We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal and service”
Review of Candlelight Inn

Candlelight Inn
Ranked #7 of 58 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and service”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had a large family gathering with the confusion that comes with having a gathering of 30 people. The staf was patient and efficient in taking orders and delivering food quickly - esepcially for the young children in the group. The fish was tender and well prepared. The steak was seasoned and grilled exactly as ordered, whcih is always a challenge in a large group. The Chicken George was as we all remembered, The servings were substantial and required several boxes to take home leftovers. As our group was winding down, another large group was arriving, so the staff was going to have a busy evening. Excellent place, asnd we always return when in town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
486 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Way Overpriced and Unexciting Food!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I can't believe that this restaurant has gotten such great reviews. The only thing it has going for it is the service. The food is horrible. I had cole slaw that was okay, but their fried mushrooms are bland and served with no dipping sauce, My coconut shrimp was encrusted with burned coconut and served with a sauce way too sweet and bland fries. My wife's salmon was undercooked and drenched in an indeterminable creamy sauce. This was $50!!!!!! And, it gave me horrible stomach issues!

Other members of my party had $25+ steaks that had no taste, chicken strips for $15, and other just as ridiculously priced entrees.

Avoid at all costs!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Sterling”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Nice little restaurant and bar. Try the specialty fried chicken. Has a more rice flour based crust that is lighter and soaks up the sauces better. We had sweet and sour, original with Jan’s sauce (I think that’s the name, could be wrong, but it’s the house dipping sauce, very sweet), and buffalo. Definitely worth a lunch if you find yourself in Sterling IL.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very tasty!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Candlelight Inn is a regional favorite! They have restaurants in Rock Falls, Sterling, and Clinton, IA. They are famous for their Chicken George (battered chicken strips with 'Jan' sauce) Jan sauce is sweet and not for diabetics! I like the grilled salmon with drawn butter and steamed vegetables.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

One of our favorite places to eat. Known for "Chicken George" or fried chicken strips but they also offer many healthier options.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iheartmexico_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candlelight Inn also viewed

 

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing