We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a good choice”

Portillo's Hot Dogs
Ranked #3 of 70 Restaurants in Sycamore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere and excellent food. Ate in for lunch and had the Big Beef sandwich with sweet peppers and fries. Washed it down with a chocolate shake. It was all so good we went through the drive-thru for dinner and got the same thing again. They were happy to separate the beef from the bread as we were saving it for later. Long wait at the drive-thru but it's worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way more than hot dogs”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had the Combo Chicago Beef and Italian Sausage which is available with or without peppers. The french fries were crinkle cut, golden brown, and plentiful. Don't miss the chocolate cake!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bluesbaby_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gourmet Hotdogs”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was in the area for business and got a carry-out from Portillo's for dinner. My Chicago-style hotdog was really good, but the french fries were fantastic!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyCurlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always the best”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Clean, courteous and good tasting fast food. They never disappoint us. Every time we are in Illinois it is part of our list of "To Dos"

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandersWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Welcome Home”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After living in Chicago all our lives, my wife and I moved to a suburb of Charlotte. One of the main things we crave from Chicago is the great steamed hot dog on a poppy seed bun. We also crave a good Chicago beef sandwich.
Portillo's met and exceeded what our taste buds had been yearning for. The restaurant is high volume, good quality and great staff. Even with the high lunch volume the overall building and grounds were clean. As soon as someone left a table a cleaning person cleaned up and it was ready for the next customer. Every time we return to visit Chicago Portillo's is a first stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's Hot Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Portillo's Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing