We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for a week away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green)
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grazeley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet, rural location combined with easy access to the main road and motorway network within easy reach of local businesses and attractions. It was a great place for myself and my wife to stay whilst our house was undergoing major works. The reception staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. They made us feel at home away from home. The room was clean and the bed was huge and very comfortable for a great nights sleep.

The food is provided by the pub next door. The breakfast is all you can eat with an excellent selection of food on offer. We had dinner there each evening and never got bored as the menu offers a wide selection of dishes. The portions are huge and the quality of the food excellent. One downside is that the dinner service was slow on some evenings with a long wait between courses.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and heartily recommend it.

One thing to be aware of is the hotel can be difficult to find if using a TomTom Satnav because it tries to take you around a non-existent roundabout which is actually a set of traffic lights. Ignore the instruction at that point and instead go to the next set of traffic lights and turn right then follow signs to The Old Bell. It will be a lot quicker!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green), responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Itravel104,

Thanks for your kind words and feedback, especially about the TomTom directions which can take you a long way round to our hotel if followed, we appreciate you pointing this out. Our staff do the best we can to make you feel as welcome and comfortable as possible whilst you are staying with us. I am glad we were able to make your ordeal over your house more bearable whilst you were with us. I have passed your comments onto the staff at the Old Bell who asked me to thank you for your comments.

Regards
The Team
Premier Inn Reading South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 312 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

We frequently travel between Swansea and the London airports. After flying back from abroad, we like to stay in this particular Premier Inn. It's just 30 mins from Heathrow and 60 mins from Gatwick. It's perfect for breaking up the journey by providing a comfortable night fairly near to the airport and places us nearer to the M4, ready for the journey home next day.
Staff are usually extremely helpful and good food can be bought in the adjacent pub.

Room Tip: We find that staff are willing to move or adapt rooms accordingly at time of arrival.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Croftmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green), responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Croftmanic,

Thanks for your feedback. We are happy that you find our hotel to be in a convenient location for your frequent airport visits. As you know we are close to all major routes which makes it convenient for all types of trips. The team are pleased we were once again able to accommodate you and your requirements. We do our best to accommodate individual guests wishes for room type, including changing rooms if required. However it is better to make sure we are aware of any special requirements before your arrival as it is harder to change rooms around if we have a full hotel, which often we do! The team at the hotel and the pub next door look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are on your way home.

Regards
The Team
Premier Inn Reading South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed there 8th to 13th December on a business trip. Very nice hotel but what really made the trip was how friendly the staff were. Will be sure to stay here again if ever in the area. It's only a short drive from the south reading business parks but be sure to leave a couple extra minutes for rush hour traffic

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulOBrien77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green), responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear PaulOBrien77,

Many thanks for your nice comments and feedback. The team here always do their best to make our guests feel welcome and make it a home from home. We feel this is especially important for long stay guests. As the hotel is close to all the major routes there is inevitably rush hour traffic so thanks for pointing that out for our future guests benefit.

The team would love to welcome you back if you find yourself in the area again.

Regards
The Team
Premier Inn Reading South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a bit off the beaten track and as such was very quiet and peaceful during the night.
The staff were polite and attentive.
The rooms were about as quirky as a premier Inn gets due to the nature of the building. This did mean the bathroom was a little on the small side but had everything you needed.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank welsh_tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green), responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear welsh_tim,

Thanks for your kind words and comments. Guests are often surprised by our remote location although we are in easy reach of the M4 and other major road networks; the best of both worlds. It's good to have a quiet place to come back to after a hard day at work.

The bathrooms are all the same size, except for the disabled rooms where the bathrooms accommodate wheelchair access of course and I am glad you found it had everything you needed to make your stay comfortable.

If you are ever in the area again we would love to see you.

Regards
Premier Inn Team Reading South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were given a very warm welcome and everything was explained. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable, but the bed was a bit too hard. We thought the dinner at the restaurant was rather expensive for what it was, but the service was good. The hotel was quiet and pleasant, and convenient to where we wanted to stay, but quite hard to find as we arrived after dark.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green), responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Helen P,

Thanks for your kind words. The hotel staff do their best to make our guests feel welcome and to make sure they understand all of the services and facilities available to them during their stay at Reading South. Our housekeeping staff do their best to make sure the rooms are as clean and comfortable as possible for our guests and they want me to pass on their thanks to you for the comments you made about room cleanliness. Our beds are designed to be firm but comfortable and I am sorry it wasn't quite to your liking.

The menu at the Old Bell changed recently to include a good selection of food, and larger portions, which led to a slight increase in prices. Most guests appreciate the wider choice and larger portion sizes, however I will ensure your comments are fed back to the manager.

We are located in a rural location which our guests love because it is quiet but still within easy reach of Reading and the motorway network. We can be quite difficult to find as the road network has changed in the last 2 years so people with outdated GPS devices can sometimes be taken the long route around!

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon the next time you are in the area.

Regards
The Team
Premier Inn Reading South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My. 3 daughters and I spent a night here when up for a wedding. The hotel was immaculate, comfortable, and had everything you needed but the thing that stood out the most was the outstanding customer service that we received from Paula on reception. Nothing was too much trouble and she went the extra mile to ensure customer satisfaction. The lady cleaning our room, Melly, was equally friendly and helpful and this made for an extra special stay. If all hotels had staff like these then the customer care factor would be 5 star.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green), responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hello Sarah P.,

Many thanks for your kind words. We are so happy that you found the staff to be welcoming and that we made your stay the best it could be. Paula and Melly send their thanks to you and we all look forward to maybe seeing you back with us next time you are in the area. It gives us great satisfaction when guests leave us feeling brilliant!

All the best from

The Team
Premier Inn Reading South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

On first glance it was the same as any premier inn but once we got into our room we got a strong smell of urine, it then passed and we thought nothing of it. we didnt have two sets of towels for us to wash with (two person room), we then went to the restaurant over at the 'old bell inn' and it smelt musky and greasy and the food was to a poor standard, but barable.
Once back at the room again we could smell the stale smell again. The bathroom was full of mold and mucky.
Its all good saying if your not happy you get your stay free but when your company pays for your accomodation this isnt going to change anything for me and my stay, but we want be using this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberleyOpsMgr, Manager at Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green), responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Nick S.,

Thanks for your feedback I am sorry you felt you had a bad experience whilst staying with us. If you had told us about the probems you were having during your stay we would have moved you to another room. We always keep spare towels at reception, so again we could have supplied an extra set of towels quite easily.

You have to bear in mind that our hotel is situated in a very rural location. As a result the hotel uses a septic tank which can sometimes give off a slight odour. This would probably have been the smell you encountered. We do everything possible to limit the inconvenience of the tank to our guests including using chemicals in all bedroom toilets everytime they are cleaned, and having the tank regularly maintained. The bathrooms are cleaned to our stringent standards and any maintenance issues reported and dealt with.

Our housekeeping staff go out of their way to make sure the rooms are as clean as they can be before each guest arrives, as can be seen from the many positive comments about room cleanliness.

The pub next door is run by a different company who we partner with to provide our breakfast and dinner service. The staff of The Old Bell are reviewing their environment and levels of service and wanted me to pass on their apologies.

Once again I am sorry you felt our usual service was not up to the standard you expected.

Regards
The Team
Premier Inn Reading South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grazeley
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,957 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound
2.2 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green)

Address: The Old Bell At Grazeley Green Goring Lane | Grazeley Green, Grazeley, Wokingham RG7 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Grazeley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grazeley
Price Range: $64 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green) 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Reading South ticks all the boxes. Close to the M4 and M3, just down the road from Reading and Basingstoke, and set in a quiet, rural location. Check, check and check. You're well placed for many local wedding venues. The Madejski Stadium is a short drive away. For family days out, head to Wellington Country Park or Highclere Castle, the set of Downton Abbey. Our friendly team will help you enjoy your stay to the full and our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will have you relaxing into the land of nod in no time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Reading South (Grazeley Green) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading South Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing