We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop for weary travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Troy Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Western Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice stop for weary travelers”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband and I made a last minute weekday trip toward the St. Louis area without reservations at any hotel - figuring we would drive until we got tired and then stop for the night. We tried to stop in the Litchfield area, but hotels were full or only had smoking rooms so we decided to drive a bit further, which turned out to be lucky for us. We arrived at the hotel around midnight. Not only could they accommodate our request for a king non-smoking room, they had a suite. The kind gentleman at the front desk remarked that since we had arrived so late he would give it to us at the same rate as a regular room - a savings of about $35! It was still more than we had planned to spend, but figured the breakfast probably made up for most of the difference. The room was exceptionally clean, the bathroom spacious & spotless. I felt bad the microwave & fridge went unused since we were only passing through, but would be nice for a family with more time. The bathroom had an extra large jetted tub & showering made me feel like I was in walk-in closet. Plenty of clean towels & toiletries and hot water. I do hate that hotels always seem to have the hardest water - soap & shampoo barely lather.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Cheese omelets, biscuits & gravy (with sausage in it!) bacon, juices, bagels, muffins, toast, fresh pancakes, fresh cinnamon rolls, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, milk - there was something for everyone & we enjoyed it.

Surprised to see a pool since I thought HI Express didn't have them. The hot tub was undergoing major reconstruction. Staff was very friendly & helpful.

Would stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realmccoy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    13
    15
    9
See reviews for
40
16
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed one night in mid-April 2011. When I arrived around 10pm, the check-in only took a couple of minutes (I had a reservation). I wasn't familiar with the area, and it was pouring rain, so finding something non fast-food to eat was difficult. In the end I went with the Jack in the Box right across the street.

ROOM:

I had a standard room with a king bed. It was on the second floor right next to the elevator, but noise wasn't a problem. As far as views - there weren't any. The hotel stands right in front of another, a Red Roof Inn. If you get a room on the other side, you will be looking at the parking side and/or the interstate.

Overall, the cleanliness was above average, and the bed was clean and comfortable. The newer TV was a plus as well. If you are a light sleeper, beware the air conditioning/heater unit. It ran way too loud for my liking, but turning it off made the room too stuffy. The windows don't open, so I had to leave it on.

The bathroom was also fairy clean, with plenty of towels and toiletries. The water pressure in the shower, however, was disappointing. In addition, my shower made an extremely annoying squeal whenever the water was running.

Overall my stay was satisfactory, although I will probably check out other places next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This is a standard Holiday Inn Express. It is close to the interstate which is convenient. They also had a night light in their bathroom which every hotel should have. Free parking, free breakfast, & reasonable rates. Not much to do in the area but good if you're traveling to St. Louis.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slourash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle,IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We came down to visit our daughter at SIUE with our two teenage sons. This room was perfect for us with the Kids Suite. The younger boys took over the kids suite and had their own tv for video games and our college student was happy to have a full size bed to herself after being in a dorm room for 2 months. The hotel is clean and the clerks are friendly and helpful. When we asked for a place to go to get a good steak, they sent us in the right direction. Continental breakfast was hot and had many choices. We will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlfrch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Running across America for The Way to Happiness Foundation for Youth programs requires a restful place to stay.The Troy, IL Holiday Inn Express& Suites was the perfect place to stay and relax my tired legs and body. My hotel was very comfortable, roomy, clean and quite. Could not of asked for a better room! Mr Didi Patel the General Manager takes pride and care seeing you are comfortable along with his professional and friendly staff. Reggie the front desk manager was very helpful and friendly to me and guests checking in. The breakfast buffet is delicious and great warm cinnamon buns to enjoy! Should you be Traveling through Troy, Il, The Holiday Inn and Express& Suites are the place to stay!
Striding on across America,
JR
Monrovia, CA
http://thetransusarun.blogspot.com

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRadich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunica, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Just got in from a trip to Illinois and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Troy and found it to be clean, comfortable and friendly. The staff could not have been nicer, the room was clean and had everything I needed. Traveling alone and female, I felt safe and secure. Stayed two nights and wished I could have stayed longer. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quilters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel is over priced for the lack of service they provide. We had a reservation for 2 nights and only stayed for 1. We had to check out the hotel was dirty. The indoor pool was ice cold. The hotel staff looked just as dirty as the hotel itself. We were pleasently surprised when we went to the hotel next door (Red Roof Inn) There staff was pleasent and friendly. We looked at a room first and found it to be spotless. We are glade we switched hotels especially at $20 a night cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank businestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Troy hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Troy IL/St. Louis Area
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troy
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Troy
Red Roof Inn Troy
#3 of 5 in Troy
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Doubletree Collinsville/St. Louis
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pontoon Beach
Best Western Plus Pontoon Beach
#1 of 7 in Pontoon Beach
213 reviews
6.3 mi away
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
Drury Inn St Louis Collinsville
#2 of 11 in Collinsville
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Troy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Troy Hotel

Property: Best Western Troy Hotel
Address: 2020 Formosa Rd, Troy, IL 62294-1387 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Troy)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Troy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel offers an exceptional location located off I-55/I-70 at Exit 18 in Troy, Illinois. St. Louis businesses and attractions are just 20 miles southwest of the BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel. Leisure guests appreciate being close to all the fun that St. Louis offers. You can cheer for the Cardinals at Busch Stadium just minutes away. While in Troy, Illinois, hotel guests can visit the Gateway Arch, enjoy the St. Louis Zoo or visit the city's exciting museums, including the Science Center and Botanical Garden. Guests can also visit major Universities, such as SIUE, SLU, Washington University, and SWIC. Since the hotel is so close to St. Louis, corporate guests can easily get to the area's top corporate offices including Anheuser-Busch(R), Boeing, ConocoPhillips and Freightliner(R). Guests can also visit nearby attractions like Villa Marie Winery & Banquet Center, Gateway(R) Conference Center, Gateway Fun Park, Splash City Waterpark, Gateway Motorsports Park. In addition, be sure to take advantage of our free high-speed Internet, a well-equipped 24-hour business center and a 600-square-foot meeting room with accommodations for up to 20 guests. At our BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel, we offer the amenities that make every stay relaxed and comfortable. After a day of meetings, you can relax in the indoor pool or workout in the well-equipped fitness center. The complimentary, full hot breakfast bar lets you start your day off right. And our inviting rooms offer an oasis of comfort with upscale perks. With our dedicated and extraordinary staff, we will make your stay with us a time you will never forget. Book your stay at our BEST WESTERN Troy Hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Troy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Troy Hotel Troy
Holiday Inn Troy
Troy Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing