We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel good, shame about the average customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
yorkshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hotel good, shame about the average customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times because it is convenient when visiting family. Up to now we have always experienced very good customer service with reception but not on this occasion.

When we arrived I initially thought the reception area was without staff but waited for someone to come. Then I heard someone asking me if I wanted something and eventually saw a member of staff in the back area of reception but decided to wait until she did us the courtesy of coming forward to the front. No smile, welcome or eye contact and on each occasion we met this member of staff it was the same. Not what we expected at all!!

The room was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep but just a shame on this occasion that customer service was definitely lacking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allibea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    186
    125
    49
    16
See reviews for
104
104
32
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

`Our last full day in England and we were lucky enough to run across the Calcot Best Western in Reading. Comfortable and roomy room that was exceptionally clean and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and very helpful with our multiple questions. But the breakfast was the highlight not only of our stay at the Calcot but was the best-valued meal of our two weeks in England. Very goo food, plenty of choices and well presented. First the `'cold`' service followed by a self-serve hot breakfast. Basically a good breakfast followed by a good lunch. Do NOT be put off by the 7-pound price; it is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Plus points:Nice clean rooms, slightly smaller than im used to, free wifi, polite staff, ample parking

Negative points: was disappointed with the breakfast as the same tongs that were used for the ham was for the hash browns (lots of cross contamination) , so breakfast was a waste of money.

Bath plug would not release water so it was a tiresome experience releasing the water.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regular_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton Cheney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

There is nothing special about this hotel but it is clean, the staff are friendly and it's handy for the M4. The restaurant however is stuck in the 1980's and I wouldn't recommend it... rather bland and I think much of the menu is straight out of the microwave. Their apple and blackberry crumble is all crumble and no fruit and their wine selection is non- descript. The Merlot we had is something similar to the quality you'd expect on a flight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked this hotel through Lastminute.com for an overnight stay. £65 overnight, this did not include breakfast.
First impressions of room we good, fair size room (94) with window, TV, dressing table and tea and coffee facilities.
Had to have the bed sheet changed as it had a stain on it.
Bathroom, small but functional, they do provide soap in a dispenser and out room had shower gel in a dispenser (Dove). Using toilet paper was an interesting experience as it is elbow level with the toilet.
Shower was wet and hot, a fixed head but did the job. Towels were soft enough and extra pillows were in wardrobe.
The bed was very, very uncomfortable, far too hard to get a good night’s sleep on. I like a hard mattress but this was like sleeping on just the base, really not impressed and this would stop me booking their again 
We ate in, wine pricing was in-line with most basic restaurants £16 for a basic Australian Chardonnay which was quite pleasant. Starter was nice, I had goats cheese and my fiancé had the crab pate. We both had steaks which were cooked well to our requirements. I had the cheese board, which again was very nice.
We were sat by the window which was very nice for the two of us. We were sat at a four person seating, restaurant was quiet and I feel it would have been nice if the waitress had cleared the extra settings from the table.
Breakfast was £10.25 each and very nice. Good quality food cooked well and set us up for the day.
Check in and check out were both smooth.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for soft mattress is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samphire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

To celebrate my wife's 40th birthday, 15 of us booked into The Calcot for its dinner and dance night. The food was excellent, a wide range of choices on the carvery and the breakfasts were brilliant too. The room was basic and clean and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbargery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Over night stay with dinner and dancing to a band . The room was very good and comfortable dinner started off well with smoke salmon starter, I chose steak for main course but both my husbands steak and mine was rather Tough and we didn't eat it but the cheese cake we chose for desert was very good. The band were good and the female singers were very good and fun to dance to. Breakfast was very good and fresh surprisingly as it was buffet and kept warm under lights

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to reception as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing