We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Nice hotel stayed here on business for a few weeks. Very friendly clean hotel. Some rooms are a bit pokey but if you get lucky there are some which are a bit more spacious. Good free Wifi. Only negative is the evening meals poor choice and poor quality which is a real shame as there are not many options close by. They do make a great breakfast though !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcot, Front Office Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments; all feedback is important to us and your review has beed discussed with the team here at the Calcot Hotel.

We are in the processs of changing the a'la carte menu in the restaurant, to offer a wider selection for our guests. The breakfasts we serve at the hotel always receive positive comments, so I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed yours too.

Whilst the majority of our rooms are of a standard size for a three star hotel, we do have a few smaller 'single rooms' which we sell at a lower rate when all the other rooms are sold.

Thank you, once again, for your time in writing such a kind review & we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    186
    127
    51
    17
See reviews for
106
104
34
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel for more times than I can remember weeks at a time as well... I don't understand the negative reviews I have read because every time I've stayed here as with the 8+ collleagues I stay with, all think this hotel is full of life and quality.. The staff are by far the most helpfull and chatty I have met and even when the bar menu is over there still prepared to please you.. The rooms are really spacious and clean modern and upto date we have made friends here and not just with the staff other companies all in all really good hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashleyradius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcot, Front Office Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about the hotel and staff at the Best Western Calcot Hotel.

All the staff and management team take all reviews, whether positive or not, very seriously and take pride in being part of the team at the hotel.

Reviews, like the one you have left, fills us with pride and does help motivate the spirit of all our staff, most having worked here for a very long time.
Many Thanks
Pauline Wainright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I like this hotel. I often have to travel to reading on business and my company has an account with the calcot. I've been coming here since 1997 and have seen the place improve over that time. It has more character than a travel lodge or premier inn and the staff are attentive. Decent food and beer is on offer and the rooms are quiet, clear and well looked after. it fulfills all the requirements of the business traveler and I can strongly recommend...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scarface18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I have read some bad reviews of this hotel but thought i would write my own. Just outside Reading which can be reached by bus. All the staff are friendly and make everyone welcome. The food in the restaraunt is good value. People stay here on a regular basis often on business. The local Rotary club have a their meetings here. I have never had any security issues and have periodically visit this hotel for a year. It isnt ultra modern but this lends to its charm.

Room Tip: Main building are the better rooms but can pay a little more. Overall good value for the money rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gypsy60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcot, Front Office Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your possitive feedback.

I have passed your kind comments on to the General Manager and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Pauline Wainwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

stayed here on business trip in september and was put in room on upper floor towards rear of the hotel. hotel has no lift which together with no air con in rooms are my only niggles especially as the indian summer had just arrived. room clean and bright .didn't sample room service or breakfast so can't comment on food. receptionist helpful and gave me directions into city centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teddymbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed for a longer weekend this time to visit family. Nice hotel with friendly staff who even managed to remember us. As we had a great time dining in the restaurant the last visit, we did the same again (for birthday celebration) and it was another great experience. Food and wine selection was good...brilliant atmosphere!

Good breakfast choice with friendly service.

We are thinking to come back for evening event that the hotel offer and a jazz night sounds good…

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k3vin_y0ung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcot, Front Office Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

Your possitive comments regarding both the hotel and the staff are very much appreciated.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Pauline Wainwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed here in June on a Thursday evening while away working in Theale.

I arrived and had to park as far away from the hotel as possible as the car park was full of novelty vehicles and teenagers. By the time I got to reception, the hotel informed me that there was a 6th form prom being held at the hotel that day, and not to worry, the prom finishes at midnight. It would have been good courtesy to let me know when I booked, as a business traveller, I don't anticipate being kept up all night.

Given the above, I was put in a room on the ground floor, with the window next to the entrance, so I spent the entire evening listening to kids outside messing about and drunk until 1am. Not only is this not a great hotel experience, but as a young woman alone, not the most secure I have felt.

On top of this, there was a very basic room service menu, with a telephone number to order (they add a tray charge), but no telephone in my room. So I had to fight my way to reception to order room service- with less than helpful receptionists.

I didn't bother staying for breakfast as I was too depressed by the whole thing.

No amount of "saving money" is worth this place. Seriously.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your review after staying at the Best Western Calcot hotel, however I am concerned as to the length of time it has taken for the review to be posted so unable to fully investigate the matter in detail.

However what we do know is a school prom did take place and unfortunatley we are unable to inform all guests at time of booking exactly what functions are to be held on the premises. The fucntion in question finished at 23.15 and no alcohol was served so we cannot understand why you were disturbed during the evening and up to 1:00AM. The free car parking would have been busy, however we have 220 car parking spaces and again I am unable to comment as to where you parked, but presume onsite.

The security of all guests is a priority for us and if we had been informed of your concerns whilst staying would have been able to action, according to our records the room allocated was on the first floor, which is a policy of the hotel to not place female travellers in the ground floor rooms.

I am sorry to hear of your thoughts regarding the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calcot
3.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel

Property: Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Address: 98 Bath Road, Calcot, Reading RG31 7QN, England (Formerly Best Western Calcot Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading > Calcot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calcot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Calcot Hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure in Reading and the surrounding Thames Valley area. Ideally located less than a mile from Junction 12 of the M4 motorway, on the A4 leading into Reading. Reading town centre is within 3 miles and access to the town centre is probably one of the least congested routes available. Very easy and quick to find and most importantly for a Reading hotel...an onsite FREE, floodlit car park for over 150 vehicles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading
Reading Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing