We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water in Hunters Cabin made whirlpool tub unusable. Cold bath put a big damper on our stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tonica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kishauwau Country Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We selected this place as we wanted a cabin in the woods with a whirlpool near Starved Rock State Park for Valentine's Day and made our reservation several months in advance.

The gal who checked us in was friendly and welcoming. They had freshly made chocolate covered strawberries for sale in the office which were delicious! I would have bought more if I had a way to transport them.

We found our cabin - Hunters - to be clean, spacious, well laid out and very comfortable. The double recliner was strategically placed so your feet were pointed towards the little wood stove. I probably could have slept there. They sell wood at a reasonable price $5 & it came with fire starting supplies. The kitchen was more stocked than we expected, but not sure why they don't provide powder creamer for the coffee when they offer sugar.

We were not aware of the lack of wifi & cell phone signal which forced us to check out early. The bald eagles were not at the dam this year and we needed to get online to find an alternate viewing location, as seeing them was our primary reason for being here.

We thought they paid a lot of attention to detail, which is why we were shocked when there was no hot water in the morning. With only 5 inches of water in the big whirlpool tub it was so cold you couldn't get in. The hot water heater was turned all the way up (we ) but obviously had issues. We boiled water on the stove to try to get the water just warm enough to soap off. When we reported the problem upon check out, it was obvious it had happened before.

The cabin had lots of windows which made you feel more connected to nature & was strategically placed to look over a bluff. There was both a front and back sitting area which would be nice to use when the weather allows.

The cabin was nicer than the one we stayed at last year at Starved Rock State Park. We will probably come back, but will make sure the hot water heater is the new on demand one the other reviewer got first. ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onery13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishauwau, Owner at Kishauwau Country Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2015

We are so very sorry for the inconvenience of the lack of hot water for your whirlpool tub. This cabins hot water heater has been upgraded to the new on demand hot water heater. Only 4 cabins left to go to upgrade. The rest of them have been done. If this is an issue for someone looking to rent in the future please ask about which ones have the new tankless water heaters.

Terisa King and the Kishauwau Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Kishauwau Country Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We traveled too Kishauwau in January as a winter getaway. Overall I thought the place was clean, cute, and well located for nearby attractions. It wasn't everything I wanted, but it wasn't a disappointment either.

Pros:

1. Instantaneous hot water heaters: Unlimited hot water. Awesome for the jacuzzi tub.
2. Quiet, private. After dark there was no noise. The hotel staff does not visit your room unless there is an emergency.
3. Nearby local attractions. Very close to Starved Rock, which is an excellent State Park. We also visited Utica, La Salle, and Streator. Utica was worth it for the wine tasting rooms, La Salle had a few excellent restaurants.
4. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The cookies were delicious!
5. No television channels- which I consider a pro. The room we stayed in had a 19 inch tube TV with a DVD/VCR player and the office has a ton of movies that you can borrow at no cost.
6. The Americana cabin, where we stayed, overlooked the Vermilion, which I thought was nice. It was one of the no kids/no dogs cabins.

Cons:

1. So many rules. There were pages and pages of rules. I think most of the rules were common sense to the responsible and courteous traveler, but some I felt were over the top. The rules included quiet hours after dark, not driving in the grass areas, cleaning up the kitchen (including wiping down the counters and washing and returning your dishes), and bagging your garbage and bringing it to the office at checkout.
2. Amenities. The cabins offer a kitchenette and an array for utensils. But they lack soap, shampoo, and blow dryer. The only mirror in the Americana cabin is small and hard to use. I'm pretty short and I could only see my face from the chin up.
3. No cell phone service: Maybe this is a pro?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

It was almost everything you would expect from a secluded cabin. Quiet, nice wooded surroundings, clean, very comfortable beds, nice furnishings and decor and a well-equipped kitchen. There was a TV set that could be used only for watching videos that you borrowed from the office. Cell phones do not work here and wi-fi is available only in the office, but we knew all that before we arrived.

What spolied our experience was the large whirlpool tub that could not be filled more than three to four inches deep unless you would settle for taking your bath in lukewarm or cool water. Based upon the faucet location, it appeared that a regular bathtub had been replaced with a large whirlpool tub without considering the need for additional hot water. While the shower was hot enough, our hopes of relaxing in a nice warm tub reading a book could not be realized.

If the owners fix the hot water problem, we wil probably be back, especially if they add wi-fi repeaters so guests who need to be connected can use the internet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank phil521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit and stayed in a cozy cabin for two. Very quiet and peaceful and romantic! Serenity is advertised correctly.
Here are my tips if you are coming for a stay:
1. No toiletries- soap was meager and no shampoo and no blow dryer!
2. Bring your own glasses- coffee cups but no wine glasses!
3. Wood cost you 5 bucks a pop and hard to light!
4. Be prepared to clean and clean! No dishwasher- its all on you
We were here in the winter but if coming in warmer weather suggest - no noise at dark or music- very frowned upon!
If you want peace and like quietude, it's ideal!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marsha3312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Staff was very friendly ang helpful.. Far enough away from things you can enjoy getting away. Close enough to major towns and Parks you can have the best of both world. We enjoyed our stay. Even in middle of a major drought was still beautiful. Look forward to returning..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith and Valer... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Entering the complex of the Kishauwau on the Vermilion (one "l"), we knew this would be a place of solitude and nature. This is exactly what it was. We traveled with a family of 4 (including 2 children, age 15 and 8) along with a family of 3 (one child age 11). We considered it cabin camping...enjoying the outdoor world while retreating to an air-conditioned cabin (very comforting during the hot months of July and August). We LOVED this place. We're quite picky and expect perfection and though nothing is perfect in life, this came close, above and beyond our expectation. If your goal in a vacation is to retreat from the ins and outs of a hectic, hustle-and-bustle, always-on-the go lifestyle, this place is it. It is tranquil, lots of trees, wooded surroundings, and a very peaceful atmosphere with no cable television (though a tv with dvd and vcr) and no internet and very limited mobile service (there is no available phone in the cabin).The cabin, itself, once you enter, feels like home, with GREAT air-conditioning (a PLUS during the hot months of July and August), fully-furnished room, kitchen, bathroom, and a jacuzzi (in the Shadey Oaks cabin we were in, along with the Osage our friends were in). The bed was very comfy, and the recliner was a nice added furniture, to kick your feet up and relax. There was also a sofa sleeper in our cabin. The sheets and throws were baby soft. We loved the color motif of the cabin (earth-tone colors). It was an extremely immaculate place to stay in for 5 days and 4 nights. The privacy was superb with the cabins far enough from one another. It was definitely simple, country-living. We stayed here for almost a week and experience no noise or loudness of any type, including music, screaming children, etc. There was a bonfire pit available but due to the drought in June and July, we were unable to do any wood-burning for safety reasons---that was just fine! The management was so accommodating and so friendly. They had a roomful of videos which were accessible to all visitors on an honor system, and an office that was open 24-7. The nearest mart was approximately 15-20 minutes away but we came well-prepared and barbecued every day except for the last. There was hiking onsite where we were able to view the Vermilion River and do some sight-seeing of the area. During the night, it was pitch black with a porch light available in every cabin. There were two entrances into the cabin and many windows to view the beauitful scenery. The gravel pavement added to the country lifestyle along with opened, grass areas to make use of with outdoor activities, such as rocket-launching, which we had, as well as frisbee-throwing and water-gun fights (which we didn't have time to do). There was quite a bit to do in the area. We toured Starved Rock as well as went horseback riding and swimming in the local pool in Lasalle. We also visited the Grand Bear Enchanted Forest Amusement Park. All in all, our vacation to Kishauwau in Tonica, Illinois, was well worth our time and our money. We hope to come visit the place in October or sometime in the fall when the leaves are changing colors and the waterfalls in the area actually have water flowing over it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hubby and I started going to this place about 19 years ago. We started under the original owners Ben and Ellen King who were angels of host. Ben and Ellen's spirit still lives in this place however the new owners have done a great job and have added some changes. Ben and Ellen welcomed everyone as family. They literally never met any strangers. May they RIP.

We have introduced this place to many friends and have escaped here after having surgery or just wanted to dissappear. If you like total serenity, a good night sleep, or just need a good getaway, this is the place. No this is not the party place with lots of night life. Its not the shopping mecca, and you won't be catching up on work with WiFi, but what you will do is RELAX and hear yourself think and enjoy some well appointed moments.

Room Tip: Go with an open mind and be a little creative. Don't be afraid to spend some quality time with y...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonica
5.2 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
5.3 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
11.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kishauwau Country Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kishauwau Country Cabins

Address: 901 N. 2129th Rd, Tonica, IL 61373 (Formerly Kishauwau on the Vermillion)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Tonica
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tonica
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kishauwau Country Cabins near Starved Rock State Park, is the only cabin rental property like what we offer here in this area. Just a 1 1/2 - 2 hour drive from Chicago Illinois, there are a multitude of things to do in this area. You will love being only a 10 minute drive from Starved Rock State Park and even closer to Matthiessen Park, where there is plenty of hiking and activities for your daily adventure. Utica, Illinois is just a 12 minute drive with local shops, dining, wineries and antiquing. Or, if you choose, you can stay tucked away on our 65 acres of beautiful, quiet, wooded property at your country cabin retreat. Whether it's romance you seek or getting the kids away from their cell phones and video games, Kishauwau has just what you need. 17 rental luxury cabins in varying sizes for weekend, weeknight, and all-week getaways. Our beautifully constructed cabins offer a blend of country charm but with modern conveniences. You and your guests will enjoy a fully equipped kitchen, a covered porch, personal outdoor fire pit, an indoor wood stove or gas fireplace and so much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing