We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby Wedding Celebrations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swallowfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ruby Wedding Celebrations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Mill House and last weekend we returned to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. We had the most wonderful time. The food was delicious, the weather was perfect which allowed us to take full advantage of the beautiful garden. Staff were brilliant & very friendly, We could not have asked for more. It meant so much to us to return & absolutely loved every minute. Thank you to you all for making our day so special, it was very much appreciated.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 1951Fearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    31
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
37
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding, the staff were very friendly and helpful & the setting by the river lovely on a sunny day. The room also was of good size and nicely laid out, would have preferred a few more bathroom amenities (was a bit spartan) and the road noise was a little noisy at times.
Had dinner in evening also, food was ok, but lacked sometimes attention to detail eg the sparkling wine ( Cava) was not as per the menu but actually a local supermarket brand, and no adjustment was made to bill even after discussion. Also other tables ordered post ours & yet were served first. However overall not a cheap stay but quite pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazzAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed there last night due to works going on at our house. They were very friendly, and even dealt with my over excited 5 year old with grace :) The room was lovely, and there was a fan in it which helped with the hot weather. We had dinner there - dinner was ok, but lacking a little of the finer things (e.g. cheese on the meatballs, lemon with the prawns), but that it nit picking a bit. Breakfast this morning was lovely, and again served with a smile and nothing was too much bother. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiasusee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited the Mill House Hotel for afternoon tea and an online deal. The location is lovely and we sat in the gardens to have our tea and cakes. Im pleased to say that I did not feel were were treated any lesser than full paying guests as you often experience when taking an online deal.
The cakes were delicious and a range of teas were available. (Although I had to ask). The only faults I could say were that more tea had to be requested (rather than the staff offering and asking if we were ok) and some of the cakes were taken away, without us being asked if we had finished. I suppose if we had asked they may have allowed us to take them away or left them on the table for us to eat after another cup of tea. (We like to have a relaxing afternoon and graze throughout!)
The hotel bar seemed very cosy and the gardens were beautiful with a permanant marquee at the end of the gardens for events. I would definitley return and would have afternoon tea with them again, as the cakes were delicious!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunworshipKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a lovely, cosy and friendly hotel, offering a really personal service. Lovely rooms, great bar and dining room, excellent food. Some people might find the number of stairs and steps between the levels a problem, but thats an old building for you, and theres not much they can do about that. There is a beautiful garden as well at the back.

Service was superb, and when I asked advice about parking in Reading, I not only got sound and very helpful advice, but they looked up all the information I might need on the internet, and printed it out for me.

They do a lot of weddings, and have a marquee at the bottom of the garden for this. Having said this, they had one the day we were there, and it made no difference to the quality of our stay.

This definitely a place to go back to next time we need to stay near Reading.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked this hotel for our daughter's wedding breakfast and can't recommend it highly enough. The whole event was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Guests were very enthusiastic about the venue, the service and the food. All commented on how much they had enjoyed the day. We also had guests who stayed in the hotel for the weekend and they were very impressed by the hospitality, service, food and comfy beds! My daughter had just the wedding she wanted and this was largely down to The Mill House. It is also a lovely spot to have lunch/dinner if you are ever just passing by!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had our Wedding reception at the Mill house so, when in June we celebrated our 50th anniversary, we once again returned to celebrate with our family and friends. The day for us was magical even the weather. Beautiful setting, the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Mark , Kim and staff looked after us all so well, made all our guests feel special, their attention to detail in every way was faultless. The Mill House is a great place to celebrate a celebration ! Thank you all at the Mill House for making our day so very special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swallowfield
6.4 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
3.7 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Reading South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Basingstoke Road, Swallowfield, Wokingham RG7 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Swallowfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swallowfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing