We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
40
38
15
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
38
15
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train line cycle path lovely site toilet and shower facilities north wales beach minutes laundry room shower block clean site lovely friendly staff washing machine on arrival easy access colwyn bay chip shop superb views great facilities
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 115 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

After driving through rain and traffic for three hours to get there, I rang the campsite to let them know I’d be 10 minutes late. I called them again to say actually that 10 minutes would now be 5 minutes. Liz on the other end of the phone told me she was going home and I’d have to park my van outside. I asked her to wait the 5 minutes, I was on my own and tired. She refused! So much for the warm welcome advertised on the website. Never again!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank magicwanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BYW22, Front Office Manager at Bron-Y-Wendon Touring Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

We are sorry you feel this way about your stay with us, it would never have been our intention to make you feel this way. Most of our customers praise our staff and return because of this reason.

During the summer months reception is open from 9 am - 7 pm. Arrival time is from 2 pm. For any customers arriving after 7 pm we have late arrival bays which have electric and are close to the amenities and disposable points. Many sites do not offer this facility, we feel having this in place is beneficial to our customers.

We hope that you will change your mind and return to our site, and we will welcome you back when you you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Booked double h/stand, gave caravan size & awning for 7 nights on arrival shown to pitch which was not wide enough for our outfit. When voiced our concern got a frosty response we insisted we were not using this pitch as there were plenty of other larger empty ones. we were then told it could be a long wait. We were eventually shown to a double hardstanding at the front of the site pitched up and fitted fine. we feel it is a badly laid out site, not enough showers for the amount of people on site. The road noise from the very busy A55 is constant Day & Night HGV's to and from Holyhead we had had enough after 5 nights of very little sleep ! No Dog Walk ! Watched other dog owners looking for any grass between caravans for their dogs to do what they need to ! I also have a dog but walked mine off site ! So left 2 nights early and lost £64.00 ! Would definitely NOT recommend !

Room tip: You cant pick your own pitch !
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mykabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BYW22, Front Office Manager at Bron-Y-Wendon Touring Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

We are sorry you feel this way about your stay with us, we go out of our way to make sure our customers enjoy their time here.
We apologise if you felt you had a frosty response from a member of staff, it would not have been our intention to come across this way.
Unfortunately, the pitch you were allocated on-line wasn’t suitable for you, an alternative pitch was offered and accepted.
There are three shower blocks on our park, two of these have recently been refurbished.
We are sorry you felt the road noise was an issue, this doesn’t pose a problem for most customers who stay with us. We are situated between the A55 and the railway line on the other, this makes us easy to access and a great place to stay if you want to explore the local area.
We don’t have a dog walk on site and we do ask customers to respect other people’s space and privacy by avoiding going between vans. The sea front is only a 5 minute walk from the site entrance, the beach can be stoney but there is also a grassy area where dogs can run off the lead.
We hope that you will change your mind and return to our site, and we will welcome you back when you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Stayed for one week 11th of August, a very well run clean site with great views all round. From the moment we arrived everything run like clockwork , staff very friendly and efficient , tractor towed our van on and pitched it perfectly on the fully serviced pitch and we had great views all round. There was ample toilet and shower facilities all well kept to a high standard . A security barrier pass was issued and made the site very secure and did not slow up the movement of traffic. Other reviews complain about the A55 expressway which runs close to the site also the train line at the bottom above the beach, but we thought it no issue as you eventually turn off from it. I knew it was there so does everyone else who books this site, they must have checked google maps and must have known its location, and the management do not hide the fact. Actually its more of a convenience than a problem, you can get to anywhere quickly ,
We will return as it ticked all the boxes, well done staff see ya soon !
REVIEWER /MR MARK WHITTY {WIRRAL}

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Stayed for 3 nights. Very welcoming site, on arrival asked to un-hitch caravan, small tractor then took our caravan to the pitch, reversed on perfectly.Stress removed trying to park and reverse caravan. Pitch was hard standing, water and waste adjacent to plot, big space for awning and to put car alongside, seaview outside front/side windows. Toilet/shower facilities were excellent and cleaned regulary. Had choice of two toilet blocks, both only short stroll away. The site has no club or shop, this maybe why there were not many children around, although we did notice a play area near to the reception area. With the weather being sunny and hot, most people sat outside at night soaking up the views without the noise you get on other sites. On departure our motor mover decided not to work, so the site came and took our caravan off the pitch and parked it by the reception with no trouble. Overall would definatley come back to this site again. On departure we have mentioned to reception in case they had not realised, the waste drain on our plot was higher than the caravan, so we could not use waste pipe direct to drain and instead used our wastemaster. Reception took note and hopefully drain will be dropped so it can be used for future caravanners.
This site also offers early arrival from 11:30am, instead of 2pm for only £5, well worth it if you want to be on the road early instead of stuck in holiday traffic. Site also has night bays for people turning up after 7pm (reception closes) with electric (chargeable). (Other sites should take note).
Some people complained about the road noise, as we were near the bottom of the site, we could only just hear the dual carriageway, but we had the railway line instead. However if you do your homework and map read or even google maps, you can see where the site is located and allow for this, instead of moaning to others.
Indian restaurant (next to service station) about 5 min walk from site entrance is worth a visit. One of the best we have been too. A bit pricey, but food was of good quality, staff were very friendly, toilets were very modern, you can see money has been well spent on this place.

Room tip: All pitches are good
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SIZZHAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

We booked a weekend at this site and overall we were quite happy with things .
The toilet and shower blocks are clean and well maintained as is the rest of the site also.
Our pitch was right near the entrance with had both good and bad points.
It was handy for toilet block thru the night but was also quite a busy spot . There were better pitches available.
We brought the dog with us who likes to bark at other dogs so we would have prefered to have been tucked away in a corner rather than the entrance as everyone had to pass us with their dogs to leave the site .
All in all we had a good stay and would defo book again .

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank chrisandtracy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews