We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Car Park packed out on a Tuesday night.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George and Dragon at Swallowfield

The George and Dragon at Swallowfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Car Park packed out on a Tuesday night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The car park was packed out on a Tuesday night for a 7.30 booking - tells you everything. Very good pub food with no stingy portions and all freshly cooked. One of the best things about the place are the happy servers - makes quite a difference to the atmosphere of the place. Best part of meal was dessert - lemon posset with berries and cheese board for Husband. The Ladies was clean and stylish. Only mark lost was for the hand dryer breaking down and I am not sure I'm being fair! Could happen to anyone. Oh, put the mark back Angela!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    81
    23
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
farnborough hants
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I don't really know why we chose The George and Dragon for our meal out on Saturday, just surfing the internet for somewhere to eat and thought it looked interesting, I guess.
It was really good, the food was excellant and there was a good selection of beer on draught (always a plus when out with the men folk!). The dining area was cosy but not cramped, have eaten too many meals where you can touch the next table! Will certainly return soon to try some other dishes from the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wilson017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Warm ,clean , friendly and very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Second time this year and we were again impressed
Last minute decision for Sunday dinner on another cold so called summer evening!
Welcoming log fires and quick efficient service with good wholesome food.
Rump steak and chips were perfect and the ribs to start were very filling( ensure you ask for the dip to be served hot as for some bizarre reason it comes cold)
Rum floater was another treat
A big improvement on the previous owners who seem to had lost their way from excellent beginnings some 7 or 8 years ago

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reading2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“One of the best pubs for food near Reading”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This pub is situated in the village of Swallowfield, south of Reading. It has had an outstanding reputation for food for many years. Pleasant staff, although service can be slow when they are really busy. You need to book for dinner, and especially at weekends. Everything on the menu is good, but one of their best dishes is the half shoulder of lamb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
228 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“A First Class Gem, an absolute must.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Well I just could not fault it,brilliant food, friendly efficient service and you get what you pay for.

I returned many times and will again when my travels bring me this way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FirmfriendsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George and Dragon at Swallowfield also viewed

Finchampstead, Wokingham
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The George and Dragon at Swallowfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing