We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites Stockton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country Inn & Suites Stockton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockton
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was our second trip to the Country Inn & Suites in Stockton. The location is great in relation to Galena and Apple River Canyon. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly. Check-in was quick and easy and I can't say enough about the cleanliness of this hotel. Everything was immaculate. The lobby, the breakfast area, and our room were all spotless.

My family enjoyed the pool...had it completely to ourselves on Friday afternoon. The breakfast was good and provided lots of healthy choices including no-fat yogurt, cereal, fruit, and skim milk. They also offer typical breakfast selections including eggs, sausage, muffins, donuts, etc.

The family suite is perfect for traveling with kids. Two twin beds in a separate bedroom, with their own TV and a King size bed in the outer room. I don't know why more hotels don't offer this set-up because it is perfect for a family of 4! My 10 and 11 year old sons were so grateful to not have to sleep on a pullout!

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The family suite has the perfect setup for a family of 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoVacation4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    34
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
54
46
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

I travel frequently in the Midwest and find myself staying at Country Inns often, almost by default. The Stockton property is one of their best. The hotel is now a few years old but it still looks new, it's always clean, and the owners and employees are very hands-on. Added bonus: just a block away is a very good Italian restaurant (pizza, pasta, calzone, steaks) named Antny's. The combination makes makes for a nice overnight stay in this little town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheRoadAgain1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Our stay here was one of the best hotel stays we've had. After driving through heavy rain in Indiana, we arrived at the Country Inn and Suites in Stockton to beautiful sunshine and a gorgeous view of a rustling corn field out our hotel window. (The hotel is surrounded by corn fields.) We were able to open the windows all the way and listen to the breeze in the corn. It was incredibly peaceful!

Breakfast was good. We had scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, bacon, and the other standard fare you get with a complimentary breakfast.

The staff was friendly, and the cookies at the front desk were good. :)

The only drawbacks were that there were many families with kids at the hotel, who monopolized the pool. Also, the doors in this hotel chain are very heavy and shake the whole floor when they open and close. We also found numerous dead ladybugs between the windows and the screen. They were dead, so they weren't a nuisance, but it was a little gross.

If you're traveling U.S. Rte. 20 through northwest Illinois, this is definitely the place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_n_Rich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
368 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed for two nights in the Country Inn & Suites in Stockton. The staff is exceptionally friendly and efficient, and the hotel is clean and pleasant. We were in the area to explore nearby Apple River Canyon State Park, Mississippi Palisades State Park, and the Galena area and this hotel was perfect for that purpose. It is much cheaper than staying in Galena and you don't have to deal with the summer traffic that clogs Galena roads. The pros are the price, the wide open spaces, and the extremely pleasant staff. The cons are the lack of good restaurants in the area. Breakfast was predictable...nothing special but it gets you going in the morning. Hi speed internet worked without a hitch and parking is free.

The restaurant just down the street, Autry's (Autrie's?) was overpriced. We ordered the special, prime rib, for $16.95. The steak was cooked according to our request but the cut was just not good. Vegetables were either canned or frozen and reheated and the wine had been aging for a long, long time in an open bottle. Not good, and we're not very picky. The staff was very friendly, though, and that helped make the experience tolerable. Next time I would order a pasta dish and not try to make it a "fine dining" experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

The people at the desk were warm and friendly.
The room was immaculate. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was big. The pool and jacuzzi area were nice. The continental breakfast had hot waffles and biscuits and gravy. Not bad for free!

We were traveling through to Galena and then Wisconsin, and found this little hotel on the web for a cheap price. I'm glad we did!

There are not many restaurants in the immediate area, so be aware of that.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban_Hillbillly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

We have just returned from a 3-day stay at the Country Inn celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary - we booked 8 rooms to accommodate our family of 26 - our 6 children with their families - youngest grandchild 7 - The staff was outstanding and friendly - our rooms were waiting for us - we booked a variety - handicapped, dog friendly, children suites, all were clean. all were correct - the rates were very reasonably, the pool room was clean, the breakfast room was well stocked, very well maintained and very comfortable. Never saw a frown or heard a harsh word from any of the staff - They had a wonderful wrap-around porch with comfortable furniture which turned out to be a meeting place for us - a great place to relax after a day spend in Galena - They offered to mail letters, pick up "take-out" if we so desired - this was one of the few places where the motel did live up to their brochures - the motel is fairly new and well maintained - I do recommend it -

  • Liked — The variety offered - the smaller number ofrooms - more family friendly -
  • Disliked — we could have used more suites - but the rooms werelarge enough - we really did not spend much time in the roms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith2Niles_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2004

I stayed here the summer of 2003 for my class reunion. The hotel was brand new, very clean and the staff was great. There'd been a big storm the night before and the power had been out for a long time so they were running late on checking people out but, even so, I was able to check in before the normal check-in time.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
23.4 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
19.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Freeport
22.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
19.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Freeport
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport
Hampton Inn Freeport
#1 of 8 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Stockton

Property: Country Inn & Suites Stockton
Address: 200 Dillon Ave, Stockton, IL 61085-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Stockton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Stockton
Country Inn & Suites Stockton Hotel Stockton
Country Inn Stockton
Stockton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing