We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in a land of bleak choices…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tinley Park
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Let’s just say Tinley Park is not a go-to community. The hotel choices do, in fact, reflect said dearth of excitement. But… if you’re going to this center of dull, you might as well stay here. It embodies the spirit of the dull and lifeless strip mall landscape that surrounds it.

The good: The Holiday Inn is very clean. The Holiday Inn has a restaurant and bar (no point in mentioning the quality). The Holiday Inn has a lovely lobby. The Holiday Inn has plenty of free parking. The Holiday Inn is next to a convention center. Whee. The Holiday Inn has nice people working the desk. The Holiday Inn has a nice view of the highway(s).

Would I return? If I was stuck in another Tinley Park snow storm, absolutely and comfortably. I would just look forward to my departure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fly_With_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is on an intersection 140dollars away from the airport in an airport taxi,The nearest shop is a 10dollar taxi ride away so if you forget anything it's a complete pain, so it's pretty isolated. The pan faced reception borgs are preprogrammed with standard responses and have little if no personality. The attached restaurant serves giant portions of what can only be described as comfort food, which you will need because of the depressed state the colour scheme of the room leaves you in. The gym equipment is tired and during my stay the bike remained broken. Just pretty poor really and not all what I expected from uncle Sam.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodServiceGets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmullan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. We actually get very high scores about the friendliness of our front desk staff, so your review surprised me greatly! If you do give us an opportunity in the future, I highly recommend that you take a flat rate cab from the airport--it should cost no more than $60 from O'Hare. By calling the hotel directly, we can even arrange a recommended service for you. Also, we do stock a lot of "Forgot Something" items--perhaps we had what you needed right on property. Please give us another chance to "wow" you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

What a great way to start the new year off. A Hotel Jacuzzi room for two wonderful days.

Room Tip: At the end of the hall. Away from the elevator is a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTiny58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed at this hotel during a business trip. Hotel is nice, with a bar and a restaurant. Restaurant was a good draw since my wife was traveling with me. Problem is it closes at 9:00pm and the desk person had not much of a clue as to what was open late in the area. She sent us to a bar that was ok, but we drove by several other places that looked better. Elevator was a problem since one of the two was broken down. Oh well, I was told to try the Wingate nearby. Will do next time. Overall though, this place is still pretty good.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitehorsetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I travel 5 to 7 times a year on business/leisure. I have stayed in 5 stars hotels and down. My wife almost always accompanies me on my trips. So, I am always looking for a hotel that she will be comfortable in while I am at work. This Hotel has it all.

First, they have very nice rooms, clean and comfortable. Second, they have an indoor pool and a hot tub. My wife could live by the pool. There was even a nice private “tanning area” outside the pool room for sun bathers. She actually came back from Chicago last trip with tan lines. Third is, they are located within safe walking distance of several fast food/restaurants. Forth, a hotel must have employees that are helpful and make you feel as if they want you to stay at their hotel. This hotel shines in this area. Everyone here, housekeeping, front clerk and management made us feel like they were so glad we were visiting with them.

I was there last for a conference in which I was speaking. The conference areas are large and short indoors walk to the hotel. Close to the interstate also to make them simple to find.

They also have a restaurant at the hotel and sometimes give you $5 per day coupons off meals. Very nice restaurant, but I guess that’s another review.

We plan to return in a few weeks for business in Chicago again. I loved this hotel so much that I am staying there even though my business is on the other side of town. I wish they was not 12 hours drive away or I would drop by more often when I have time to sit by the pool.

Room Tip: they have very large walk-in showers in the King Rooms. This shower would have room for 3 or 4 peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblesandboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here for a night while on business in south Chicago. I had a very pleasant stay.

The location is close to the interstate, with ample parking, and many shops and restaurants a short drive away.

The lobby is nice and inviting, and check in was painless. I was upgraded to a huge 2 room suite which was a very nice plus. The room was very clean, nicely furnished with good internet speed, many tv channels (flast screen as well), good hot water. etc. The hotel was very quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. There is also a restaurant on-site which while not spectacular, was decent and reasonably priced.

This is probably my new favorite south Chicago hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmullan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thanks so much for the review! We'll keep up the good work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

the remodeling seems like its pretty close to being done. excellent check in service, great service at the bar. the bartender/server took very good care of our group of six. she also eagerly took our appetizer order even though it was 5 minutes before kitchen closed. and we we got up to leave, we were all handed a little plate wrapped with a nice big chocolate cookie ! rooms are quiet and new tv is much improved. i really like the walk in shower with no door. it add luxury without the cost. newspaper in the morning. easy in easy out to freeway. i have stayed here 3 times and it keeps getting better

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmullan, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

We're very proud of our staff as well. Thanks for the positive feedback! Remodel should be completely done by end of 2011.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tinley Park hotels
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tinley Park
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/Tinley Park
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Tinley Park
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Tinley Park IL
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Tinley Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center

Address: 18501 Convention Center Dr, Tinley Park, IL 60477-5402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Tinley Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Tinley Park
Price Range: $135 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will immediately feel welcome as you enter this hotel's lobby with its "home away from home" ambiance, crackling fireplace and seasonal decor. This full service hotel features 202 rooms including 10 suites, will appeal to families and business professionals alike. Retire to a comfortable guest room or suite with amenities including a large work desk with ergonomic chair, 32-inch flat-screen TV, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed wireless internet, guests have access to a 24-hour business center and free parking. The Holiday Inn is the premier accommodation choice for conventioneers. A link hallway provides easy access, and shelter from inclement weather, to the Tinley Park Convention Center. After a busy day, rejuvenate in the indoor pool and whirlpool or get in a workout next door at LA Fitness, an amenity for our hotel guests. Bananas Grille & Bar, located inside the lobby, is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night dining. Relax with friends on the outdoor patio or catch the big game on the 12 flat screen televisions. Easily accessible from Midway and O'Hare Airports and at the crossroads of interstates I-80, I-57, I-294 and I-355. Nearby attractions include the First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre, Odyssey Fun World, Casinos, Chicagoland Speedway, as well as all the downtown Chicago attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago-Tinley Park Hotel Tinley Park
Holiday Inn Tinley Park
Tinley Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing