We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tinley Park
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really great staff”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Most people know what to expect with a Holiday Inn and that's usually why they choose them. Reasonable rates and moderate accomodations. I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Tinley Park Convention Center and really had a great, and too short weekend. I am a travel agent so I get to see multiple hotels/resorts all year long. This is one of the better Holiday Inns. Laurie, the guest services manager was very prompt and friendly while we communicated via email and even held a reservation for me until I could get back to her with my true plans. Jessica, front desk, is a super great impression at check in; very professional, friendly and accomodating. All staff at the front desk were! The lounge staff always concerned about my happiness. I never thought to look into what kind of convention might be taking place during my stay but what a fun and totally unique experience to find a Reptile Convention in-house. We had a blast and my friend even ended up with two little Geckos.

You can expect the pool area to be crowded after dinner with a convention of any great size in attendance. We enjoyed the sauna and I noticed a nice patio area off the pool which will be great during the summer months.

I have a soft side for "off the beaten path" individuals but perhaps someone a little less tolerant might not have cared for the party crowd outside after the show. It was also St Patty's weekend and unusually warm so the whole area seemed to be in party mode. Better for me! Laughed a lot.

My room was very clean and bed super comfortable with a pillow selection and good coffee. Thanks so much for the fun, friendly and comfortable weekend! Hhhhmmm. Lots of good music shows coming up at the Amphitheater nearby....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmullan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thanks so much, Lynn! I've posted your great review for all staff to see and communicated it with other managers. We all appreciate the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    69
    35
    21
    14
See reviews for
27
27
10
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel will not wow you with expensive artwork or beautiful architecture, but it is a good basic hotel with everything you need to spend a good night or two's sleep. The rooms are average to large in size. The staff is friendly and efficient as is the restaurant staff. If you are a priority club member (and there's no reason not to be), you'll get a perq or two. Breakfast is hearty and the menu is large if you choose not to have the buffet. If you're lucky, Rosie will have a good joke for you as she shows you to your table.

This Holiday Inn is a little less than an hour south of O'Hare, and is attached to the Tinley Park Convention Centre. However, it is a little way out of Chicago, so you want to have your own transportation - it is not an urban setting. Internet access can be complimentary (join the Priority Club on the spot if you haven't already). There is a small business centre - I usually use it just to print my boarding pass. I've been told there is a fitness centre, not that you would find me in one voluntarily.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montreal-Mathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmullan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thanks for the review! We always love hearing from our guests--and you're such an advocate for Priority Club! If you ever become a spokesperson for working out, we also offer a complimentary membership to LA Fitness during your stay. I will pass on to Rosie that her unique brand of hospitality won over yet another guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Generally good impresion.
I liked the big room, very confortable bed, all that you need for more than 2 weekd stay. I liked the pool, exepting in the weekends when is very crowded with kids. Also you can hear the noise thru the door-i suppose that the door was not sealed well.
I did't like the breakfast they serve. You pay suplimentary for the breakfast, so it's have no sense to eat there.

Room Tip: too much sun light in the morning, as i can not close the windows courtains. Maybe i was dumb..:).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogdan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmullan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. A couple of things I'd like to address: we do have rates that include breakfast for a small upcharge, but as a full-service property, you are correct, breakfast is not included with our standard rate. I have forwarded your quality concerns to our restaurant manager. Also, located behind the sheers in every room are blackout drapes which can be drawn to keep out the morning sun. Finally, during the winter months there are many families who choose to do a "staycation" and use the pool on the weekends--this is not always the case, but all registered guests are welcome to use the pool. We appreciate you staying with us, and look forward to serving you on another stay in Tinley Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Let’s just say Tinley Park is not a go-to community. The hotel choices do, in fact, reflect said dearth of excitement. But… if you’re going to this center of dull, you might as well stay here. It embodies the spirit of the dull and lifeless strip mall landscape that surrounds it.

The good: The Holiday Inn is very clean. The Holiday Inn has a restaurant and bar (no point in mentioning the quality). The Holiday Inn has a lovely lobby. The Holiday Inn has plenty of free parking. The Holiday Inn is next to a convention center. Whee. The Holiday Inn has nice people working the desk. The Holiday Inn has a nice view of the highway(s).

Would I return? If I was stuck in another Tinley Park snow storm, absolutely and comfortably. I would just look forward to my departure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly_With_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is on an intersection 140dollars away from the airport in an airport taxi,The nearest shop is a 10dollar taxi ride away so if you forget anything it's a complete pain, so it's pretty isolated. The pan faced reception borgs are preprogrammed with standard responses and have little if no personality. The attached restaurant serves giant portions of what can only be described as comfort food, which you will need because of the depressed state the colour scheme of the room leaves you in. The gym equipment is tired and during my stay the bike remained broken. Just pretty poor really and not all what I expected from uncle Sam.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodServiceGets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmullan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. We actually get very high scores about the friendliness of our front desk staff, so your review surprised me greatly! If you do give us an opportunity in the future, I highly recommend that you take a flat rate cab from the airport--it should cost no more than $60 from O'Hare. By calling the hotel directly, we can even arrange a recommended service for you. Also, we do stock a lot of "Forgot Something" items--perhaps we had what you needed right on property. Please give us another chance to "wow" you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tinley Park hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

What a great way to start the new year off. A Hotel Jacuzzi room for two wonderful days.

Room Tip: At the end of the hall. Away from the elevator is a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTiny58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed at this hotel during a business trip. Hotel is nice, with a bar and a restaurant. Restaurant was a good draw since my wife was traveling with me. Problem is it closes at 9:00pm and the desk person had not much of a clue as to what was open late in the area. She sent us to a bar that was ok, but we drove by several other places that looked better. Elevator was a problem since one of the two was broken down. Oh well, I was told to try the Wingate nearby. Will do next time. Overall though, this place is still pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitehorsetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tinley Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Tinley Park
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Tinley Park
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Tinley Park
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Tinley Park IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center
Address: 18501 Convention Center Dr, Tinley Park, IL 60477-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Tinley Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tinley Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will immediately feel welcome as you enter this hotel's lobby with its "home away from home" ambiance, crackling fireplace and seasonal decor. This full service hotel features 202 rooms including 10 suites, will appeal to families and business professionals alike. Retire to a comfortable guest room or suite with amenities including a large work desk with ergonomic chair, 32-inch flat-screen TV, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed wireless internet, guests have access to a 24-hour business center and free parking. The Holiday Inn is the premier accommodation choice for conventioneers. A link hallway provides easy access, and shelter from inclement weather, to the Tinley Park Convention Center. After a busy day, rejuvenate in the indoor pool and whirlpool or get in a workout next door at LA Fitness, an amenity for our hotel guests. Bananas Grille & Bar, located inside the lobby, is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night dining. Relax with friends on the outdoor patio or catch the big game on the 12 flat screen televisions. Easily accessible from Midway and O'Hare Airports and at the crossroads of interstates I-80, I-57, I-294 and I-355. Nearby attractions include the First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre, Odyssey Fun World, Casinos, Chicagoland Speedway, as well as all the downtown Chicago attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park Hotel Tinley Park
Holiday Inn Tinley Park
Tinley Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing