We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value is very good. Entrance smells of smoke.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sycamore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sycamore
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed one night on business. The rate was very good and the room was nice (non smoking). I was on the third floor.
I did not use the pool or workout room but they looked to be nice for this size of hotel. The breakfast was very good for free and I would probably stay again.
The negative... I hate cigarette smoke and it was obvious this hotel still has smoking rooms. As soon as we drove up the front desk staff was taking a smoke break right outside the front door. Not a huge deal but not how I would run the place. As I entered the lobby, you could smell the smoke in there. The place was nice but smelled. As I walked the hall on the first floor, you could smell the cigarette smoke on the entire floor (smoking rooms).
I would probably stay again but would make sure I'm on a floor other than #1.

Room Tip: If you don't like cigarette smoke, ask if your ns room is on floor other than #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stlscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sycamore, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. My apologies at this time we still have a small percentage of smoking rooms. I am reviewing the employee smoking policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 71 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed here on business and found the rooms to be very spacious with nice beds and nice setup. TV was too small for the room and the work table could have been larger but other than that the room was above average for this price. Nice selection at breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvec22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed here with a family of four, the night before an athletic event. Room was clean and good sized. Wish beds were queens instead of full-size. It's hard for two adults to be comfortable in just a double bed. Breakfast was good, lots of hot and cold choices. Above average for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allidan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Holiday Inn Express lacks many business amenities that travelers often expect: Such as laundry facilities and access to a refrigerator and microwave. Certainly, you can pay extra to add a refrigerator to your room, and if you need to microwave something, the staff does oblige. However, I found it fascinating that they charge an extra $10 per night for a refrigerator.

In addition, the hotel doesn't offer any paid movie options...not a big deal: however, as a business traveler, having basic amenities (laundry facilities, fridge/microwave and movie access), improves the experience.

The gym boasts of a treadmill; elliptical and bicycle. During my stay, the elliptical was broken, and the treadmill although somewhat working, had computer issues. The staff seemed unconcerned when notified about broken equipment.

On the pro side, the rooms are clean, and the staff friendly; although I must note that the staff frequently leaves the front desk unattended.

For travelers who like breakfast options, this hotel offers one of the best, I have seen: plenty of hot and cold food choices. However, the dining room is small for a hotel of its size, and during my stay, there were several mornings, where there were not any free tables, and I was forced to sit with groups with other guests. Not entirely a bad thing, but on some mornings, being forced to making small talk with strangers because you asked to share their table, becomes a bit exhausting.

The Dekalb/Sycamore area doesn't have a great selection of hotels - and on the whole, the Hilton Express is a decent place to stay if you're in the area.

However, as a frequent business traveler, I miss many of the amenities, I have come to expect at a comparable chains such as the Hilton and the Marriott.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jylleallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Second time staying here. Each time a very pleasant experience. Things are clean, and the breakfast is great (by HI Express standards). Staff very friendly. Check-in / check-out was a breeze. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

the room is a typical hie room. no suprises, the check in was efficient, though the priority club check in sign was hard to find. I got the "welcome" and we see you're a Plantinum member" spiel. the staff was helpful. the breakfast was fair, the flavors of yogurt could be better. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danderism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in late July. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was good. A criticism would be the very small workout room - hot and stuffy. All in, I would recommend this Hotel for anyone looking in the Dekalb/Sycamore area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appalachiantrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sycamore
1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sycamore
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Sycamore
Quality Inn Sycamore
#3 of 4 in Sycamore
55 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - DeKalb (Near the University)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Sycamore
Motel 6 Sycamore
#4 of 4 in Sycamore
26 reviews
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites DeKalb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sycamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sycamore

Address: 1935 Dekalb Ave, Sycamore, IL 60178-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Sycamore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sycamore
Price Range: $108 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sycamore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Sycamore! Our hotel is only 5 minutes from Northern Illinois University and 10 minutes from the Convocation Center. We offer 69 freshly renovated rooms, two of which have 3 queen beds! These rooms are popular with families. All of our suites offer a microwave and refrigerator making them perfect for extended stays. Hauser Ross and Kishwaukee Community Hospital are within one mile of the hotel. We are a short distance from Monsanto, 3M, Target Distribution Center and Engineered Storage Products. We are an hour and 19 minutes from Midway Airport and 1 hour from O'Hare Airport. We are close enough to Chicago for a day trip to the city but far enough away for you to enjoy DeKalb and Sycamore's small town charm.Come try our hot Smart Start Breakfast Bar! Whether you are visiting a family member at N.I.U or preparing for a meeting, you will leave the Holiday Inn Express in Sycamore feeling ready, refreshed and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sycamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sycamore Dekalb Hotel Sycamore
Holiday Inn Sycamore
Sycamore Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing