We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont judge a book by its cover”
Review of Love Valley

Love Valley
Attraction details
Statesville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“dont judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Love Valley is full of homegrown cowboys and cowgirls and if that's not a lifestyle u can handle, LV is not your place. you're born country, u don't "become" country. it's in your blood or not. these people were born and raised there and this is their way. There are plenty of friendly people there who have the back of anybody who isn't there to tear up the trails or the town, or mess with it's people. if u show up acting like a bad*ss, they will treat u bad. you act right, they treat u right :) LV offers lots of family events on many different weekends and different holidays throughout the year (check the website at townoflovevalley.com) and accepts all kinds of people alike. there are many childrens' weekends and events offered here in LV and we are about the children in the daytime and adults at night. certain bigger weekends may have more adults than children but hey if they're that young they dont need to be out and about anyway. get a sitter! it's no more rowdy than a beach gets! dirty and dingy? its a dirt road town crybaby, aint nothin paved here! cowboy wanna-be's?? it's the Cowboy Capitol! there's gonna be cowboys!! if you came to LV at any time of the year and had a bad experience, all i can tell u is something is wrong w/ YOU. you probably did something out of line and someone probably put you in your place so u wanna give bad reviews. i've never met more friendly people than here in Love Valley and anywhere we travel we tell people about it. if you want to meet good old fashioned, honest, country livin folks, Love Valley is your place :) otherwise, stay in the city!!! I LOVE LOVE VALLEY, NC!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank blue_eye_cajun2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    3
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Love Valley, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love Valley”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I would like people to know about my little town......When we first heard of Love Valley, we were scared to death to visit.....then we did and our fears were gone. 8 years ago we bought a cabin so we could vacation here whenever we wanted, after 3 years, we bought a house because we could not imagine not being here full time. Although we were new to this town, the people were friendly, helpful and neighborly. We have met people from all across the country who will tell you the same. For those who had a bad experience, 90% of the time they brought it on themselves. When you come to Love Valley, you will be treated with kindness and respect, we only ask that you respect our town and leave it as you found it. Before you judge on the opinions of a few, visit us and judge for yourself. Thank You, Christi Turk

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank usatf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love Valley Local”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I realize that this site is mostly for people that have traveled here and how their stay was, on a one time occasion.

But as a Love Valley local i feel i have to express how i feel about "the cowboy capital" I have lived here all my life and have seen it go through many stages. At one point i will admit it was a little rough. But this beautiful town has always been a tourist attraction, including families.
I see a lot of complaints about how they would not bring their kids here because of all the "drunks." To be honest, if i was not a local and knew everyone around i probably wouldn’t bring my kids up town after dark in the first place; mainly because yes, after a long day on the trails, that indeed may have included a few beers... i would most likely be coming up town to enjoy the night life. Example.... the bar, would you take your kids up to the strip in charlotte after 6 o’clock?

The valley is a horse town, many of the people here have more experience with horses than most people you know, and ABSOLUTLY do not mistreat their horses; on big holiday weekends, i myself see horses being mistreated, but never by locals, on big weekends we have people from all over come to visit, if you see horses being mistreated, please don’t assume it’s a local, and please don’t hold it against the town. That’s like blaming a pencil for misspelled words, on occasion it may happen here, but it in no way should reflect on the town. I do not agree with any animal being mistreated but in some cases that has to be handled situation by situation.

Dirt and dust is what makes this town so great, no other place in the world can you go and see the authentic old west like in Love Valley North Carolina, i would much rather my horses walk on the trails and dirt roads around this town, than asphalt and pavement any day. It is what this town was built around and wouldn’t be the same without it, i understand people travel to see places they have never seen before, but honestly when i travel to a place where i have never been, i do my research, which is why people go to websites like this. If dirt and dust is not your forte’ then obviously I’d think about heading farther north for a weekend vacation. I’m not by any means discouraging anyone from coming here, anywhere you go there are bound to be people that do not get along, and yes when you add alcohol to the mix it can get heated, but we do our best to keep it contained thanks to the great bar staff and bouncers that we have. We are not going to stop people from coming to our town because they may cause problems, if we did that we would have no business at all. Anyone in the right situation can cause a problem.

Also us "locals" are very "close knit", most of us have known each other our entire lives, but by no means do we look at people as outsiders, we welcome these so called "outsiders" y'all are what keeps this town alive and running,

I hate to see all these bad reviews about our little town, it’s kind of a catch 22 in most cases, because for one, coming here can sometimes be a culture shock for some people so if it’s not what the expected in any aspect it can be taken badly, and also, to be honest when i buy something or go somewhere, unless i did happen to get a bad product or have a bad time, that is the only time i even think to write a review, so for the people that do come here weekend after weekend, that have a great time, unfortunately most of the time it goes unrecorded.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Danadarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love Valley - Cowboy Town”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I go to Love Valley quite frequently, and love it! All of the "locals" are very kind, as well as all of the business owners. I love the trails there as well, can ride for hours, and not see the same thing twice! I always enjoy my time spent in love valley, whether be on the trails or in town!
Note to newcomers: this is a cowboy town, it has dirt roads, and dust everywhere, along with horses. If you're expecting the Taj Mahal, this is NOT the place for you! If you want to bring your horse, or even rent one, this is the place to enjoy it! And like anywhere else, there may be some "rowdy" people go through, but as for the locals , they are as nice of people as I've ever met!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank LoveMyColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“REDNECK USA”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The town is full of drunk people man handling their horses! Its a bunch of wanna be cowboys/girls that like to drink way too much and feel they need to ride around with guns on their hips. I would never take my kids there b/c I would feel for their safety. The place is NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY. Its a good idea, but in the hands of the wrong crowd. I would not recommend this place for anyone of color either. I feel sorry for the horses too. There are a few good people in the crowd...just not many. I have been multiple times over the years, and its all the same. Too bad.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank I_ride_for_LOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Love Valley also viewed

 

Been to Love Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing