We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing out on a huge opportunity!”
Review of Taxco Restaurant

Taxco Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Sycamore
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Missing out on a huge opportunity!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Taxco is the only Mexican in Sycamore so they are typically busy.

Walking in the place is run down and appears dirty.

They do make tortillas fresh and have a great selection of Tequila. Most people are here to eat so I could care less.

Chips and Salsa are bland.

Food is ok but not great a portions are small.

If you live in Sycamore you eat here because the only other choice is Taco Bell.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stansycamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun place with great food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were very glad we arrived relatively early (about 6:00) on a Friday evening because it very rapidly filled up. The wait staff were attentive and the food delicious. The menu was varied and offered both traditional as well as special foods. I had a delicious "regular" margarita, Beer and coke were the selections of the others. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth another try”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tortillas are made fresh and you can tell, salsa was spicy like I like it, and food portions were plenty. I was disappointed they didn’t have any fish tacos on the menu because that’s what I was looking for. Instead, I ordered the camarones rancheros to try something new. The butterfly shrimp were smothered in a tomato-based sauce without the tails removed so it wasn’t the easiest to consume, and while the sauce was good (not great), it didn’t taste Mexican to me. There was also an odd addition of potato salad, which I feel should be removed from the dish entirely; it already comes with the usual beans or rice and typical side salad of guac, sour cream and shredded lettuce. My date ordered the cilantro chicken as suggested by our delightful waiter and while content with his choice, he was not all that impressed. I would give this place another shot and try something different because of the ambience/seating at the bar, the chips and salsa were notable, and the service was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alicia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican Food in the Midwest...”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Mexican food was very good and plentiful. It tastes more authentic than most Mexican restaurants (at least in this part of the country) - very flavorful and appropriately spicy (there are options for people who like their food from mild to very hot). The wait-staff was friendly and helpful (making excellent suggestions for the best menu options) and the service was very prompt. We selected two of the seafood (shrimp) dishes and both were excellent (although there was far more food than most people can eat - at least for lunch). I recommend this restaurant for those looking for Mexican food in this region.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longtimetravelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More authentic”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I won't pretend to be any kind of connoisseur of authentic Mexican food...or tequila, but I know that this place has good food, and over 100 choices when it comes to tequila. Prices are very reasonable, and there is a cute little lady who makes fresh guac tableside to your specifications if you order it. Free chips and salsa is always nice. Many menu choices...my fave are the combo plates--a little of everything. I have been here many times. the ambiance is not amazing...you can certainly tell that the building is older and the floors are sloped depending on what area you are in, but go for a casual outing and good food, and start tasting tequila!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FarmGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taxco Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Taxco Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing