We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly with efficient service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swallowfield
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly with efficient service”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Everything was absolutely fine. The room was clean and fairly spacious. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast and all were very acceptable. There is a nice walk along the river straight from the hotel. Our dog did pick up something on the walk that we thought irritated her feet but after cleansing with water she soon recovered.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    32
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
40
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
windsor
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

My Daughter Had Her
WEDDING Here We Could Not Have Wish For More From The Moment We Arrived Till We Left After BREAKFAST We Had 5 Star TREATMENT . Excellent Thank you so much for making are day so special x

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

The building is beautiful, and the room was reasonably attractive, but it was overpriced. The bed was what we'd call a double in the States, and not very comfortable. The dining room - for dinner and breakfast - was very good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2009

5 of us stayed here on business, we usually use a more central Reading hotel but were recommended this by the local guy and we were very happy indeed. Easy to get to with free parking and very pleasant surroundings. We ate in for 2 nights and the food was very good. A few pubs nearby were recommended and were nice country style places. My room was very spacious, it is nice to stay in a hotel that is not a faceless corporate box.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis1888
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

I have stayed in several faceless, "corporate" hotels in the Reading area, but the Mill House, although quite small stands above them, not only for personal service, but for such a reasonable price.

I booked a double room (No.5, if I remember) and it was a good size, and very clean! The food in the hotel is a cut above what you would expect at bigger hotels, and the service although personable is not over-bearing.

This is a place I will be returning to whenever I have to stay in the area.

The only thing I would feel guarded about was, it is quite clear that the gardens of the Mill House is used extensively for wedding receptions, the large marquee is a giveaway, and I think it could get quite noisy if you stayed there during a wedding, but I am certain on those nights the Hotel is probably booked full of guests anyway!

  • Liked — Personal service and the good sized and clean room.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Otis1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We stayed for one night in May this year after a wedding reception.

The hotel & staff were great! The reception was perfect as the grounds surrounding the hotel are beautiful.

Our room was up in the attic & had everything we could have needed. The weather at the time was really hot & there wasn't any air con but someone had put a fan in the room & we could sleep with the window open as it was so quiet.

The food at the reception & breakfast the next morning were fantastic.

The staff seemed inexhaustable as they stayed up looking after the last guest (think it was about 3am) & they were back to serve breakfast at 8am.

Excellent!!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff...homely feel
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2006

We didn't stay here but my father and mother had a wedding reception here. The Gardens outside were absoulutely beautiful. THe meals were served quickly at the speed we wanted it to go. THe meals were presented poshly and the menu was different from anyother place we had been to. There are childrens things to eat (sausages and chicken nuggets.) Inside was also absoulutely beautiful aswell.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swallowfield
6.1 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
557 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
4.5 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,920 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
534 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Basingstoke Road, Swallowfield, Wokingham RG7 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Swallowfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swallowfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing