We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its cheap so what more do you expect?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Lamb Hotel

The Old Lamb Hotel
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Old Lamb Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Theale B&B and Inns
Totnes
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Its cheap so what more do you expect?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

OK, so the room is small, the wallpaper leaves some room for improvement and it looks like an accommodation block from a Butlin's holiday camp Circa 1950.

But it was comfortable and not overly noisy. The shower room was good and had a decent shower. Breakfast was more than we expected, well cooked and exactly as we asked for it to be. The staff while not overly friendly were OK.

And it cost £50 for the two of us. Bit of a bargain really. We stayed at others during our trip that cost more and were not as good as the Old Lamb

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
1
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

i was very disappointed to stay at this hotel overnight, it was a good job it was only the one night. it reads as a very nice old hotel, but is actually very basic and the rooms are in like a chalet type building and the rooms are very small indeed. the hotel staff or owners were totally lacking in basic social inter communication and didnt even ask the nature of our stay or if we had enjoyed it or anything else for that matter. the atmosphere is cold and unwelcoming. breakfast was passable and when you have said that you have said it all....

Room Tip: stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinekir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Theale hotels

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here a couple of nights ago, it is actually in Theale nr. Reading and right off the M4. I have marked it as average but this is maybe unfair, Good is a better desciption because the rate here is very reasonable and they serve an excellent breakfast in the quaintist little breakfast room, the place dates back to 1427. The rooms are very clean, the one we stayed in was a twin with a clean modern, nicely tiled shower room. The rooms are quiet small and the twin beds are only 2' 6" size but having said that, there was absolutely nothing to complain about, all you need for an overnight stay, coffee/tea tray, hairdryer and a TV, shampoo etc. all supplied. There is no bar in the Old Lamb but should you want to go for a drink there is a pub over the road and another just a short distance up the road. I will go back again when in this area.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty much the same, the twins are on the upper level. (converted stable block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is conveniently situated near Theal town centre. The hotel itself is a little dated but very clean and well maintained. The rooms are small with a modern en suite, flat screen tv with dvd player and also has tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served in the main building with a choice of full english breakfast or cereal and tea, coffee and juice the food is excellent !
Theal town centre itself as everything that you may need including a chemist, post office, various food outlets, shops and a few traditional pubs. In my opinion the best pub in the town which I feel also serves the best food is The Old Bull (highly recommend the Bull Burger).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darrylpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night en route across the country with a friend. Had a twin room up a single flight of stairs. Room clean, complimentary shower gel and shampoo, use of hairdryer, freeview tv with dvd player, comfy beds, clean bedding. Breakfast was full english (except hash browns) and very tasty. Not much parking so had to park on road, but wasn't a problem. Close to several pubs and shops. Staff not particularly cheerful but we did arrive at 8.45 when check in is before 9.00pm!
All in all very good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IceGemzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

We arrived and the man who booked us in was very unfriendly, we were in the block in the back. The rooms were small but didnt matter as just a one night stay. The room was really dirty, in the bottom of the drssing table/desk drawer it was crammed ful of old newspapers from previous occupants, this had been so full up they overspilt into the next drawer up, some were going back to June!! The dado rails, skirting boards, coffee/tea tray & even the saucers were dusty!! The bedding was marked also. The bathroom seemed ok, but after the dirtyness of the room we didnt hang about in the morning. Breakfast wasnt on offer as they dont open at weekends??!! Room rate was £50, which i thought after seeing the room was far too high!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stayed here recently, Just a good value clean hotel.
The rooms are quite small but very clean and well equiped. Nice en suite shower room.

Good value for Reading, my room was £50 inc full English Breakfast and VAT.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trigger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Theale
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pincents Manor Hotel
Pincents Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Calcot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading West
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound
4.0 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Lamb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lamb Hotel

Property: The Old Lamb Hotel
Address: 18-20 Church Street, Theale, Reading RG7 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Theale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Theale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Lamb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing