We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back in History”

PJ's Courthouse Tavern and Grille
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Sycamore
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Rochelle, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Going back in History”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Fun Bar/Grille. Across from the Court House and the restaurant has pictures of the court house in earlier days. The staff treats you like family. The food is great-the onion ring appetizer is very good. I have been coming here for 5 years and have never had a bad meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GmaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The place has a great atmosphere simple but great food, service was helpful and friendly. This is a great place to unwind try it

Helpful?
Thank brodgers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An institution”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I've been going to this place for the past 16 years and its a good bar with good food and a local institution. The snooty folks from Heron Creek subdivision muck up the place from time to time but when they're not around it's great. Get the wings, buffalo chicken dip, burgers, salads are good, I really can't fine one thing that sucks on the menu. They have improved the beer selection which is GREAT, especially the Hacker Pshorr. If it's cold outside, get the glug if they have it--WOW!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank imanaveragejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Third visit go PJ's and it won't be the last. The salad's are huge and you will enjoy the atmosphere. Great Food!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Their steak hoagie can't be beat!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We live more than an hour away, but anytime we are in the area we stop at PJ's for their hoagie. It is the best sandwich around...a generously-sized steak patty on garlic bread with mozarella, grilled onions and mushrooms. Yumm!! It's making me hungry just thinking about it again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodlifer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ's Courthouse Tavern and Grille also viewed

 

Been to PJ's Courthouse Tavern and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing