentary is, I would prefer to stay in a clean "older" hotel versus a "newer" dirty hotel. I hope the quality doesn't slip any more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Troy Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear phen t,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience the cleanliness of our hotel may have caused youl. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stopped into the Holiday Inn Express in Troy AL just off the interstate and were pleased that they had room for the evening. Registration went very quickly and the front desk gentleman was very efficient. Room was very clean and relatively quiet even though we were close to the interstate. The was a restaurant right next door so we had everything we needed for the night. Also, with the fresh express breakfast we were quite pleased with the cleanliness and assortment, and we were back on the road for our trip quickly the next morning!

Room Tip: Since this is right off the interstate, request a room on the backside of the building for a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Troy
Red Roof Inn Troy
#4 of 5 in Troy
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pontoon Beach
Best Western Plus Pontoon Beach
#1 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
223 reviews
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Edwardsville
10 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Collinsville - St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Troy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Troy Hotel

Property: Best Western Troy Hotel
Address: 2020 Formosa Rd, Troy, IL 62294-1387 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Troy)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Troy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel offers an exceptional location located off I-55/I-70 at Exit 18 in Troy, Illinois. St. Louis businesses and attractions are just 20 miles southwest of the BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel. Leisure guests appreciate being close to all the fun that St. Louis offers. You can cheer for the Cardinals at Busch Stadium just minutes away. While in Troy, Illinois, hotel guests can visit the Gateway Arch, enjoy the St. Louis Zoo or visit the city's exciting museums, including the Science Center and Botanical Garden. Guests can also visit major Universities, such as SIUE, SLU, Washington University, and SWIC. Since the hotel is so close to St. Louis, corporate guests can easily get to the area's top corporate offices including Anheuser-Busch(R), Boeing, ConocoPhillips and Freightliner(R). Guests can also visit nearby attractions like Villa Marie Winery & Banquet Center, Gateway(R) Conference Center, Gateway Fun Park, Splash City Waterpark, Gateway Motorsports Park. In addition, be sure to take advantage of our free high-speed Internet, a well-equipped 24-hour business center and a 600-square-foot meeting room with accommodations for up to 20 guests. At our BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel, we offer the amenities that make every stay relaxed and comfortable. After a day of meetings, you can relax in the indoor pool or workout in the well-equipped fitness center. The complimentary, full hot breakfast bar lets you start your day off right. And our inviting rooms offer an oasis of comfort with upscale perks. With our dedicated and extraordinary staff, we will make your stay with us a time you will never forget. Book your stay at our BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Troy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Troy Hotel Troy
Holiday Inn Troy
Troy Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing