We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful horses, enjoyable tour!

We stopped here as it was on our way back to Dublin and we love horses. There is a large parking... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
MT1
,
Aurora, Colorado
Walking Guided Tour

Our guide led our group around the grounds, providing information about various stops along the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Donna B
,
Appleton, Wisconsin
Read all 1,285 reviews
  
Reviews (1,285)
Filter reviews
1,225 results
Traveler rating
832
301
60
22
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
832
301
60
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden guided tour beautiful grounds beautiful place to visit interesting place well worth the visit face painting lovely walk nice cafe sunny day cakes great family day on site lovely place coffee shop kildare town horse breeding
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,225 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here as it was on our way back to Dublin and we love horses. There is a large parking area a short walk from the visitors center/gift shop/cafeteria. I believe we paid 9.5 euro each for the senior rate and we took a tour with Andy, who was excellent. The tour lasted about 45 minutes and Andy talked about the history of the farm, then took us by the stables, the pastures where several of the studs were located, explained the breeding process used, and then took us by a pasture where some of the colts and retired horses were located.

The tour was wonderful, Andy was awesome, and we totally enjoyed our 45 minutes. The grounds are beautiful even though we did not spend time looking around the gardens.

There is a gift shop and cafeteria where you buy your tickets. We did have a bite in the cafeteria while we were waiting for the tour to start and the food was good. I would certainly recommend a visit here if you are in the area and enjoy horses.

Thank MT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our guide led our group around the grounds, providing information about various stops along the way. Some of the world’s best stallions and race horses are found here. They are bred with mares from around the world. This service is a lucrative part of the business. After having tea and scones in the restaurant, we walked through the beautiful Japanese Tea Garden. This primarily outdoor experience was very enjoyable.

1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good day out. Both Japanese and Irish gardens. Tour of stud very informative. Went on a cold November day, but still good. Would be brilliant on a nice summer day.

Thank TMC825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You could easily pass most of the day here, we seem to find new paths to follow every time we visit. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and well worth a wander. Our girls took part in the pony riding and had their faces painted for Halloween last weekend. Lovely atmosphere and great effort made by the staff. The fairy trail is a great addition and lovely to see and pet the horses on the way back to the all important playground.

Thank spidersankles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a terrific stop where we a choice between a couple of sights. We're glad we went here. Walking the paths was a welcome bit of outdoor activity and we really enjoyed the beautiful horses and scenery including the Oriental Garden.

Thank J1329NEgaryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Simply beautiful spot, and the sun shone down from the heavens. Lovely meandering walkways to spend as little or as long as you like. Gorgeous scenery for the senses, ponds and waterfalls, fairy doors with the tiniest of fairy clothes hung on the line. Majestic willow trees grace these gardens with timeless beauty. Spy the horses trotting on the greenest of landscape. A most serene place to admire nature at its finest!

1  Thank honestreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A really good visit, I'm not all that interested in all things equine but this filled an afternoon, especially the Japanese and "fairy" Irish gardens. Andy was a great guide, very knowledgeable not just about the Stud. Good delivery and length of tour right. The Irish gardens are an interesting area for the small persons. The Café/eaterie has tasty offerings at very reasonable prices. I enjoyed my visit, found it absorbing.

Thank john_bradley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We weren’t sure what to expect with this tour but we’re incredibly impressed with the gardens. Whether you are into race horses or not, it is a lovely way to spend an hour on the tour of the National Stud and you could easily spend an hour or more in the gardens. There is a great cafeteria onsite which had the best sandwiches I have ever seen as well as hot lunches and salads. Our guide Paul was super animated and funny with lots of knowledge of the horse industry and the area. An easy drive outside of Dublin it you are looking for a quiet escape.

1  Thank U8070COamandak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly a huge thanks to Paul our tour guide for his scintillating humour & knowledge that spilled from his mouth while walking backwards through the National Stud! No matter the weather it was well worth hearing about Irish Racing history, the care of these beautiful creatures & what makes this place tick. Then a leisurely wander through the Japanese Gardens with all the autumnal colours. Beware slippery wet stone paths. No pets allowed obviously. Clean cafe with good selection of foods. Perfect day to lighten ones mood if Paul on duty!!!!

1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Today I did a tour of The National Stud at Kildare with a couple from Canada. We were lucky to be guided by the extremely knowledgeable and energetic Paul. He's a great guide and his enthusiasm and passion flow out. The tour is very interesting and really worth doing.
It was great to visit the legends in their paddock and to see the stallions.
All of the staff are from "Horsey backgrounds" and are a credit to the place.

1  Thank Z3488CQpaulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews