We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts”
Review of TARA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TARA Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Both Julian and Brom are wonderful hosts who made us feel extremely welcome during our stay. Not only were we picked up but Julian very kindly made a quick stop for us at this museum and insisted that we entered to take a quick glance. Tara is filled with art pieces which add a beautiful touch to the guest house. The breakfast served is AMAZING. From eggs ben to sauteed mushrooms to freshly squeezed juice, the breakfast menu was endless. We could not stomach lunch after breakfast but no one's complaining.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Piao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 408 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hosts Julian and Brom welcomed us into their beautiful old home and were a big part of making our recent trip to Sydney wonderful. Yes it's well located; the airport transfers are fantastic (and Julian even dropped me at a meeting as I'd got my times mixed up); the house and gardens are full of art and beautiful furniture, books and curios; the breakfast is a feast to behold - truly second to none! But beyond all these attributes the hosts' warmth and generosity of spirit set the whole experience apart, from sharing tales of their considerable adventures over a glass of wine in the garden, precious old books from their library, and generally creating a convivial environment. Thanks so much Julian and Brom -Tara will definitely be our preferred place to stay in Sydney in future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlechang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Tara from January 23-27. Julian met us at the airport and transported us to the B & B where, after an initial orientation, we were shown to a spacious room. After unpacking and getting settled we met Brom who proceeded to give us very helpful and detailed information about Sydney and the local neighborhood. The breakfast was fantastic (the best we've ever had at a B & B) and was provided in a communal setting that encouraged interaction among the host and guests. At the end of our visit Julian transported us to the train station for our journey to the Blue Mountains. All in all, a most delightful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank durangoan444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent three days at Tara en route home to Toronto after three weeks in New Zealand. We could not have chosen better. We arrived along with the outer edges of Cyclone Oswald, so the first two days featured heavy rain and high winds. Julian not only picked us up at the airport, but then drove us all the way downtown for the Sydney Architecture Walk that we had booked. And then, since we had not yet gotten Brom's orientation briefing on Sydney transit, he came back downtown to pick us up after the walk. Such service! We loved Tara. We had the downstairs front suite, which gave us plenty of room to spread out and repack for the flight home. The room was quiet despite fronting onto the street. The breakfasts were extraordinary, wonderfully tasty and varied; also voluminous enough to get you through to dinner with only a small snack during the day. Brom's annotated map of the city and the key bus routes was a huge help. On the one good weather day, we took her advice and took the ferry to Watson Bay, saw the huge breakers at the harbour entrance, took the bus to Bondi and walked the coastal path to Coogee and the bus home. Loved the nearby Turkish restaurant and the gelato place on the opposite corner. Bottom line: We'll be back to Sydney and back to Tara, soon we hope.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EllBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staying at Tara Guest House is like staying with good friends. Brom and Julian are the greatest hosts. Forget that they make you the greatest breakfast (I really miss those mushrooms!), but the best part is that when enjoying breakfast, Brom and Julian will sit with the group and chat about our day, our plans, their plans and help with ideas to plan your day. They were so helpful with everything. When we were to leave to drive to Melbourne, Brom and Julian were very concerned about our drive due to the fires and suggested we stay another night. We did and good thing, the road was closed. They were truly looking out for us. From the moment we met them, I knew we made the right choice. Brom helped my husband with golf reservations, Julian drove us to a pickup stop for a tour, we dined at their favorite Italian restaurant, which by the way was outstanding! The accommodations were great, very clean and comfortable. Last but not least....you get to play ball with Oscar the wonder dog. A beautiful border collie...what a love he his! If you go to Sydney make sure you stay at Tara.

Room Tip: We stay upstairs in the gallery room. Great room with seating area and private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had the "gallery" room en suite upstairs which was very satisfactory.
It did not have air-conditioning but had a fan; thankfully the temperature was such that neither was required.

Our hosts, Julian and Brom, were delightful - convivial, considerate and very hospitable.
The breakfasts were veritable "feasts" and the conversation around the table was most welcome - a great way to share experiences with fellow travelers and to pick up hints about places to go and see.

Public transport close-by is plentiful. We used the train extensively and the nearest station, Newtown, is less than a "gentle" ten-minute walk from the guesthouse.
We were collected from and dropped back to the airport after our stay there - this adds considerable value to the experience.

The one major downside was the noise level in the room from the traffic on the very busy road outside and from aircraft approching & taking off from the airport which is close-by.
We used ear plugs which we had from a couple of long haul flights we had undertaken on this trip and they were essential to get a nights sleep.
Julian mentioned that they are exploring options for double-glazing in the house and this will certainly make a huge difference if it happens.

Oveall, I would describe the stay there as "reasonable" value for money.
The nightly rate was at the top end of what we have paid on our trip to Australia and New Zealand and we have had much better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squirejulian, Owner at TARA Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We sincerely thank these guests for taking the time to write this review – we read with gratitude their positive comments about most of their experience and note their acknowledgement that the free pick up and drop off service was appreciated as having added value to their stay.


We have addressed the noise issue in previous responses. As noted on the front page of our website, we point out clearly that we are not the quietest place in the world and that our location in being so close to the city and the airport, brings with it a degree of noise. I have in fact been moved to respond to this review by guests who I have just driven to the airport this morning - in conversation it came up that they had been totally unaffected by the same noise that so alarms some of our guests. This confirmed to me that everyone is different – some of us, particularly those from very quiet locations, can’t stand any noise while others acclimatise to it in short order. You know best in which camp you sit.


We thoroughly sympathise with and appreciate the frustration being felt by some guests when confronted by Australia’s currently high rates of currency exchange – as proprietors of a bed and breakfast establishment in one of the most expensive cities in the world, we would far prefer rates to be US$0.75 to A$1.00 as they were, only 3 years ago! I’m afraid, however, that this issue is out of our hands! One man’s bargain is another's extravagance.

Julian Rapley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

From being collected at the airport through to being dropped off again on the hottest day of the year, Julian & Bron couldn't have been more accommodating and generous hosts.
Firstly I need to mention the incredible breakfast, more and more delicious, fresh food kept arriving and as all the guests eat together, the breakfasts were a hearty, friendly generous start to the day, with the caveat that breakfast is served at 8.30. I had a simple breakfast the mornings that I was unable to join in the feast.
The house itself is a delight.. full of books, art work and generous rooms. My bedroom was spotless and made available to me more or less as soon as I had arrived ) even though I was on an early flight into Sydney) , despite having no air con, my room was cool and there was use of a fan, though I didn't feel very safe having the windows open being on the ground floor in an area described as up & coming.... it hasn't quite got there yet...
I would certainly stay there again, but would request an upstairs room and I would also bring ear plugs. The house is on a main road and is on the flight path. I would also bring shower gel, as this isn't provided.
Lastly I need to mention Oscar, the delightful border collie. he is an integral part of the experience and is friendly and well trained, but if you don't like dogs, then maybe this place isn't for you

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enmore
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
492 reviews
Hotel Challis
#49 of 179 in Sydney
725 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Address: 13 Edgeware Rd, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price Range: $145 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing