We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food not worth the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariel's Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

Ariel's Bar and Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: There's something for everyone at Ariel's Bar & Restaurant in Tinley Park, IL. Enjoy delicious gourmet burgers and fries try wonderfully crafted cuisine such as our Moroccan BBQ Salmon to mouthwatering steaks and chops. The bar offers a great selection of craft beers, a variety of wines from on-tap to bottle selection and high end blended scotch and whiskey. We make most of our dishes from scratch, using only the freshest available ingredients. Our goal is to present a great guest experience, attentive service, and high-quality food and drinks. The restaurant features a fantastic bar area with more than 50 seats, which opens to a circular, high-ceiling dining room with 80 seats. The building also provides numerous private rooms, booths, and event areas. Weather permitting; our outdoor patio is the perfect spot for relaxing and enjoying a drink.
TINLEY PARK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Heard about this place and some negative reviews it had gotten. Decided to try it to decide for ourselves. Bottled beer was served without a glass. Server said they had no malt vinegar for the fish and chips, which was served with waffle fries , which were cold. The corned beef was cold as well. Cabbage not cooked through. Very few people in the restaurant part. When we were first got there, we thought it was closed because of so few people. I don't have a good feeling that this place will last. The food is a little overpriced, the service sketchy and it doesn't know what exactly what kind of place it wants to be. Definitely not a true Irish pub.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting food well prepared”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We ate here twice in a few weeks. We enjoyed it each time. I like a little something special on a menu, not crazy extreme, but different than the run-of-the mill. Ariel's does this and does it well. we were all satisfied with our choices. One evening the chef felt one ingredient of an entree on the menu was not as good as it should be and would not serve it. We were offered a second choice rather than be served a less than properly served item. I would rather have my second choice well prepared than receive my first choice not up to standard. Interesting spices, well prepared food, and good service. We were well satisfied both times we ate here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1oldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Good Service, Fair Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I actually ate here twice, once at lunch and once for dinner. Not gourmet fare, but a good place to grab a burger or sandwich. Serving sizes are large, and prices are reasonable. Did not have drinks, but a very large glass of wine is only $5. Both times I ate here the service was excellent. If you are looking for hamburgers or other pub grub, you will like what you find here. It is also within walking distance of many hotels.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daver852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food was good kinda pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Food was good drinks are pricy, saw a bank and did not care for it at all, actually no one there did.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank labaker026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Case of Restaurant Confusion”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I went to dinner here prior to a concert at the nearby First Midwest Bank Amphitheater. When I checked in at the hotel that was 1 block away, the front desk attendant couldn't tell me anything about the restaurant. She stated that several local restaurants drop off menus and describe their facility. Ariel's doesn't.

Outside the restaurant were huge banners proclaiming their pre-concert specials. The hostess and the wait staff had no knowledge of said specials.

Then there's the menu confusion. This place Describes itself as an Irish Bar. Irish?? It certainly had Irish fare on the menu, but why the Bruschetta, Nachos, Quesadilla, Jambalaya, Paella, Moroccan Salmon, and so on?

Is it a sports bar? There were lots of TV's on the walls, although they were showing a mixture of sports and news. Is it an eclectic place? The art work looked like it was trying to be modern. Maybe it was. The tables had tablecloths, but with paper on the top. So is it a bar or a fine restaurant?

The food and service were certainly adequate, but not quite exceptional. So its not a bad place, just a confusing place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank screenname000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ariel's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Tinley Park, IL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing