We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“wedding stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have just returned from my sons wedding the hotel was clean and the room we had 77 was excellent and very well decorated the staff go all out to help and are very friendly and welcoming big thank you to you all you made our stay and the wedding go smoothly D Cudbertson

Room Tip: room 77 quiet and very well decorated
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    186
    125
    49
    16
See reviews for
104
104
32
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed here twice this summer due to the convenience of the location for our visiting purposes. The hotel is located close to the Sainsburys Sava Centre and is ideal if you are visiting in the Calcot area. The hotel is budget friendly and you get what you pay for. The rooms are small but comfortable, flat screen TV, the hotel needs to improve their bathroom/shower facilities. the hotel also needs to install some form of temperature/air conditioning control. Weddings take place here and there is a disco on Friday and Saturday nights. Discovery lakes are within driving distance 10 -15 minutes away as are other beautiful walkiing locations. Breakfast is your bog standard buffet service fare. Staff are polite.

Room Tip: Room 96 is good if you have a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

this hotel was a pit stop for us as we just wanted a bed for a night. Staff were friendly and polite , room was clean and had all the usual things you get in a hotel. I would just say beware of the shower as it can go from cold to blistering hot quite quickly other than that it was quite adequate nothing fancy but a clean bed for the night..However I do find it strange to have a heavy duvet on the bed in August, I can't see the reasoning for this as it was quite uncomfrotable and hot and there were no blankets available which would have been lighter. ,

Room Tip: Hotel is on a main road so ask to be in a quiet room away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugaraunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Four of us stayed here on a business trip in August with differing experiences despite being booked at the same time with the same room requirements.
With two rooms facing onto the main A-road outside the hotel one was still single glazed so experienced a lot of noise throughout the night, the other at the top of the stairs had the pleasure of a loose floorboard outside the room and the noise of guests moving along the corridor all night.
Another of our guests was also lucky enough to have a selection of complimentary chocolates and confectionary in his room which the rest of us sadly lacked.
The rooms were all fairly small, the beds relatively uncomfortable and the en-suite can only be described as being in a wardrobe with an exceptionally small shower!
Check-in was fairly quick, bizarrely card details were taken however there was nothing we could see to be charged to this card?
The bar was quite nice although the prices were ridiculous - £4.65 for a bottle of cider? The bar staff were just missing their striped jumpers on that one!
Thankfully I didnt pay for it myself and apart from a single night business trip I dont think i'd choose this hotel myself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK-HKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_MacLachlan, Manager at BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for leaving your review after your recent stay at the Calcot Hotel.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, the hotel has no control over the type of rooms booked by your agent, who on this occasion did reserve one superior room for the 4th guest at a considerable higher rate. This superior room has added items i.e. chocolates, bottled water etc.
The rooms booked by your agent for the 3 other rooms, were the room type that is situated in the older part of the hotel, where we are in the process of refurbishing various aspects to improve guests comfort. We do try to offer a complimentary up-grade on request if the hotel has availability.
It is our policy, as in most hotels, to ask for a 'swipe' from your credit/debit card on arrival, to cover extras which may be taken but not covered by the agent.
Our bar prices are on a par with other local hotels in the Reading area, we try to be as competitive as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We are back at the Calcot Hotel for our Christmas dinner and dance. Back to the friendly, polite effective and efficient staff who go out of their way to help. The cooking of the Christmas menu was excellent with everything tasting just right. The services complement the food with it arriving on our plates while still hot. After the meal, we stayed for the dancing but for some reason the music was too loud. As a result, we went home early. As I said, I could have danced all night but my ears would not let me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineAnnReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel was ideally located for where I was working in Reading. It was easy to find and there was ample free parking. The landscaping at the front of the hotel was inviting.

Check in was a breeze. The room wasn't very big, but was nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed and plenty of bedding.
There was free WiFi in the rooms.
Shower pressure was good, with a reasonable selection of toiletries.
Dinner in the main restaurant sounded better on the menu than it was, but was good enough. The waiting staff were really very polite and service was incredibly fast.

I would stay here again, it was reasonably priced compared to some other Reading hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We booked the hotel from the Best Western website because the location was perfect for a family gathering nearby and the pictures looked lovely. While the property was pretty from the outside, there were challenges inside. When we arrived, we were booked into room 97 which had the poorest hotel bed I have ever slept in. It was like sleeping on a box spring. I needed a hair dryer and was offered one to use at reception. She advised me she would charge the room 10 pounds, but it would be removed once the dryer was returned. When we checked out, I found the hair dryer amount had not been removed when I returned it the day before, so they quickly removed the charge. The first night there was a loud noise in the room and when I called reception, I was advised a tribute band was playing and would not finish until 12:30 am. When I asked why this was not communicated when the booking was made, I was tertly told they had no control when rooms were booked online. I advised her that while I booked online, I had run that morning to arrive a day early...and was not told of the late rock concert. The next day there was a wedding and we managed to secured the last parking spot available in the car park. The breakfast was 10.95 pounds and was ok. Sadly, the service was poor and as we were eating, servers were loudly clearing and setting for the next service...on both mornings. Overall, our experience was poor and we would not book again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uktravels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing