We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way overpriced.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearl Lake

Pearl Lake
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Way overpriced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice man made beach, but way over priced and over crowded. I would rather drive 45 minutes to lake michigan. Loud music blares all day, sand is all trucked in so its like a mix of sand, dirt and gravel. The price is absurd. like 20$ for one person. They have an advantage being the only beach around. Which really isnt a beach at all. Pearl lake is also the on ly place around for scuba diving and training. I guess thats not too bad. As far a a beach for sun and fun, its not terrible, but bring your wallet and make sure its full of money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Aficionado22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    3
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“old school charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Pearl lake is tucked away off of hwy 51 and surrounded by industrial plants, yet when you pull up you immediately find yourself thinking of old school family vacation days. Reminds me of the camp in Dirty Dancing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, IL
Level Contributor
225 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Traditional Wisconsin Dinner Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Wonderful location and view. The food is fine and the service is always pleasant. The dining area is small and wrapped around the bar. Weekend reservation are essential for groups. The restaurant is only open from April to October

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Dive site for beginners. Plenty of stuff to do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I got my PADI certification recently, and I was invited to this lake to dive. Is a nice artifical lake, with good viz to dive in. They sank a lot of objects (A Beechcraft, A Crane, a WWII submarine, an School bus) a lot of dive platforms for PADI Check ups. I enjoy the lake. the fee is $20 per dive. #$10 non diver. good parking area, good security. the cleanest port-a-potty that I've ever seen.
Tank fills: $8. You have to drive back in order to get your tanks filled, but for me that's not a deal breaker. I recommend this site for non-experienced divers

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Herfrank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Lake also viewed

 
 

Been to Pearl Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing