We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the wilderness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Stockton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockton
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A gem in the wilderness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Our stay here was one of the best hotel stays we've had. After driving through heavy rain in Indiana, we arrived at the Country Inn and Suites in Stockton to beautiful sunshine and a gorgeous view of a rustling corn field out our hotel window. (The hotel is surrounded by corn fields.) We were able to open the windows all the way and listen to the breeze in the corn. It was incredibly peaceful!

Breakfast was good. We had scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, bacon, and the other standard fare you get with a complimentary breakfast.

The staff was friendly, and the cookies at the front desk were good. :)

The only drawbacks were that there were many families with kids at the hotel, who monopolized the pool. Also, the doors in this hotel chain are very heavy and shake the whole floor when they open and close. We also found numerous dead ladybugs between the windows and the screen. They were dead, so they weren't a nuisance, but it was a little gross.

If you're traveling U.S. Rte. 20 through northwest Illinois, this is definitely the place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_n_Rich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    35
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
54
46
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
367 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed for two nights in the Country Inn & Suites in Stockton. The staff is exceptionally friendly and efficient, and the hotel is clean and pleasant. We were in the area to explore nearby Apple River Canyon State Park, Mississippi Palisades State Park, and the Galena area and this hotel was perfect for that purpose. It is much cheaper than staying in Galena and you don't have to deal with the summer traffic that clogs Galena roads. The pros are the price, the wide open spaces, and the extremely pleasant staff. The cons are the lack of good restaurants in the area. Breakfast was predictable...nothing special but it gets you going in the morning. Hi speed internet worked without a hitch and parking is free.

The restaurant just down the street, Autry's (Autrie's?) was overpriced. We ordered the special, prime rib, for $16.95. The steak was cooked according to our request but the cut was just not good. Vegetables were either canned or frozen and reheated and the wine had been aging for a long, long time in an open bottle. Not good, and we're not very picky. The staff was very friendly, though, and that helped make the experience tolerable. Next time I would order a pasta dish and not try to make it a "fine dining" experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

The people at the desk were warm and friendly.
The room was immaculate. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was big. The pool and jacuzzi area were nice. The continental breakfast had hot waffles and biscuits and gravy. Not bad for free!

We were traveling through to Galena and then Wisconsin, and found this little hotel on the web for a cheap price. I'm glad we did!

There are not many restaurants in the immediate area, so be aware of that.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban_Hillbillly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

We have just returned from a 3-day stay at the Country Inn celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary - we booked 8 rooms to accommodate our family of 26 - our 6 children with their families - youngest grandchild 7 - The staff was outstanding and friendly - our rooms were waiting for us - we booked a variety - handicapped, dog friendly, children suites, all were clean. all were correct - the rates were very reasonably, the pool room was clean, the breakfast room was well stocked, very well maintained and very comfortable. Never saw a frown or heard a harsh word from any of the staff - They had a wonderful wrap-around porch with comfortable furniture which turned out to be a meeting place for us - a great place to relax after a day spend in Galena - They offered to mail letters, pick up "take-out" if we so desired - this was one of the few places where the motel did live up to their brochures - the motel is fairly new and well maintained - I do recommend it -

  • Liked — The variety offered - the smaller number ofrooms - more family friendly -
  • Disliked — we could have used more suites - but the rooms werelarge enough - we really did not spend much time in the roms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith2Niles_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2004

I stayed here the summer of 2003 for my class reunion. The hotel was brand new, very clean and the staff was great. There'd been a big storm the night before and the power had been out for a long time so they were running late on checking people out but, even so, I was able to check in before the normal check-in time.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
21.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
23.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
23.5 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
19.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Freeport
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport
Hampton Inn Freeport
#1 of 7 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Stockton

Property: Country Inn & Suites Stockton
Address: 200 Dillon Ave, Stockton, IL 61085-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Stockton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Stockton
Country Inn & Suites Stockton Hotel Stockton
Country Inn Stockton
Stockton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing