We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel for a few Days Business Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swallowfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Doing some business around Reading, Maidenhead and on train to London and desperate to avoid the cold despair of typical 'value' business hotels.

I discovered the Mill House Hotel by chance and I will never stay anywhere else. 2 seconds into the door a warm and genuine welcome by people who meant it. Hotel is beautiful in a beautiful quiet location with great gardens by the river. Rooms are not the biggest but more than adequate with quality fittings including the essential team maker, trouser press AND FREE WiFi:) Bed is very comfortable and welcome after excellent food from the restaurant, sleep quality is great.

You need a car as you are not going to step out the door into a town centre (a good thing). Hook mainline station is 15 min drive, M4 junction 11 10 minutes.

Runners tip as always: Nice road running but English country roads are narrow so take care. But if you do get run over it will be a pretty nice car - Bentley or Range Rover.

I leave this hotel 4kg heavier due to the great food and hospitality. Awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We decided on the Mill House for my 60th birthday party last week. It's a great location for this sort of thing: the hotel is small enough (12 bedrooms) so that it's viable to book the whole place. We had lunch for twenty-odd from a set menu: all guests were positive about the standard of food and service. In the evening, we did our own thing with a musical soiree and a few more friends, stayed over and had a family breakfast together. Mark, Andy and the staff worked really hard to listen to what we wanted, and to give us the informal family occasion we were looking for. Everything felt very relaxed, and we really felt that the staff wanted us to enjoy ourselves.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank RickWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We held a conference here for our skin care range and stayed the night before.
All the staff we dealt with we're so helpful nothing we asked for was too much trouble and was delivered immediately.

The food was wonderful and some very strange dietary requirements were dealt with perfectly and even fresh scones baked for everyone in the afternoon had seperate ones made for a lady who was a celiac. This was such a lovely unexpected touch.

We all would totally recommend this venue. The gardens are beautiful, rooms clean and nicely appointed and the staff amazing. Thank you all for such a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahHWeston_s_Mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for the last 2 days on business.

The hotel is in a very quiet area so don't expect any storming nightlife. However the hotel is very nice inside with decent decour. Midweek it tends to be quiet from what I could see and was told, but that suited me to the ground.
The room was reasonably well equipt, though I would recommend they offer bottled water, or a drinking glass at least.
The restaurant service/food and wine were all excellant, theres no doubting that.
The down sides, well they didn't do an early breakfast, but saying that not many places do.
Overall a nice stay, and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZX6RRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Thank you so much to Kim, Mark and their excellent staff, who made our day really memorable. Kim & Mark helped us with the organisation of the day and everything went so smoothly - it was fantastic. The wedding luncheon was delicious and beautifully presented, staff were attentive but unobtrusive and we had a really wonderful day. Everyone said what a good meal and delightful venue it was, the only thing that could have been slightly better was the weather and even Kim & Mark had no control over that! We consider ourselves very lucky to have found such a delightful setting with excellent personal service and have no hesitation in recommending The Mill House - we'll be back.
Vera & Alan
5th April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What an excellent day. Kim, Mark and their team made our day special. They were so helpful with all of the preparations as we did most of this via email and phone as we live in Spain. The food was exceptional for our wedding meal. All of the guests commented on how good it was. The venue itself is special to me as I have used this particular hotel over the years and they have never let me down. Our honeymoon suite was great with a lovely four poster bed. All of our guests who stayed over thoroughly enjoyed it and a great cooked breakfast in the morning. We could not have had any better and will remember March 24th 2013 for a long time.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good but the honeymoon suite for us was lovely and traditional.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shan187518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

After usually staying in the mainstream hotels (Premier Inn / Holiday Inn) on business trips, it was a refreshing change to stay in such a welcoming and friendly hotel.
Rooms are adequate, bed was very comfy, stayed on the 3rd floor with a lovely view over the gardens. Evening meal was to die for, fantastic food and makes a huge difference to the rubbish served in other hotels.
I will certainly be returning when im next in the area (which luckily is in a couple of weeks).

Can highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnhesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swallowfield
6.4 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
572 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
5.6 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
5.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
543 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Basingstoke Road, Swallowfield, Wokingham RG7 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Swallowfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swallowfield
Price Range: $120 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing