We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANTS!!!!!!!!”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Holland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ANTS!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel use to be very nice at one point.I always stayed here when i came to town.......NOT ANYMORE!!! It is in need of a serious renovation.i'm not even close to kidding.and to add fuel to the fire there was ants.i had to switch rooms twice.they must have been only on the second floor cause when they gave me a room on the third floor i didn't see any.i normally don't write reviews but hopefully the owner of this hotel will see this and make some serious changes and fast.and i will say this about the breakfast it is around 9 bucks but it is all you can eat and it is cook to order.stayed 4 nights.noticed ants on second night.wouldnt have ate the breakfast if i would have noticed the ants sooner.very very dissapointed

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bambam704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

This place is terrible the rooms smelled could be cleaner and were out dated only 1 towel in room no breakfast find some where else for the money the staff was friendly the place needs painted they should loose their franchise soon

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HDdad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Holland hotels

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I unfortunately paid $85 per night at this fine establishment due to a last minute business need which necessitated travel to Chicago. It's rather obvious that the grounds are not maintained except to the most basic standards and the hotel rooms haven;t seen an update in years. What was once arguably a "better than average" hotel has fallen into somewhat of a sad state of repair. In addition to the grounds and rooms, the exterior of the hotel itself has seen better days with painted duct tape literally holding up some fascia areas of the exterior, as well as, exposed structure in some exterior areas. The general area surrounding the hotel is also dotted with what one might describe as "by the hour" type of motels where $29.99 will buy one night's worth of accommodation. Many closed hotels and businesses are also in easy view with less than stellar upkeep. There's no such thing as complimentary breakfast here either as even that is overpriced at $8.95 per diner. Note that the hotel was also reported as having bedbugs on various websites - something I fortunately did not witness although I can certainly see how that might be the case. Don't pay more than $40 per night at this hotel. Better yet, save your money and stay North of O'Hare as rooms at the same $85 price can be had with a little to no effort.

Room Tip: Outdated, Dirty, Lack of Maintenance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WJC31589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The hotel itself was clean & well kept but I got eaten alive LITERALLY so much so I ended up in the Emergency Room

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaTrisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Safe, clean room with a helpful staff. When hairdryer in room did not work, another was brought to room within minutes of call to desk. Close to family reunion we were attending. This hotel is quiet and well secured.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank clark1754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
523 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at the Clarion on our way West. The desk clerk was very ice and checked us in swiftly. The room was clean and the only thing that was not was the rug in the elevator. The room setup was like a suite as there was a divider between the bedroom and sitting room. The air conditioner is in the sitting room area so it did not blow on us as is often the case in hotel rooms. Even though it is next to the Tri-State Tollway, it was quiet and a good night's sleep was attained. The lobby area is really very nice and kind of upscale with a fireplace and nice furniture. I have read the complaints of others about the $9 breakfast but we bought rolls at a store nearby and got the coffee gratis from the restaurant. The only thing I would like to see is the ability to order things a la carte as we both eat next to nothing for breakfast. Despite the "Berlin After WWII" look of the neighborhood, it is a nice place and away from the towns.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I liked this hotel. I stayed on October 19th 2009 for one night. The pluses: Very nice Herman Miller like chair at the desk in room, fridge and microwave, large room, nice pool, very close to the 274. Negs: Door locks are easily locked out when key is quickly swiped, all exterior doors but the lobby are exit only (probably because of), worry about a $29 a night hotel next door.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainCoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Holland
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Harvey
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicago Southland
4.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel - Lansing
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 610 Tollview Dr, South Holland, IL 60473-2700 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > South Holland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel South Holland
Hilton South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing