We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for family gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sycamore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sycamore
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Sycamore June 18-20th, I am a travel agent and had reserved 5 rooms for extended family. There was no confusion at checkin...it was prompt and efficient..they suggested place behind hotel for light lunch Sweet dreams..good suggestion.
Breakfast was excellent, much more extensive than most. I didn't eat the biscuits and gravy but others did. They served scrambled eggs one day omelette another, in addition to cereals, fresh fruit. Cinnamon rolls were a pleasant surprise...warm and oh so good!!! Only downside was fitness center room was warm. Internet access in your room as well as in business center.
Will have clients stay at this property. One person had a service dog and they accepted the pet with proper documentation.

Very good location

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshalnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 71 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2010

I made reservation for this hotel over 9 months in advance and they gave our rooms away the day we arrived. I confirmed and changed my reservations twice less then 4 days before arrival but for some reason they gave our rooms to someone else. The manager was no where to be found and left the whole ordeal to some poor front desk staff. I had to call customer relations and they atleast paid for us to stay at a another hotel. The staff person was rude and could care less and was not helpful at all! I will never stay at a Holiday Day Inn Express again evan though the customer rep said what happened is not their policy! Stay here at your own risk and good luck!

Stayed: March 2010
1  Thank Danette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sycamore, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2010

We apologize you feel we gave your rooms away but we require a credit card guarantee and have a 24 hour cancellation policy. If a credit card declines we have the right to cancel the
reservation as their is nothing holding it. We are within our rights to do this and you were fortunate to have someone help you that didnt know the correct procedure. When a credit card declines we do try to contact guest if a phone number is available, In your circumstance we did call and a message was left with the individual that answered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Stayed here one night for a swim meet just around the corner at the YMCA - can't get any closer. Accomodations were good, clean and staff was friendly. Plenty of restaurants, etc close by and convenient to Dekalb, Sycamore and Aurora too. Value is hard to judge, since we stayed here on Priority Club points. Our only complaint is we had reserved a "King Bed Suite". I think the only difference between a regular room and a suite is about 3 foot longer from door to window and cabinets/sink along the wall in the front. There was no door/partition between the bed and the fold-out couch. We just thought a suite would provide a little more. However, we would gladly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IllinoisHj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I agree with other reviewers that the staff here are the best part of the stay. They went out of their way to smile, be friendly and helpful. We had boisterous young children and they were very easy going here. The rooms were nothing fancy but clean and well maintained. Our room was directly across from the ice machine on the ground floor which made me nervous, but it turned out to not be a problem at all. Heard the machine a few times but could not hear voices or people so the sound proofing is good. Location is great, try the Giordanos pizza across the street, it's excellent! This is a great place to stay if visiting NIU or going to the Sycamore Pumpkin festival like we did.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMMChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

My idea of a good hotel is clean and cheap. I don't care that much about the decor or the amenities, but it really has to be clean. This hotel does meet my cleanliness requirement. But, unfortunately, not the cheapness.

We stayed one night. The room was clean. I was concerned about the sheets, so I brought my own. Did not have to use them. The hotel sheets and towels, though definitely clean, looked slightly dingy, but enough to complain to the front desk. Most people would not have noticed.

The room was adequately quiet. AC was a wall unit below the window and did make some noise, but it was not intolerable. There was no other noise.

Staff were friendly. Check in was quick.

Breakfast was adequate. Coffee, juice, milk, cereal, yogurt, and fruit were available. Baked goods looked somewhat stale, but acceptable.

Hotel has an indoor pool. It's on the smallish side and it does not look like it gets much use. We have not used it, but it did appear clean and well maintained.

Overall, this is a good hotel if you are on business in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank north_side_orie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We travel to DeKalb once or twice a year, and this is the best hotel we've stayed in there. It's a pretty standard Holiday Inn Express: clean, decent-sized and attractive rooms, free breakfast, small pool. The location isn't that convenient to any "attractions" in either DeKalb or Sycamore, but if you have a car you can get anywhere you want quickly. (If you don't have a car and are visiting NIU, there are several hotels close to campus, but I haven't found any of them as pleasant.)

The best thing about this hotel was the staff. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. I called to request some extra towels one evening, and someone brought a large stack of towels within five minutes of my call. All the employees we encountered were very friendly with our five-year-old son, who has a tendency to talk and talk to anyone who will listen.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at 1935 Dekalb Ave, Sycamore, Il 60178 on March 21, 2009. We stayed there because we were at the state gymnastic meet at Northern Illinois University. We took a chance at this hotel because it was close to the state meet. It turned out to be a good chance. This hotel was located about five minutes from the meet. The hotel was very clean the front desk person was great, friendly and helpful. We did notice that the hotel had some hallway noise. You could here people in the hallway and doors shutting, but by 10:30pm the noise stopped. I think the noise was from the gymnastic teams returning from their meets. The only problem with the hotel was you could hear the vehicles on the nearby road passing by. However by around 10:00pm the noise stopped.
The room were very clean and the beds felt like you were at home not at a hotel. The beds were comfortable.
The indoor pool was clean and the kids in the pool had a great time.
In the morning the we tried the hot breakfast. Once again Holiday Inn Express had a great free breakfast. There was three hot items plus warm sweatrolls, three cereals, bagels fresh fruit, milk, coffee, three juices and more.
This is the second Holiday Inn Express we have stayed at in the past two months and they made a believer out of me. These hotels are great and are better than some of the "high price hotels we have stayed at."

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gymtraveler305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sycamore
1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sycamore
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Sycamore
Quality Inn Sycamore
#3 of 4 in Sycamore
55 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Sycamore
Motel 6 Sycamore
#4 of 4 in Sycamore
26 reviews
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sycamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sycamore

Address: 1935 Dekalb Ave, Sycamore, IL 60178-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Sycamore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sycamore
Price Range: $109 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sycamore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Sycamore! Our hotel is only 5 minutes from Northern Illinois University and 10 minutes from the Convocation Center. We offer 69 freshly renovated rooms, two of which have 3 queen beds! These rooms are popular with families. All of our suites offer a microwave and refrigerator making them perfect for extended stays. Hauser Ross and Kishwaukee Community Hospital are within one mile of the hotel. We are a short distance from Monsanto, 3M, Target Distribution Center and Engineered Storage Products. We are an hour and 19 minutes from Midway Airport and 1 hour from O'Hare Airport. We are close enough to Chicago for a day trip to the city but far enough away for you to enjoy DeKalb and Sycamore's small town charm.Come try our hot Smart Start Breakfast Bar! Whether you are visiting a family member at N.I.U or preparing for a meeting, you will leave the Holiday Inn Express in Sycamore feeling ready, refreshed and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sycamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sycamore Dekalb Hotel Sycamore
Holiday Inn Sycamore
Sycamore Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing